Member's Press Release

Release Date: 04/29/2019
Contact: Jennifer McPherson at (304) 340-3240

Michael Angelucci,Sammi Brown,Amanda Estep-Burton,Evan Hansen,Cindy Lavender-Bowe,Danielle Walker,Lisa Zukoff

Legislators Urge Action on DNR Director Accused of Domestic Violence

Charleston, WV - Following news reports last week that the Director of the Division of Natural Resources, Stephen McDaniel, was arrested on misdemeanor battery charges against his ex-wife, several freshmen members of the House of Delegates have requested his resignation.

“His behavior is unacceptable, as is the refusal to take action by the Governor’s Office because they believe that he is doing a good job,” Delegate Cindy Lavender-Bowe stated. Delegate Lavender-Bowe is a freshman legislator from Greenbrier County and serves as chair of the House Democratic Women’s Caucus.

“Director McDaniel should resign from his position immediately,” Delegate Lavender-Bowe urged. “Should he refuse to resign, the Governor should terminate his employment because no matter how good of a job they believe that he is doing- it does not excuse domestic violence.”

“This man is a government official who publicly represents the State of West Virginia,” Delegate Amanda Estep-Burton (D-Kanawha) added. “It was reported that Director McDaniel reached a deferred prosecution agreement with the State of Florida for these domestic violence charges,” she stated. “We cannot let domestic violence be the face of our state.”

“Several members have signed onto a letter to the Governor requesting him to take action to terminate Director McDaniel’s employment,” Delegate Cody Thompson (D-Randolph) stated. “We stand behind this request and urge the Governor to stand up against domestic violence.”

Additional members of the House of Delegates joined this call for action, including Delegate Michael Angelucci (D-Marion), Delegate Sammi Brown (D-Jefferson), Delegate Evan Hansen (D-Monongalia), Delegate Danielle Walker (D-Monongalia) and Delegate Lisa Zukoff (D-Marshall).

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **