Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home

Judith A. Herndon Fellowship

Undergraduates are selected to participate in the 60-day session as Herndon Fellows and are assigned to assist a sole legislator from either the Senate of the House of Delegates.

The interns are required to perform research and various staff functions. Among other job-related responsibilities, participants are introduced to and develop an understanding of the politics of legislation, legislative research, bill drafting, the role and function of committees and the executive-legislative liaison.


DETAILS & ELIGIBILITY

Number of positions:10

APPLICATION

Herndon Fellowship Application


LEGISLATIVE CONTACT

Sara D. Jones
West Virginia House of Delegates
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 215-E
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 340-3386
Sara.Jones@wvhouse.gov


CAMPUS CONTACTS

Alderson-Broaddus College
Prof. John Hicks
hicksjd@ab.edu

Bethany College
Dr. Gary Kappelr
gkappel@bethanywv.edu

Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell
ccavell@bluefieldstate.edu

University of Charleston
Dr. Tera McCown/ Hannah Johnson
teramccown@ucwv.edu, hannahjohnson@ucwv.edu

Concord College
Dr. Sally Campbell
scampbell@concord.edu

Davis and Elkins College
Dr. Thomas Chadwick
chadwickt@dewv.edu

Fairmont State College
Prof. Patricia Ryan
pryan@fairmontstate.edu

Glenville State College
Dr. Michael Smith
mike.smith@glenville.edu

Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
beller@marshall.edu

Ohio Valley College
Dr. Wes Harrison
wes.harrison@ovu.edu

Potomac State College
Prof. Cassandra Pritts, Prof. Nicklaus Goff
cassandra.Pritts@mail.wvu.edu, nicklaus.goff@mail.wvu.edu

Salem International University
Laurie McKowen
lmckowen@salemu.edu

Shepherd College
Dr. Slocum-Schaffer/ Dr. Jacob Stump
sslocums@shepherd.edu, jstump@shepherd.edu

WV Institute of Technology
Dr. Paul Rakes
paul.rakes@mail.wvu.edu

WV State University
Tom Bennett
tbennett3@wvstateu.edu

WV Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
rupp_r@wvwc.edu

West Virginia University
Dr. Neil Berch
berchnorto@msn.com

Dr. Scott Crichlow
scott.crichlow@wvu.edu/a>

WVU-Parkersburg
Dr. Denise McCLung
denise.mcclung@mail.wvu.edu

Wheeling Jesuit College
Dr. Robert Phillips
phillips@wju.edu


LINKS

McManus Fellowship
Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction


 
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****