‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 15 - 9 A- 1 §15-9A-1. Legislative findings.

     The West Virginia Division of Justice and Community Services is required to perform certain administrative and executive functions related to the improvement of the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems and various component agencies of state and local government with research and performance data, planning, funding and managing programs supported by federal and state- granted funds, and through its staff activities on behalf of the Governor's Committee on Crime, Delinquency and Correction, to provide regulatory oversight of law enforcement training and certification, community corrections programs established under the provisions of article eleven-c, chapter sixty-two of this code, the monitoring of facilities for compliance with juvenile detention facilities standards established by state and federal law, and the Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Commission created by article nine-b, chapter fifteen of this code. These administrative and executive staffing functions are necessary to provide for planning and coordination of services among the components of the criminal and juvenile justice systems, community corrections and sexual assault forensic examinations; program development and implementation; and administration of grant-funded programs emphasizing safety, prevention, coordination and the general enhancement of the criminal justice system as a whole, as well as such other federal grant-funded activities as the Governor may from time to time designate for administration by the division.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ***