Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports

Introduced Version Senate Resolution 45 History

   |  Email


(By Senators D. Hall, Green, Kessler (Mr. President), Unger, Laird, Williams, Miller, Plymale and Stollings)


Designating Monday, March 25, 2013, as “Wyoming County Day at the Capitol”.

    Whereas, Cradled in the southern tip of West Virginia, Wyoming County was created in 1850 from Logan County and named for the Delaware Indian word meaning “large plains”; and

    Whereas, Wyoming County is rich in history, where remains of old coal mines, miners' camps and coal tipples now draw tourists from many miles away; and

    Whereas, Wyoming County has four entries on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP), including the Itmann Company Store and Office, built in 1923-1925, the county courthouse, built in 1916, the adjoining jail, constructed in 1929, and the Wyco Community Church, built in 1917; and

    Whereas, Pineville, the county seat, is home to Castle Rock, a 165-foot sandstone cliff that towers over the mouth of Rockcastle Creek; and

    Whereas, Wyoming County is home to many recreational attractions, such as the Hatfield-McCoy Trails, Castle Rock Trailhead, R. D. Bailey Lake and Twin Falls State Park; and

    Whereas, Wyoming County is the home of notable West Virginians such as Mike D'Antoni, who is the current head coach of the Los Angeles Lakers, and Christy Martin, a female professional boxer known nationwide as the “Coal Miner’s Daughter”; and

    Whereas, The Senate is proud to celebrate the history and culture of Wyoming County on this day at the Capitol; therefore, be it

            Resolved by the Senate:

    That the Senate hereby designates Monday, March 25, 2013, as “Wyoming County Day at the Capitol”; and, be it

    Further Resolved, That the Senate recognizes the many contributions of the people of Wyoming County to the State of West Virginia; and, be it

    Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the appropriate representatives of Wyoming County.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature *

Print On Demand