Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports

Introduced Version - Originating in Committee Senate Bill 1008 History

OTHER VERSIONS  -  Enrolled Version - Final Version  |     |  Email


Senate Bill No. 1008

(By Senators Stollings, Browning, Edgell, D. Facemire, Foster, Klempa, Laird, Palumbo, Prezioso, Williams, Barnes, Boley and Hall)


[Originating in the Select Committee on Redistricting;

reported August 4, 2011.]




A BILL to amend and reenact §1-2-2b and §1-2-3 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, all relating to the composition of congressional districts; providing for congressional districts; and requiring incidental precinct boundary changes.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

    That §1-2-2b and §1-2-3 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, be amended and reenacted, all to read as follows:


§1-2-2b. Precinct boundary changes.

    If an election precinct of this state includes territory contained in more than one congressional, senatorial or delegate district, as such the congressional districts are established by section three of this article, the senatorial districts are established by section one of this article, and as such the delegate districts are established by section two of this article, the county commission of the county in which the precinct is located shall, prior to March 15, 2002 January 21, 2012, alter the boundary lines of its election precincts so that no precinct contains territory included in more than one congressional, senatorial or delegate district.

§1-2-3. Congressional districts.

    The number of members to which the state is entitled in the House of Representatives of the Congress of the United States are apportioned among the counties of the state, arranged into three congressional districts, numbered as follows:

    First District: Barbour, Brooke, Doddridge, Gilmer, Grant, Hancock, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Preston, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Wetzel and Wood.

    Second District: Berkeley, Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Hampshire, Hardy, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Mason, Morgan, Pendleton, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Upshur and Wirt.

    Third District: Boone, Cabell, Fayette, Greenbrier, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Wayne, Webster and Wyoming.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature *

Print On Demand