SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 61-8-19C

§ 61-8-19c. Wagering at animal fighting venture prohibited; penalty.

(a) It is unlawful for any person to bet or wager money or any other thing of value in any location or place where an animal fighting venture occurs.

(b) Any person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $300 and not more than $2,000, or confined in jail not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, any person who is convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this section is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $2,500 and not more than $5,000, or imprisoned in a state correctional facility not less than one year nor more than five years, or both fined and imprisoned.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature *