Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 16 - 19 - 16 §16-19-16. Prohibited acts; sale or purchase of parts prohibited.
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a person who knowingly buys or sells, for valuable consideration, a part for transplantation or therapy is guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or imprisoned in a state correctional facility for a term of not more than five years, or both fined and imprisoned.

(b) A person who, in order to obtain a financial gain, intentionally falsifies, forges, conceals, defaces or obliterates a document of gift, an amendment or revocation of a document of gift or a refusal is guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or imprisoned in a state correctional facility for a term of not more than five years.

(c) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from charging reasonable amounts for the costs of removing, processing, preserving, quality control, storing, transporting, implanting or disposing of a part.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2013 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature *