Member's Press Release

Release Date: 04/15/2015
Contact: Senator Mike Hall at (304) 357-7901 and Delegate Eric Nelson at (304) 340-3230

Mike Hall Eric Nelson

Co-Chairs of Joint Committee on Tax Reform highlight available resources and seek public comment

On Tax Day, Co-Chairs Sen. Mike Hall (R-Putnam) and Del. Eric Nelson (R-Kanawha) of the newly formed, Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform are seeking public input to obtain valuable feedback and ideas to improve the state’s tax system.

“Our goal is to leave no stone unturned. We have a tremendous opportunity to take a broad based view of West Virginia's tax structure and make it fairer, simpler and promote economic growth,” Del. Eric Nelson said. “We have a dated system that requires appropriate updates and changes to promote growth.”

In addition to gaining feedback, the Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform will be reviewing past tax reform studies, examining changes made by other states and evaluating what the needs are in West Virginia.

Sen. Hall stated, “As we embark upon this endeavor, we keep in mind that tax policy does drive human behavior and the challenge is to responsibly look at those tax adjustments that would make our economy grow, while at the same time not threaten the stability of our residents.”

Hall added, “Most of the studies in the past have said there are adjustments that can be made that are responsible and will grow our economy.”

The first meeting for the newly formed Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform was held on Monday. In keeping with an open and transparent process, the meetings will be available for live streaming and study items will also be accessible through the website.

Senate President, Bill Cole (R-Mercer) and House Speaker, Tim Armstead (R-Kanawha) will serve as ex officio members of the Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform.

In addition to the co-chairs, the members include Sen. Ryan Ferns (R-Ohio), Sen. Ed Gaunch (R-Kanawha), Sen. David Nohe (R-Wood), Sen. Roman Prezioso (D-Marion), Sen. Ron Stollings (D-Boone) and Sen. Bob Williams (D-Taylor) along with House members, Del. Bob Ashley (R-Roane), Del. Marty Gearheart (R-Mercer), Del. Eric Householder (R-Berkeley), Del. John D. O'Neal IV (R - Raleigh), Del. Rupert Phillips Jr. (D – Logan) and Del. Harry Keith White (D – Mingo).

West Virginians are encouraged to contact their local legislators about this important issue as the committee moves forward with studying the state’s tax structure. Citizens may access contact information for their local legislators by going to the West Virginia Legislature's website. The next meetings are planned for May 4 and May 18.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **