SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 61-8-30

§61-8-30. Photography of a corpse or person being provided medical care or assistance; prohibitions; exceptions; Jonathan’s Law.

(a) As used in this section:

            (1) “Disclose” means to sell, manufacture, give, provide, lend, trade, mail, deliver, transfer, publish, distribute, circulate, disseminate, present, exhibit, advertise, offer or otherwise

make available or make known to any third party.

(2) “First responder” means law-enforcement officers, firefighters, emergency medical

services personnel and other similar individuals authorized to respond to calls for public safety services or emergency medical assistance.

(b)(1) A first responder who is present at a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation for the purpose of providing public safety services or medical care or assistance shall not photograph, film, videotape, record or otherwise reproduce in any manner the image of a human corpse or a person being provided medical care or assistance, except for a legitimate law-enforcement purpose, public safety purpose, health care purpose, insurance purpose, legal investigation or  legal proceeding involving an injured or deceased person or pursuant to a court order.

(2) A first responder shall not knowingly disclose any photograph, film, videotape, record or other reproduction of the image of a human corpse or a person being provided medical care or assistance at the scene of a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation without prior written consent of the injured person, the person’s next-of-kin if the injured person cannot provide consent, or personal representative under law of a deceased person, unless that disclosure is for a legitimate law enforcement purpose, public safety purpose, health care purpose, insurance purpose, legal investigation or  legal proceeding involving an injured or deceased person or pursuant to a court order.

(3) Any person who violates subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $500. For a second offense, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in jail for twenty-four hours and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $750. For a third or subsequent offense, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in jail for not less than twenty-four hours nor more than six months and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000.

(c) This section shall be known as “Jonathan’s Law”.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature **