Member's Press Release

Release Date: 02/10/2017
Contact: Jared Hunt at (304) 340-3323

Danny Hamrick,Gary Howell

House Of Delegates Creates New Subcommittee Targeting Burdensome Regulations

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – House of Delegates Committee on Government Organization Chairman Gary Howell, R-Mineral, this week announced the creation of a new subcommittee aiming to foster business growth.

The new Subcommittee on Anti-Competitive Rules and Regulations was developed to revise the rules and state code overseeing occupational licensing boards, particularly sections that have been identified as hindering job creation and business expansion in fields regulated by these boards.

“The goal is to make it easier for people to start a business in a field that currently requires an occupational license,” Chairman Howell said. “The new sub-committee will ensure we can see that goal through by eliminating obsolete regulations.”

Delegate Danny Hamrick, R-Harrison, will serve as chairman of the subcommittee, and Delegates Pat McGeehan, R-Hancock; Terri Sypolt, R-Preston; Mike Caputo, D-Marion; and John Williams, D-Monongalia, will also serve as members.

“My goal with this subcommittee is to make sure there aren’t any over-burdensome rules and regulations hindering our citizens making it too hard for them to obtain the occupational license they need to do business in our state,” Hamrick said.

“One of the first things I want to look at is the Board of Nursing restrictions that limit the number of students allowed in a nursing program,” Hamrick said. “There currently is a specific teacher-student ratio, but with the nursing shortage in the state, we might need to re-examine that. I’ve talked to a lot of nursing teachers and they all say they can handle more students.”

The committee will look at existing rules to make sure they are outcome-driven, rather than supporting an entrenched bureaucratic process.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **