Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 16 - 9 A- 3 §16-9A-3. Use or possession of tobacco or tobacco products, alternative nicotine products or vapor products by persons under the age of eighteen years; penalties.

     No person under the age of eighteen years shall have on or about his or her person or premises or use any cigarette, or cigarette paper or any other paper prepared, manufactured or made for the purpose of smoking any tobacco products, in any form; any pipe, snuff, chewing tobacco, tobacco product or tobacco-derived product: Provided, That minors participating in the inspection of locations where tobacco products or tobacco-derived products, are sold or distributed pursuant to section seven of this article is not considered to violate the provisions of this section. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall for the first violation be fined $50 and be required to serve eight hours of community service; for a second violation, the person shall be fined $100 and be required to serve sixteen hours of community service; and for a third and each subsequent violation, the person shall be fined $200 and be required to serve twenty-four hours of community service. Notwithstanding the provisions of section two, article five, chapter forty-nine, the magistrate court has concurrent jurisdiction. Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2014 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****