Member's Press Release

Release Date: 01/04/2016
Contact: House Speaker Tim Armstead at 304-340-3210

Tim Armstead

Delegate Paul Espinosa Named House Education Chair

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – House Speaker Tim Armstead, R-Kanawha, today announced he has named Delegate Paul Espinosa, R-Jefferson, as new chairman of the House Education Committee.

“During his service in the House, Paul has been a strong leader, working to improve our schools and move our state forward," Armstead said. “He has a passion to improve the educational system in our state and I’m confident he’s the right person to lead this committee.”

“I’m honored the Speaker has asked me to serve in this vital position,” Espinosa said. “Our children represent the next generation of leaders in our state, and a good education is necessary to open up opportunities and allow them to succeed. To accomplish this, I believe we need to make proper investments in our teachers and classrooms, and give local school systems more autonomy and the tools they need to provide our students with a first-rate education. This will include repealing the state Board of Education’s latest round of Common Core standards and replacing them with more effective and practical West Virginia standards.”

In addition to having served on the Education Committee, Espinosa is an Assistant Majority Whip and has served has vice-chairman of the House Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Economic Development Committee. Espinosa also said the appointment will affect this previously announced political intentions.

“With this new opportunity to be chairman of the Education Committee, I’ve decided to forego my planned run for state Senate and instead run for re-election to my current seat in the House of Delegates,” Espinosa said. “I look forward to serving in this new role and hope to make a positive impact on our state.”

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **