Member's Press Release

Release Date: 06/26/2015
Contact: Senator Mike Hall at (304) 357-7901 and Delegate Eric Nelson at (304) 340-3230

Mike Hall Eric Nelson

Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform to Meet June 29 in Charleston

CHARLESTON – The Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform will meet at 9 a.m. June 29 in the House Government Organization Committee Room (Room 215-E) at the Capitol.

Morning sessions include:

•Tax Increment Financing and Payment in Lieu of Taxes – Brian C. Helmick, Spilman Thomas & Battle

•Industrial, Commercial, and Residential Property Valuation Concerns – Dale W. Steager, Spilman Thomas & Battle

•Natural Resources Valuation Panel – John A. Mairs, Jackson Kelly (Coal); Don B. Nestor, CPA (Oil and Gas); Michael E. Caryl, Bowles Rice (Managed Timberland) •Property Tax Appeals Process Issues and Concerns – Herschel “Ned” Rose, Rose Law Office

Afternoon sessions include:

•Panel Discussion on Real Property Appraisal, Assessment, and Collection – The Honorable Eddie Young, Assessor, Fayette County; The Honorable Jim Priester, Assessor, Marion County; Allen Bleigh, Chief Tax Deputy, Kanawha County Sheriff; Jerry Knight, Property Tax Consultant, Association of Counties

•Property Tax Expenditures – Jeff Amburgey, Director of the Property Tax Division, West Virginia State Tax Department; Mark Muchow, Deputy Secretary, West Virginia Department of Revenue

Meeting agendas and presentations are subject to change.

Audio of the Committee meetings will be live streamed at

All information discussed during the meetings will be posted to the Legislature’s website, which can be found at

Information also can be found on Facebook at and via Twitter at @WVTaxReform.

The Committee also requested all public comments be e-mailed to

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **