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TAX OVERVIEW

Taxes are levied at the State, county, and municipal levels in West Virginia. Counties administer
and collect property taxes although property tax rates reflect levies for State government, county
governments, county boards of education, and municipalities. Counties may also impose a hotel
occupancy tax on lodging places not located within the city limits of any municipality that levies
such a tax and an economic opportunity district sales tax when the tax is authorized by the
Legislature. In addition, counties may impose an excise tax on the privilege of transferring
property of up to $1.65 per $500. Municipalities may levy license and gross receipts taxes on
businesses located within or doing business in the city limits and a hotel occupancy tax on lodging
places in the city. Additionally, a municipality may levy a sales tax and pursuant to authorization
by the Legislature impose an economic opportunity sales tax. Any local sales tax, however, must
be administered by the State Tax Commissioner.

At the State level, taxes are levied on businesses and individuals. All resident individuals and
nonresident individuals with West Virginia source income are subject to West Virginia Personal
Income Tax.

A business must first apply for a Business Registration Certificate to do business in West Virginia.
All business registration certificates or renewals issued on or after July 1, 2010 are permanent
registration certificates. If the business is incorporated in this State, it must register with the
Secretary of State and pay an annual fee. Out-of-state businesses doing business in West Virginia
may also be required to register with the Secretary of State. In addition, some businesses must
apply for specific permits or licenses (e.g., a Contractor License through the Department of
Labor). Businesses with employees in this State must also register with Workforce West Virginia
and pay unemployment taxes.

All corporations, except Subchapter S Corporations, are subject to the Corporation Net Income
Tax. Certain types of businesses are also subject to other privilege taxes. Certain natural resource
producers must pay the Severance Tax while public utilities, electric power producers, and gas
storage businesses are subject to the Business and Occupation Tax. Insurance companies must
pay the Insurance Premium Tax. Certain health care providers are subject to the Health Care
Provider Tax.

Although the Consumers Sales and Service Tax and the Use Tax are paid by the consumer,
businesses registered with the West Virginia State Tax Department as vendors must collect and
remit these taxes to the West Virginia State Tax Department unless the consumer presents a
direct pay permit, or an exemption certificate issued by the Department. West Virginia has
adopted economic nexus rules pursuant to which out-of-state sellers without a physical presence
in this State and marketplace facilitators must collect West Virginia State and local sales and use
taxes.

Besides the taxes listed above, the State also levies excise taxes on motor fuels, tobacco
products, soft drinks, nonintoxicating beer, alcohol, and other products.



Tax Type

West Virginia State Tax Overview

Tax Base

Calendar Year 2021
Tax Rate

Business Registration

Corporation Net Income

Severance

Business and Occupation

Business and Occupation

Business and Occupation

Health Care Provider
Managed Care Organization
Acute Care Hospital
Insurance

Consumers Sales & Use

Local Sales and Use'

Personal Income

Motor Fuel Excise
Motor Fuel Sales

Beer

Cigarettes

E-cigs liquid

Other Tobacco Products
Soft Drinks

Wine Liter

Cider Tax?2

Fee per business location

Federal taxable income with modifications
apportioned and allocated to WV

Gross receipts attributable to natural resource
production

Public utility services

Natural gas storage

Electric power production

Gross receipts

Number of members of a plan for each month on
a graduated scale

Gross receipts

Gross premiums

Sales of tangible personal property and certain
services

Same as State

Federal adjusted gross income with WV

Gallon

5% of average wholesale price
Barrel

Pack of 20

Milliliter

Gross invoice price

Half-liter

Liter

Gallons

' Currently 68 municipalities impose a local sales and use tax.
2 The Hard Cider Tax began on July 1, 2021. Prior to the implementation of the Hard Cider Tax, hard cider was
taxed under the Wine Liter Tax.
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$30

6.5%

Coal (various rates); oil, gas,
coalbed methane (various
rates)

Water (4.4%); natural gas
(4.29%); other (2.86%)

$0.05 per net dekatherm

Generally capped at the
average tax for the 1991-1994
period

1.75% - 5.50%
Variable rates
0.88%

3.0% - 5.5%
6.0%

Up to 1.0% (in addition to State
rate)

3.0% - 6.5% graduated

20.5 cents per gallon
15.2 cents per gallon
$5.50 per barrel
$1.20 per pack

7.5 cents

12.0%

1 cent

$0.26406 per liter

$0.226 per gallon



General Revenue Fund Sources — Fiscal Year 2021

Revenue Source

Major Taxes

Collections

% of Total

Personal Income Tax $2,253,788,399 45.21%
Sales and Use Tax 1,5637,244,806 30.83%
Severance Tax 274,255,914 5.50%
Corporation Net Income Tax 320,487,005 6.43%
Subtotal $4,385,776,124 87.97%
Minor Taxes

Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette Excise Tax $171,186,918 3.43%
Insurance Tax 118,061,442 2.37%
Business and Occupation Tax 133,128,056 2.67%
Property Transfer Tax 15,942,799 0.32%
Beer Tax and License 7,877,098 0.16%
Property Tax 8,121,252 0.16%
Business Registration Tax 796,584 0.02%
Charter Tax 12,018 0.00%
Subtotal $455,126,167 9.13%
Other Non-Tax Revenue

Liquor Profits $25,586,585 0.51%
Departmental Collections 23,880,472 0.48%
Interest Income 9,661,294 0.20%
Lottery Transfer 65,000,000 1.30%
Refundable Credit Reimbursement 10,000,000 0.20%
Miscellaneous 10,595,524 0.21%
Special Revenue Transfer 0 0.00%
Subtotal $144,723,875 2.90%

Total

$4,985,626,166
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General Revenue Fund Sources
FY 2021
(in Millions)

Non-Tax Revenue
Minor Taxes $144.7, 3%
$455.1, 9%

Corporation Net Income
Tax
$320.5, 6%

Severance Tax
$274.3, 6%

Sales and Use Tax
$1,537.2, 31%
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Personal Income Tax
$2,253.8, 45%



2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000

Selected West Virginia Tax Sources Administered by the State Tax Commissioner
Fiscal Years 2000 — 2021

Personal Income

Tax

$2,328,788,399
1,954,945,588
2,138,807,292
1,955,570,132
1,843,866,721
1,842,711,004
1,932,456,422
1,770,466,171
1,795,947,272
1,784,363,133
1,688,568,829
1,542,252,095
1,652,803,317
1,614,146,238
1,413,911,071
1,344,720,394
1,171,987,478
1,074,912,080
1,060,522,753
1,038,431,204
1,020,689,767
972,345,790

State Sales and

Use Tax
$1,592,643,846
1,434,064,553
1,423,626,576
1,310,075,177
1,279,737,116
1,280,987,331
1,288,688,227
1,221,981,551
1,255,369,626
1,277,328,113
1,210,253,342
1,156,522,173
1,170,553,246
1,164,889,725
1,167,139,564
1,161,231,652
1,095,339,835
1,051,461,638
1,008,337,161
990,518,918
955,681,158
942,262,361

Severance Tax
$296,191,839
288,996,182
484,512,602
367,167,962
357,217,628
370,946,253
562,876,424
621,145,508
528,239,697
585,701,352
558,502,784
516,734,971
510,433,270
487,827,992
447,155,165
383,050,307
275,687,402
211,724,610
188,952,296
193,688,325
190,536,592
175,710,993

* The excise tax on e-cigarette liquids went into effect July 1, 2016.

Corporation Net

Income &
Business

Franchise Taxes
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$320,487,005
151,988,008
198,031,543
110,068,206
116,305,568
145,755,086
190,401,080
207,808,473
242,429,821
192,385,447
307,277,776
236,159,163
287,537,027
400,167,410
368,388,437
347,569,611
280,788,003
181,515,211
181,178,243
220,158,497
214,296,629
217,793,467

Business &
Occupation

$133,128,055
137,346,516
124,522,937
115,003,005
111,884,545
119,174,498
120,521,715
120,142,546
127,111,826
121,031,382
127,591,014
133,386,079
150,292,700
150,822,471
180,748,060
185,456,897
182,460,781
177,395,094
178,415,433
173,712,450
177,362,771
167,994,888

Tobaccol/E-
Cigarette*
Taxes

$171,186,917
168,749,565
171,223,757
177,839,164
194,646,681
100,274,076
102,163,206
101,779,776
107,021,658
109,609,465
110,760,444
114,128,347
115,094,599
114,668,779
111,392,726
112,027,627
102,824,768
107,608,566
49,689,480
34,436,409
31,838,476
32,344,669

Total
$4,842,426,061
4,136,090,412
4,540,724,707
4,035,723,646
3,903,658,259
3,859,848,248
4,197,107,074
4,043,324,025
4,056,119,900
4,070,418,892
4,002,954,189
3,699,182,828
3,886,714,159
3,932,522,615
3,688,735,023
3,534,056,488
3,109,088,267
2,804,617,199
2,667,095,366
2,650,945,803
2,590,405,393
2,508,452,168
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BEER BARREL TAX

The West Virginia Beer Barrel Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 16) is an excise tax
levied upon the in-state sale, use, handling, or distribution of nonintoxicating beer whether
manufactured within or outside West Virginia. The tax was originally levied in 1933 at a rate of
$1.00 for each barrel of beer whether sold in barrels or other containers. The tax rate was
increased to $1.375 per barrel in 1937 and to $2.75 per barrel in 1947. In 1951, to aid in the
payment of veterans’ bonus bonds, the tax was raised to $5.50 per barrel, and license fees and
bonding requirements were added to the statute. In 1966, the Legislature repealed the dedication
of the tax to the veterans’ bonus bonds but kept the rate at $5.50 per barrel.

Beer Barrel Tax and Licenses Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $7,999,596
2018 $7,463,136
2019 $7,627,625
2020 $7,336,077
2021 $7,877,098

Taxpayers

Every individual who manufactures, distributes, or sells beer products within West Virginia must
first obtain an annual license from the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration to
conduct these activities. The license period starts on July 1 of each year and ends on June 30 of
the following year. The following license fees apply:

Annual

Place of Business License Fee
Manufacturer (brewer) of Beer

e 12,500 barrels or less $500

e 12,501 to 25,000 or less barrels $1,000

e More than 25,001 barrels $1,500

e Out of State Brewer? $1,500
Distributor of Beer $1,000
Brewpub $500
Fairs and Festivals $250
Retailers $150
Social, Fraternal and Private Clubs Not Operating for Profit $150
Railroad Cars $10

Caterers and party supply stores are included in the same category as retail grocery stores with
respect to the sale of nonintoxicating beer.

3 Out of State Breweries with production less than 25,000 barrels may choose to apply, in writing, to the
Commissioner of the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Commission to be subject to the variable license fees.
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Every applicant for a license must also post a bond. The amount of the bond shall be set by the
Alcohol Beverage Control Commissioner.

Tax Rates

The tax is levied at a rate of $5.50 on each barrel of 31 gallons and, in like ratios, on each part
barrel manufactured or sold within the State.

The term "nonintoxicating beer" refers to products of the brewing industry. These products include
all cereal malt beverages, beer, lager beer, ale, malt coolers, and other similar items. The
maximum amount of alcohol allowed in "nonintoxicating beer" is 11.9 percent by weight and 15
percent by volume, whichever is greater.

Exemption

The Beer Barrel Tax does not apply to non-intoxicating beer manufactured by a brewpub.

Disposition of Revenue

All revenue from the Beer Barrel Tax is deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
Comparison with Other States

The tax rates listed on this chart are the excise tax rates in effect on January 1, 2021. In all the
states listed except Maryland, sales of beer are also subject to the state’s sales tax. In Maryland,
unlike sales of other types of tangible personal property and taxable services that are taxed at a
6.0 percent rate, the sales and use tax is imposed at a 9.0 percent rate on the taxable price of
alcoholic beverages.

Comparison of Beer Tax Rates (per gallon)

State Tax Rate
Kentucky $0.0800
Maryland $0.0900
Ohio $0.1800
Pennsylvania $0.0800
Virginia $0.2565
West Virginia $0.1800
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BUSINESS AND OCCUPATION TAX

The West Virginia Business and Occupation Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 13) was first
enacted in 1921. The original Business and Occupation Tax applied to all persons, corporations,
partnerships, and associations doing business in West Virginia. Over the years, this statute has
often been amended.

Enactment of the “Tax Reform Act of 1985” altered the scope of the Business and Occupation
Tax. Today, the tax is imposed only on certain public utilities and electric power producers. As of
1989, natural gas storage facility operators are subject to a per unit tax under the Business and
Occupation Tax statutes. Since June 1995, electric power producers whose tax liability for every
month in 1994 was based on kilowatt-hours of electricity generated were to determine their tax
liability based upon “taxable generating capacity.” The legislation enacted in 1995 defined
“taxable generating capacity” as the “capacity factor” times the official capability of a generating
unit. “Capacity factor” was defined as the fraction of the average four-year generation for the 1991
to 1994 period divided by the “maximum possible annual generation” of a unit. The official
capability of a unit times 8,760 (the number of hours in a year) was defined as the “maximum
possible annual generation.” In 2001, the Business and Occupation Tax statute was revised to
subject the manufacturing or production of synthetic fuel from coal to a tax at a rate of $0.50 per
ton.

Beginning July 1, 2021, the owner or operator of a coal-fired generating unit in operation before
Jan. 1, 1995, may elect to recompute the taxable generating capacity of those coal-fired
generating units so that the tax attributable to the second half of 2021 is computed and paid on
45 percent of the official capability of those generating units. The lower 45 percent election would
also apply for taxable years beginning on and after Jan. 1, 2022. This applies to plants that do
not receive regulated cost recovery in West Virginia or any other state.

During Fiscal Year 2021, total collections for State Business and Occupation Tax were roughly
$133.1 million.
Business and Occupation Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $111,884,545
2018 $115,003,005
2019 $124,522,937
2020 $137,346,516
2021 $133,128,056

Taxpayers

The Business and Occupation Tax applies only to public utilities, electric power producers, gas
storage businesses, and producers of synthetic fuel from coal.

Tax Rates

The following chart shows the tax rates as of July 1, 2021.
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Taxpayer Type

Business and Occupation Tax Rates

Activity and West Virginia Code Citation

Tax Base

Tax Rate

Electric power company

Electric power company

Electric power company

Electric power company

Natural gas storage
operator

Natural gas utility

Water utility

Toll bridge companies

All other public service or
utility business
Manufacturer or Producer
of synthetic fuel from coal

Generating or producing electricity for sale, profit or commercial use
(§11-1320(b)(1)

Generating or producing electricity for sale, profit or commercial use by a
unit which has installed a flue gas desulfurization system (§11-13-
20(b)(1))

Selling electricity that is not generated or produced in West Virginia by
the taxpayer (§11-13-20(b)(2))

Selling electricity that is not generated or produced in West Virginia by
the taxpayer and sale is to a plant location of a customer engaged in a
manufacturing activity, if the contract demand at such plant location
exceeds 200,000 kilowatts per hour per year (§11-13-20(b)(2))

Withdrawal and/or injection of natural gas from/into storage reservoirs
(11-13-2¢)

Natural gas companies (§11-132d(a)(4))

Public service or utility business (§11-132d(a)(2))
Public service or utility business (§11-132d(a)(5))

All other public service or utility business

Producing synthetic fuel from coal (§11-13-2f)

Note: KW refers to kilowatt while KWH refers to kilowatt-hour.
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Generating Capacity

Generating capacity

Electricity sold

Electricity sold

Net Dekatherms
(maximum base =
1990-1994 average)

Gross Income

Gross Income
Gross Income

Gross Income

Tons produced

$22.78 per KW

$22.70 per KW

$0.0019 per KWH

$0.0005 per KWH

$0.05 per
dekatherm

4.29 percent

4.40 percent
4.29 percent

2.86 percent

$0.50 per ton



Exemptions

Nonprofit water and sewer companies governed by the West Virginia Public Service Commission
that are organized and operated for the exclusive benefit of their members are exempt from the
Business and Occupation Tax. In addition, gross income of a nonprofit homeowners’ association
received from assessment on its members for community services, such as road maintenance,
common area maintenance, water service, sewage service, and security service, is exempt from
Business and Occupation Tax. Sales of natural gas are exempt if separately metered and used
by the purchaser to derive hydrogen and carbon monoxide for use in the manufacture of
chemicals in West Virginia.

Beginning January 1, 2020, a coal-fired merchant power plant is exempt from Business and
Occupation Tax on the generating capacity of its generating units at the plant located in West
Virginia that are owned or leased by the taxpayer and used to generate electricity. A coal-fired
merchant power plant is defined as an electricity generating plant with relation to which the
owners, operators, interest holders, or any combination thereof, do not receive regulated cost
recovery pursuant to any tariff, regulated rate, or cost recovery fee mandated or authorized by
the West Virginia Public Service Commission, or by any rate-making authority of any other state
of the United States and that

1. is not subject to regulation of its rate by the West Virginia Public Service Commission
or any rate-making authority of any other state of the United States,

2. sells electricity it generates only on the wholesale market,

3. does not sell electricity pursuant to one or more long-term sales contracts, and

4. does not sell electricity to retail customers.

Special Taxable Generating Capacity

If a new generating unit, other than a peaking unit, is placed into service after March 10, 1995,
that unit’s taxable generating capacity equals 40 percent of its nameplate capacity. If a peaking
unit is placed in service after March 10, 1995, that unit's taxable generating capacity equals 5
percent of its nameplate capacity. A peaking unit is a unit designed for the limited purpose of
meeting peak demands for electricity or filling emergency electricity requirements. The taxable
generating capacity of a wind-power generating unit is equal to 12 percent of the official capability
of the unit, except for county-owned units. The taxable generating capacity of a county or
municipally owned generating unit is O percent of the official capability of the unit.

Credits Against Tax Liability

An annual tax credit of $500 is provided for each business engaged in activities in this State that
are subject to the Business and Occupation Tax. The West Virginia Code provides for a variety
of other tax credits that may be applied against Business and Occupation Tax liability in some
cases. These include the Industrial Expansion or Revitalization Credit for Electric Power
Producers, the Natural Gas Industry Jobs Retention Credit, and the Credit for Reducing Utility
Charges to Low-Income Families. Explanations of these credits may be found in the Tax Credits
section.

Disposition of Revenue

All revenue from the Business and Occupation Tax is deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
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BUSINESS REGISTRATION TAX

The West Virginia Business Registration Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 12) was
first enacted in 1863. From 1863 to 1969, the tax was known as the General License Tax. From
1970 to 1986, the tax was entitled the Business Franchise Registration Tax. Since July 1, 1971,
Business Registration Tax collections are deposited into the State General Revenue Fund. Prior
to that, the collections were used to fund free schools in the State and deposited to the general
school fund.

Business Registration Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $666,057
2018 $698,079
2019 $766,943
2020 $697,445
2021 $796,584

The Business Registration Certificate is a permit to conduct business in the State and must always
be displayed at the place of business. A separate business registration certificate is required for
each fixed business location in this State from which property or services are offered for sale or
lease to the public as a class, or to a limited portion of the public, or at which customer accounts
may be opened, closed, or serviced. A separate business registration certificate is not required
for each coin-operated machine. A separate certificate is required for each location from which
making coin operated machines available to the public is itself a business activity.

Contractors must have a copy of their Business Registration Certificate available at each of their
construction sites until the work at that site is completed. Businesses that sell tangible personal
property or services from or out of one or more vehicles must carry a copy of their Business
Registration Certificate in each vehicle and publicly display it while business is conducted from or
out of the vehicle.

A business registration certificate may not be assigned to any other person. If the name, location,
address, or ownership of the business changes, or if there are changes in the real parties of
interest in the business, the business must apply for a new business registration certificate. A new
business registration certificate is not required when there are changes of partners or members
of firms or changes in officers of corporations.

Taxpayers

Persons or corporations intending to do business in West Virginia, including individuals who are
self-employed, must first apply for a Business Registration Certificate. The Business Registration
Tax is important, not because of the revenue it produces directly, but because registration for this
tax requires the taxpayer to describe his business so that the West Virginia State Tax Department
can correctly identify the various taxes the business is subject to or that the business must collect
and remit to the State. Once a Business Registration Certificate is issued, the taxpayer will receive
all tax forms and information necessary to pay State taxes before the due dates.
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Churches and nonprofit organizations are not considered to be "businesses" or engaged in
business or subject to any other tax laws by the mere completion of an application for a Business
Registration Certificate.

Fee

There is a one-time fee for obtaining a Business Registration Certificate of $30. A separate
certificate is required for each fixed business location from which property or services are offered
for sale or lease or at which customer accounts may be opened, closed, or serviced. Additionally,
any registered DBA* must likewise obtain a separate certificate.

Penalty

Any person who engages in business in this State without having a required business registration
certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, may be fined not less than $1,000 nor
more than $10,000.

Organizations Not Required to Register

Persons engaged in the following activities are not required to register if they engage solely in
these activities:

1. judicial sales directed by law or court order,

2. sales for delinquent taxes on real or personal property,

3. the conduct of a charitable bingo occasion licensed under West Virginia Code §47-20 or
a charitable raffle licensed under West Virginia Code §47-21,

4. the conduct of a horse or dog race meeting by any racing association licensed under West
Virginia Code §19-23,

5. the operation or maintenance of the pari-mutuel system of wagering during the conduct of

a licensed horse or dog race meeting,

the sale of any commodity during the conduct of a licensed horse or dog race meeting,

the services of owners, trainers, or jockeys which are essential to the effective conduct of

a licensed horse or dog race meeting, or

8. occasional or casual sales of property or services by persons not engaged in a business
activity.

No

In addition, any person engaging in a business activity who meets the following three conditions
is not required to obtain a Business Registration Certificate. This condition is limited to any person
engaging in a business activity who:

1. is not required by law to collect any tax or withhold a tax, and
does not claim exemption from payment of the West Virginia Consumers Sales and
Service Tax or Use Tax, and

3. had gross income from business activity of $4,000 or less from operations in all states
during the income tax year most recently completed.

4 DBA stands for “doing business as,” indicating entities that conduct business under a different operating
name.
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Organizations Not Required to Pay

Although any person who is engaging in any business activity in this State is required to obtain a
Business Registration Certificate, not all persons are required to pay the $30 fee. The following
are exempt from the $30 fee:

1. a nonprofit organization that qualifies, or would qualify, for exemption from federal income
taxes under section 501 Of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended,

2. this State, or a political subdivision thereof, selling tangible personal property, admissions,
or services when those activities compete with or may compete with the activities of
another person,

3. the United States, or any agency or instrumentality thereof, which is exempt from taxation
by the states,

4. any person engaged in the business of agriculture or farming,

5. an out-of-state company that does not have nexus in West Virginia and employs a West
Virginia resident (the company must register for a ‘withholding only’ account), and

6. a West Virginia private household employing domestic help (taxpayer must register for a
‘withholding only’ account),

Special Filing Requirements

Some businesses must register with other State agencies, which may levy additional taxes or
fees. The following is a list of types of businesses that must meet special registration requirements
before the West Virginia State Tax Department can issue a Business Registration Certificate:

1. Corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and voluntary associations
must first register with the West Virginia Secretary of State,

2. Collection agencies must file an approved surety bond of $5,000 with the West Virginia
State Tax Department for each West Virginia location,

3. Employment agencies must first obtain a letter of approval from the Division of Labor of
the West Virginia Department of Commerce,

4. Transient vendors must, in addition to filing the Application for Registration Certificate and
paying the $30 fee, file an Application for Transient Vendor's License and post a $500
bond with the West Virginia State Tax Department,

5. Businesses selling drug paraphernalia must obtain a special Drug Paraphernalia License
from the West Virginia State Tax Department. The cost of the license is $150 for each
location. In addition, Drug Paraphernalia Affidavits must be completed for each employee
that will be selling drug paraphernalia,

6. All contractors must obtain a contractor's license from the Division of Labor of the West
Virginia Department of Commerce,

7. Nonresident contractors must also register with the West Virginia State Tax Department
under the Consumers Sales and Use Tax laws prior to engaging in the performance of a
contract in West Virginia and must file a cash bond or corporation surety bond for each
contract or an Umbrella Corporate Surety Bond,

8. Telemarketers must file an approved bond of $100,000.

Disposition of Revenue
All revenue from the Business Registration Tax is deposited into the General Revenue Fund for

fiscal years beginning on July 1, 1971, or after. Prior to that, revenue from this tax was used to
fund schools in the State and deposited in the General School Fund.
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CONSUMERS SALES TAX AND USE TAX

The West Virginia Consumers Sales and Service Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Articles
15 and 15A) was first enacted in 1933, and the complementary Use Tax (West Virginia Code,
Chapter 11, Article 15B) was enacted in 1951. The Consumers Sales and Service Tax Act has
been amended several times, and the rates, exemptions, and credits have changed over the
years. The Consumers Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax is the State’s second largest source
of revenue. During Fiscal Year 2021, total collections were roughly $1.593 billion. Of that amount,
almost $1.53 billion was deposited in the State General Revenue Fund, representing 96.5 percent
of the total revenue in that fund.

Consumers Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax Revenue (in millions)
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal General Special Sales Tax Increment Total
Year Revenue Fund Revenue Financing Receipts
2017 $1,222.3 $42.1 $15.3 $1,279.7
2018 $1,247 1 $44.9 $18.1 $1,310.1
2019 $1,370.2 $33.8 $19.7 $1,423.6
2020 $1,386.6 $33.9 $17.6 $1,438.1
2021 $1,537.2 $34.1 $21.3 $1,592.6
CONSUMERS SALES TAX
Taxpayers

Consumers Sales Tax is to be paid by the ultimate consumer; retailers engaging in business in
West Virginia collect the tax and remit their collections to the West Virginia State Tax Department.
The definition of “retailer engaging in business” includes those entities that are subsidiaries of,
related to, or unitary with a retailer that:

1. maintains an office, distribution house, sales house, warehouse, or other place of
business in West Virginia; or

2. directly, or by agent or representative, performs services in West Virginia in connection
with tangible personal property or services sold by the retailer; or

3. by agent or representative, solicits business in West Virginia for or on behalf of the
retailer or any related entity, related member, or part of the unitary business.

Out-of-state retailers who do not have a physical presence in West Virginia and who deliver more
than $100,000 of goods and services into West Virginia or have two hundred or more separate
transactions for the delivery of goods and services into West Virginia during the preceding or
current calenda year are required to collect and remit Consumers Sales Tax. This determination
is made annually for the next calendar year based on transactions during the then current
calendar year.

In addition, beginning July 1, 2019, marketplace facilitators must collect and remit West Virginia
sales tax on sales of good and services they facilitate if they have more than $100,000 of sales
of goods and services into West Virginia or have two hundred or more separate transactions for
the delivery of goods and services into West Virginia during the preceding or current calendar
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year. A “marketplace facilitator” is defined as a person that contracts with one or more sellers to
facilitate for consideration, regardless of whether deducted as fees from the transaction, the sale
of the seller’s products through a physical or electronic marketplace operated by the facilitator
and engages

1. directly or indirectly through one or more affiliated persons in any of the following:

a. transmitting or otherwise communicating the offer or acceptance between the
buyer and the seller,

b. owning or operating the electronic or physical infrastructure or technology that
brings buyers and sellers together,

c. providing a virtual currency that buyers are allowed or required to use to purchase
projects from the seller, or

d. software development or research and development activities related to a
marketplace if such activities are directly related to physical or electronic
marketplace operated by the person or an affiliated person, and

2. in any of the following activities with respect to the seller’s products:
a. payment processing services,
fulfillment or storage services,
listing products for sales,
setting prices,
branding sales as those of the marketplace facilitators,
order taking,
advertising or promotion, or
providing customer service or accepting or assisting with returns and exchanges.

Se@ e a0CT

The retailer collects the tax due from the purchaser at the time of sale unless the purchaser
presents the retailer with a properly executed exemption certificate or a direct pay permit number.
The tax collected is remitted to the West Virginia State Tax Department.

Only one collection of Consumers Sales Tax should occur from production to ultimate
consumption for any consumer good or service. Any seller who fails to collect the Consumers
Sales Tax must pay the tax himself unless the sale is exempt, or the seller receives a direct pay
permit number for the purchase. Exempt sales are of three main types:

1. exemption because of the nature of the buyer to whom the sale is made,
2. exemption because of the nature of the article sold, and
3. exemption because of the nature of the sale.

Tax Base

The tax is imposed on the sale or lease of tangible personal property and the furnishing of certain
services. Services rendered by an employee to his employer, services subject to regulation by
the West Virginia Public Service Commission and professional and personal services are exempt
from Consumers Sales Tax. Most rentals, excluding those of real estate, are taxable as though
they were sales. The tax is also imposed on persons producing for sale, profit, or commercial use
any natural resource or manufacturing product who also use or consume that product in a
contracting activity. Purchases of prepaid wireless calling services, such as wireless airtime cards,
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prepaid cellular phone cards, prepaid cellular rechargeable minute cards and prepaid wireless
ring tone download cards, are subject to the Consumers Sales Tax.

All motor vehicle sales to West Virginia residents are subject to a special motor vehicle sales tax
in lieu of the Consumers Sales and Service Tax. The tax applies to all motor vehicles, regardless
of whether purchased in or outside of West Virginia. The Division of Motor Vehicles is required to
collect the tax, and the revenue from the tax is dedicated to the State Road Fund. A credit is
allowed for new residents for sales tax paid on motor vehicles in other states at the time of
registration. The rate is 6 percent on vehicles with a purchase price over $500 or $25 on vehicles
with a purchase price under $500.

The term “motor vehicle” is broadly defined in the law and means every propellable device in or
upon which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway including,
but not limited to automobiles, buses, motor homes, motorcycles, motorboats, all-terrain vehicles,
snowmobiles, low-speed vehicles, trucks, truck tractors and road tractors having a weight of less
than fifty-five thousand pounds; trailers, semitrailers, full trailers, pole trailers and converter gear
having a gross weight of less than two thousand pounds, and motorboat trailers, fold-down
camping trailers, traveling trailers, house trailers and motor homes. Exceptions to this broad
definition are also included in the law.

Tax Rates

The State tax rate on the sale or lease of tangible personal property and the furnishing of certain
services is 6.0 percent of gross proceeds of sale. Municipalities may impose a municipal sales
and service tax at a rate not to exceed 1.0 percent. As of July 1, 2021, the following municipalities
imposed a municipal sales tax.

Athens Fairmont Moundsville Shinnston
Barboursville Follansbee New Cumberland  Sistersville
Beckley Grafton New Martinsville Smithers
Bluefield Harpers Ferry  Nitro Sophia
Bolivar Harrisville Paden City South Charleston
Bridgeport Hundred Parkersburg Spencer
Buckhannon Huntington Paw Paw St. Albans
Capon Bridge Hurricane Pennsboro Terra Alta
Charles Town Kingwood Princeton Thomas
Charleston Logan Quinwood Vienna
Chester Man Ranson Wardensville
Clarksburg Martinsburg Ravenswood Wayne
Davis Masontown Ripley Weirton
Dunbar Milton Romney Weston
Elizabeth Montgomery Rowlesburg Wheeling
Elkins Moorefield Rupert White Hall
Ellenboro Morgantown Shepherdstown Williamstown

Effective January 1, 2022, Nutter Fort and Tunnelton will impose a municipal sales and use tax
at a rate of 1.0 percent.

The State Tax Commissioner is responsible for collecting, enforcing, and administering municipal

sales and service tax and municipal use tax in the same manner as the State Consumers Sales
and Service Tax and the State Use Tax.
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Exemptions

Exempt sales are of three main types:

1.

3.

exemption because of the nature of the buyer to whom the sale is made,
exemption because of the nature of the article sold, and,
exemption because of the nature of the sale.

There are several distinct methods by which the exemptions must be claimed. Based on the
method by which the exemption must be claimed, exemptions are categorized into three
classifications: per se exemptions, exemptions for which exemption certificates are required, and
refundable exemptions.

"Per se" exemptions are those for which no separate exemption document is required as proof of
the exempt status. The following sales and services are exempt "per se" from Consumers Sales

Tax:

B w

11.

12.

. Advertising--sales of radio and television broadcasting time, preprinted circulars and

outdoor advertising space, and newspaper and magazine advertising space for the
advertisement of goods and services,

Artistic Services or Performances--the charges to the owner or operator of an
entertainment facility for the artistic performances of an entertainer or performing artist
pursuant to a contract if the contract amount does not exceed $3,000,

Burial Expenses--charges for the services of opening and closing burial lots,

Child Care Services--charges for babysitting services provided by individuals who
babysit for profit if the gross income of the individual from babysitting services does
not exceed $5,000 in a taxable year (all charges or fees over the $5,000 limit are
taxable),

Clothing Sold by Tax Exempt Organizations--sales of clothing and clothing
accessories by organizations that are exempt from federal income taxes under Section
501(c)(3) or (c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, if the proceeds
from such sales are used for exempt purposes, the clothing was donated or acquired
without cost, and the annual revenue from the sales is less than $40,000,

Clothing Vouchers--purchases made with the clothing vouchers issued by West
Virginia Department of Health & Human Resources for low-income school-aged
children,

College Room and Board--sales of room and board by public or private colleges or
universities if the sale is for more than thirty consecutive days and is on a contract
basis to students enrolled at the school,

Contracting--the construction, alteration, repair, improvement, or decoration of real
property when the work done results in a "capital improvement" to the real property
(all other construction activities are subject to the tax unless otherwise exempt),

Day Care Centers--sales and services performed by licensed day care centers,

. Digital Goods--sales of goods that are electronically transferred, such as digital audio

or digital books,

Educational Summer Camp Tuition--charged for attending educational summer camps
(sales of tangible personal property or food by the camps are taxable),

Employee Services--provided by an employee to his or her employer if the services
are within the scope of the employment contract,
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13.

14.

15.

16.
17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

Environmental Testing Services--the service of providing technical evaluations for
compliance with federal and State environmental standards by environmental and
industrial consultants who are certified by the West Virginia Department of
Environmental Protection or the West Virginia Bureau of Health,

Farm Products--sales of livestock, poultry, and other farm products in their original

state by producers of those products or members of their immediate family when the

producer is not otherwise engaged in making retail sales,

Federal and State Law--sales to or sales by certain organizations, including federal or

state-chartered credit unions, regional transit authorities, county ambulance

authorities and nonprofit health care corporations,

Flags--sales of regulation size United States and West Virginia flags for display,

Food for Home Consumption--sales, purchases and uses of food and food ingredients

intended for human consumption, not including sales, purchases and uses by

consumers of prepared food, food sold through vending machines and soft drinks,

Food Stamps--sales of food lawfully purchased with federal food stamps or with drafts

issued by the West Virginia special supplemental food program for Women, Infants

and Children (WIC),

Fraternities and Sororities--charges of room and meals by fraternities or sororities to

their members,

Fundraising Sales--fundraising sales by:

a. churches,

b. elementary and secondary schools,

c. organizations that receive more than half their support from gifts, grants, direct or
indirect-charitable contributions or membership fees,

d. organizations that have no paid employees and whose gross income from
fundraising is donated to an organization that is exempt from federal income taxes
under section 501(c)(3) or (c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code,

e. youth organizations, such as the Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts or YMCA Indian
Guide/Princess Program, which are operated exclusively for charitable purposes
and whose primary purpose is character development and citizenship training for
its members if the organization has a current Business Registration Certificate and
the organization is exempt from federal income taxes under sections 501(c)(3) or
(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code and these fundraising events are limited to six
events per year and each event lasts no more than eighty-four hours, and

f. not-for-profit volunteer school support groups for elementary or secondary schools
located in West Virginia, whether the group has or does not have a 501(c)(3) or
(c)(4) determination provided that the organization is a bona fide, not-for-profit
volunteer charitable or public organization eligible for exemption under 501(c)(3)
or (c)(4) if it were to seek an exemption determination letter and that these
fundraising events are limited to eighteen events per year and each event lasts no
more than fourteen consecutive days.

Governmental Services and Materials--sales of governmental services or

governmental materials by county assessors, county sheriffs, county clerks, or circuit

clerks in the normal course of local governmental operations,

Health and Fitness Organizations--sales of membership or services provided by health

and fitness organizations for personalized fitness programs,

Homeowners’ Associations--dues, fees, and assessments paid by members to

homeowners’ associations when used for payment of common expense,
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24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.
37.

Intangible Property--sales of intangibles, such as copyrights, royalties, notes, and

bonds,

Investment Metal Bullion or Coins--sales after June 30, 2019, of any precious metal

which has been put through the process of smelting or refining, including gold, silver,

platinum, and palladium and which is in such a state or condition that its value depends

on content, not form,

Isolated Transactions--sales of tangible personal property or taxable services by

persons who are not in the business of making such sales, such as individuals selling

their used furniture, if the person or business holding the sale holds no more than four

in one year and each sale lasts no more than forty-eight hours, and sales of taxable

services by persons who are not routinely engaged in the business of providing taxable

services, such as teenagers who occasionally mow lawns, babysit or do odd jobs

(persons who routinely sell odd items at yard sales, flea markets or along the roadside

are engaged in the business of selling and must register with the West Virginia State

Tax Department as a business),

Lease of Heavy Equipment or Machinery--leases of heavy equipment or machinery

among corporations with at least 50 percent common ownership,

Libraries--sales of services by public libraries, libraries at academic institutions, or

libraries at institutions of higher learning,

Livestock--sales of livestock sold at public sales sponsored by the breeder's or registry

associations or at livestock auction markets,

Lodging Franchise Fees--lodging franchise fees, including royalties, marketing fees,

reservation system fees or other fees that may have been imposed by a lodging

franchiser as a condition of the franchise agreement,

Lottery Tickets--sales of West Virginia lottery tickets and materials by authorized

lottery retailers,

Magazines Sold by State Agencies--direct or subscription sales by the Division of

Natural Resources of Wonderful West Virginia magazine and by the Division of Culture

and History of Goldenseal magazine and the West Virginia History journal,

Manufacturer's Representatives--commissions received by a manufacturer’s

representative,

Membership Organizations--charges to a member by a membership organization that

is exempt from paying federal income taxes under sections 501(c)(3) or (c)(6) of the

Internal Revenue Code for:

a. membership in the association or organization,

b. newsletters prepared by the association or organization primarily for distribution to
members, and

c. continuing education seminars, workshops, conventions, lectures, or courses put
on or sponsored by the association or organization, including charges for related
course materials prepared by the association or organization or by the speaker for
use during the continuing education seminar, workshop, convention, lecture or
course, not including separate charges for meals, lodging, entertainment or
transportation,

Mortgage Brokers--brokerage fees, additional charges and finance charges imposed

by licensed mortgage brokers, lenders, and loan originators,

Music Instructional Services--sales of music instructional services by a music teacher,

Newspapers--sales of newspapers when delivered to consumers by route carriers

(other newspaper sales are taxable),
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38.

39.

40.

41.

42.

43.

Nonprofit Organizations--sales of otherwise taxable services by 501(c)(3)

organizations if the organization meets the following criteria:

a. the corporation or organization must be organized and operated primarily for
charitable or educational purposes,

b. the activities and programs of the organization must contribute to promoting the
general welfare of youth, families and the aged, improving health or fithess and
providing recreational opportunities to the public,

c. the corporation or organization must offer membership or participation in its
programs and activities to the public,

d. the charges, fees and dues of the organization must be arranged so that its
programs and activities are accessible by a reasonable cross section of the
community, and

e. the corporation or organization must offer financial assistance on a regular and
ongoing basis to individuals who are unable to afford the organizations
membership dues or fees,

Personal Services--personal services, such as barbering, hairstyling, manicuring and

massages,

Prepared Food Sales--exempt food sales are as follows:

a. food sold by public or private schools, school sponsored student organizations or
school-sponsored parent-teacher organizations to students enrolled in such school
or to employees of the school during normal school hours,

b. sales of food by public or private colleges or universities or by officially recognized
student organizations to students enrolled at such college when such sales are
made on contract basis,

c. sales of food by a nonprofit organization or a governmental agency to low-income
persons at or below cost,

d. food sold in an occasional sale by a charitable or nonprofit organization, including
volunteer fire departments and rescue squads, or by a religious organization if the
purpose of the sale is to obtain revenue for the functions and activities of the
organization and the revenue so obtained is expended for that purpose, and

e. sales of food by little leagues, midget football leagues, youth football or soccer
leagues, band boosters or other school or athletic booster organizations supporting
activities for grades kindergarten through twelve and similar types of organizations,
including scouting groups and church youth groups, if the purpose of the sale is to
obtain revenue for the functions of the organization and the revenue so obtained
is used for such functions,

Prescriptions--sales of drugs, sales of durable medical goods, mobility-enhancing

equipment, including sales, installation and repairs of mobility enhancing equipment

installed in a new or used motor vehicle, and prosthetic devices dispensed upon for
prescription for home use, and sales of insulin to consumers for medical purposes,

Primary Opinion Research Services--sales of primary research opinion services when

such services are provided to an out of state client by means of interstate commerce

for use by the client outside West Virginia,

Professional Services--sales of professional services performed by licensed

professionals, such as doctors, lawyers, engineers, architects, certified public

accountants, and licensed auctioneers,
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44,

45.

46.

47.

48.

49.

50.

51.

52.

53.

Public Services--sales of services that are subject to regulation by the West Virginia
Public Service Commission, including sales of gas, steam or water delivered to
consumers through mains or pipes, sales of electricity, most telephone services and
services provided by regulated public or common carriers, and bus or taxi services
(mobile telephone and paging services that may not be regulated are taxable),

Real Property--sales of real property (land, houses, buildings, and other structures
attached to the land) and leases or rentals of real property to the same person for thirty
or more consecutive days (rentals of less than thirty days are taxable),

Sales Incentive Program--payments received by a vendor of tangible personal
property as part of a sales incentive program, cooperative advertising agreement, or
similar type of program,

School Activities--sales of tickets for activities sponsored by elementary and
secondary schools located in West Virginia,

Small Arms and Ammunition--effective July 1, 2021, sales of small arms and small
arms ammunition,

State Military Training Facility--sales of goods by a canteen or snack bar facility on a
state reservation or state training facility under the jurisdiction of the adjutant general
(i.e., Camp Dawson),

Textbooks--sales of textbooks required to be used in any of the schools of the State
whether the books are sold directly to the school or to students, including written
course materials and audio and video materials if they are a required text of the school,
Transportation--charges for transporting passengers in interstate commerce, such as
airline and bus tickets, if the trip begins or ends outside the State,

Travel Agents--commissions received by a travel agency from an out-of-state vendor,
and

Volunteer Fire Departments--sales of tangible personal property and services by
volunteer fire departments for fundraising purposes.

Some exemptions must be claimed by using a current tax exemption certificate. If a vendor fails
to obtain a properly completed exemption certificate from the purchaser or if the purchaser refuses
to provide a certificate, the vendor must collect the tax and purchaser must pay the tax. The
following is a list of the exemptions for which an exemption certificate is required:

1.

W

Aircraft Repair--aircraft repair, remodeling, and maintenance services; sales of

component parts affixed or attached to such aircraft during repair, remodeling, and

maintenance services; and sales of tools and equipment directly used to complete

such services,

Certain Aircraft Sales--sales of aircraft sold in this state and removed from the state

within 60 days,

Car Wash Soap--sales of soap to be used at car wash facilities,

Certain Computer Hardware and Software—certain sales of computer hardware and

software, including:

a. sales of computer hardware and software to be directly incorporated into a
manufactured product, including licensing fees,

b. sales of computer hardware and software directly used in communication,

c. sales of electronic data processing services,

d. sales of educational software required to be used in any public school or institution
in this State that is subject to the requirements of the Department of Education or
the Higher Education Policy Commission,
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10.

11.

12.

13.

e. sales of Internet advertising of goods and services,

sales of high technology business services to high technology businesses that

enter contracts with State and federal governmental agencies, and

g. sales of prewritten software, computers, computer hardware, servers and building
materials and tangible personal property to be installed in a building or facility for
direct use in a high technology industry or an Internet advertising business.

Controlled Groups purchases of services by one corporation, limited liability company

or partnership from another corporation, limited liability company or partnership from

another corporation limited liability company or partnership when both entities are

members of the same controlled group,

Electronic Data Processing Services--sales of electronic data processing services and

software related to such purchases to another company (sales of data processing

equipment, material and supplies are taxable),

Food--purchased by a nonprofit organization or governmental agency that provides

meals to low-income persons at or below cost,

Motion Picture Films--sales of motion picture films to motion picture exhibitors when

the sales of tickets or the charge to view the film are taxable,

Purchases by Certain Nonprofit Organizations--purchases by a corporation or

organization that has a current registration certificate and is exempt from federal

income taxes under section 501(c)(3) or (c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code and:

a. receives more than half its support from gifts, grants, direct or indirect charitable
contributions and membership fees, or

b. is a youth organization, such as the Girl Scouts and the Boy Scouts, or

c. is an organization with no paid employees whose gross income from fundraisers
is donated to a 501(c)(3) or (c)(4) organization,

Purchases by Churches--purchases of services, equipment, supplies, food for meals

and material directly used or consumed by churches that make no charge at all for the

services they render,

Purchases by Governments--purchases by the federal government and governmental

units of West Virginia or another state if that state grants a sales tax exemption to

governmental units of West Virginia (purchases by employees while on government

business are not exempt unless such purchases are directly billed to and paid for by

the government entity),

Purchases by Producers of Materials Used in the Production of Certain Value-Added

Products from Raw Agricultural Products--sales of property or services to persons for

direct use in the production of a “value added product” for a period of no more than

five years by such persons engaged exclusively in such production activity for the

following:

the conversion of lumber into furniture, toys, collectibles, and home furnishings,

the conversion of fruit into wine,

the conversion of honey into wine,

the conversion of wool into fabric,

the conversion of raw hides into semi-finished or finished leather products,

the conversion of milk into cheese,

the conversion of fruits or vegetables into dried, canned, or frozen products,

the conversion of feeder cattle into commonly acceptable slaughter weights,

the conversion of aquatic animals into dried, canned, cooked, or frozen products,

and

j- the conversion of poultry into dried, canned, cooked, or frozen products.

Purchases by Schools--purchases by an elementary or secondary school in this State

or by a school that has its principal campus in this State and has approval from the
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14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Board of Trustees of the University System of West Virginia or the Board of Directors
of the State College System to award degrees,

Purchases for Commercial Agriculture--purchases of tangible personal property or
taxable services for use or consumption in the commercial production of an agricultural
product, including the purchase of fencing and nails used for the construction of
fencing, and purchases of propane for use in heating poultry houses,

Purchases for New or Expanded Warehouse or Distribution Facility--purchases of
computers and computer software, primary material handling equipment, racking and
racking systems and components thereof, building materials and tangible personal
property installed into or directly used or consumed in the construction, addition,
alteration or improvement of a qualified new or expanded warehouse or distribution
facility provided that the investment is at least $50 million and at least 300 full-time
West Virginia equivalent jobs are created,

Purchases for Resale--purchases of tangible personal property intended for resale in
the form of tangible personal property,

Video Arcade Games--sales of coin-operated video arcade machines or video arcade
games to a person who provides such machines to the public for a charge upon which
the tax is imposed, and

Video Lottery Terminals and Games--purchases of video lottery terminals and video
lottery games by persons holding a current operator’s license or a current limited video
lottery operator's license issued under W. Va. Code §29-22-1 et. seq. and
consideration paid by a patron of a restricted access adult only facility to play video
lottery games.

For purchases for which there are no per se exemptions or for which no exemption certificate may
be issued, the purchaser must pay the Consumers Sales Tax and Use Tax unless the purchaser
has a direct pay permit number from the West Virginia State Tax Department. Each business with
a direct pay permit must keep a record of taxable and exempt purchases and remit any tax due
directly to the West Virginia State Tax Department. Those without a direct pay permit may either
credit the tax paid for items that qualify for a refundable exemption against sales or use tax due
and owed on nonexempt purchases or apply for a refund of the tax paid. Refundable exemptions
are allowed for the following classifications:

1.

2.

Charitable Organizations--purchases by bona fide charitable organizations that make
no charge at all for the services they render,

Direct Use--purchases of services, machinery, supplies and materials directly used of
consumed in the activities of manufacturing, transportation, transmission,
communication, production of natural resources, gas storage, generation or production
or selling electric power, provision of a public utility service, the operation of a utility
service, or the operation of a utility business,

Fraternal or Social Organizations--purchases by nationally chartered fraternal or social
organizations for the sole purpose of free distribution in public welfare or relief work,
Housing--sales of building materials or building supplies to organizations that are
exempt from federal income taxes under section 501(c)(3) or (c)(4) of the Internal
Revenue Code when such are to be installed in buildings or structures used as
permanent low-income housing, transitional housing, emergency homeless shelters,
domestic violence shelters or emergency children and youth shelters if the shelter is
owned, managed, developed or operated by such qualified organization,
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5. Prescription Drugs and Medical Goods--sales of drugs, durable medical goods,
mobility enhancing equipment and prosthetic devices are exempt when purchased by
the following:

a. hospitals,

b. medical clinics,

c. nursing homes,

d. providers of inpatient hospital services, and

e. providers of outpatient hospital services, physician services, nursing services,
ambulance services or surgical services, and

f. veterinarians,

provided that these items are dispensed upon prescription and intended for use in the

diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of injury or disease.

6. Research and Development Activities--purchases of tangible personal property and
services that directly used or consumed in the activity of research and development,
and

7. Volunteer Fire Departments--purchases of firefighting or station house equipment,
construction and automotive equipment by volunteer fire departments organized and
incorporated under the laws of the State of West Virginia.

Direct Use Pass-Through Exemption

Purchases by contractors constructing, altering, repairing, or improving a new or existing building
or structure for businesses in the manufacturing, transportation, production of natural resources
or utilities industries will be exempt if utilized directly in the activities of manufacturing,
transportation, production of natural resources, or public utilities. The contractor receives a pass-
through exemption for tax-exempt direct use purchases.

In addition, purchases by contractors of services, building materials and tangible personal
property to be installed in a building or facility or directly used or consumed in the construction,
alteration, repair, or improvement of a new or existing building or structure if the purchaser of the
contracting service is a nonprofit youth organization that would be entitled to claim a Consumers
Sales Tax exemption had the organization made the purchases are exempt. The contractor
receives a pass-through exemption for such purchases. A special contractor exemption certificate
must be completed by the contractor.

Direct Pay Permit

The State Tax Commissioner may, at his discretion, authorize a person who is a user, consumer,
distributor, or lessee to pay Consumers Sales Tax and Use Tax directly to the West Virginia State
Tax Department and waive the collection of tax by that person's vendors, including out of-state
vendors. No such authority is granted or exercised except upon application to the State Tax
Commissioner and after issuance by the State Tax Commissioner of a direct pay permit number.
To avoid paying the tax or presenting an exemption certificate at the time of each transaction, the
direct pay permit number issued to a specific taxpayer may be used when making taxable or
exempt purchases. A direct pay permit number does not apply to purchases of gasoline or special
fuel. The permit is valid until it is surrendered by the taxpayer or cancelled. When using a direct
pay permit, the holder of the permit must notify each specified vendor from whom tangible
personal property is purchased or leased or from whom services are purchased of their direct pay
permit number and that any tax thereon will be paid directly to the West Virginia State Tax
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Department. Vendors must maintain records identifying the purchase by name, permit number
and the amount of the sale for which the direct pay permit was accepted.

Upon the cancellation or surrender of the direct pay permit, the holder must promptly notify, in
writing, the specified vendors from whom tangible personal property is purchased or leased or by
whom services are rendered of the cancellation or surrender.

Mobile Homes

Sales of mobile homes to be used by purchasers as their principal year-round residence are taxed
at 50 percent of the sale price.

Sales Tax Holiday

Beginning in 2021, a Sales Tax Holiday starts on the Friday before the first Sunday in August and
ends the following Monday. In 2021, the Sales Tax Holiday was from 12:00 a.m. on Friday, July
30, through 11:59 p.m. on Monday, August 2.

During the Sales Tax Holiday, purchases of the following items are exempt from Sales and Use
Tax:

certain clothing with a purchase price of $125 or less,

certain school supplies with a purchase of $50 or less,

certain school instruction material with a purchase of $20 or less,

certain laptop and tablet computers with a purchase price of $500 or less, and
certain sports equipment with a purchase price of $150 or less.
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There is no limit on the amount of the total purchase. The qualification is determined by each
individual item.

Items purchased for use in a trade or business are not exempt under the Sales Tax Holiday.

Credits Against Tax Liability

Purchasers who pay Consumers Sales Tax or Use Tax on items that qualify for a refundable
exemption may credit such tax overpayment against their monthly or quarterly remittances of
Consumers Sales Tax and Use Tax.

Special District Excise Tax

Counties and municipalities may levy a special district excise tax of 6 percent on sales and
services made within a defined economic opportunity development district. The economic
opportunity district and the special district excise tax must be authorized by the Legislature. When
the special district excise is imposed, the tax is collected in lieu of the State sales tax. Generally,
the special district excise tax acts as a sales tax increment financing tool to benefit the economic
opportunity development districts. Since the base and rate of the special district excise tax are
the same as that of the Consumers Sales and Service Tax, sales in these districts are not subject
to the Consumers Sales and Service Tax. Currently, the only special districts levying a special
district excise tax are The Highlands district in Ohio County, the Charles Pointe district in Harrison
County, the University Towne Center district in Monongalia County and the City of South
Charleston.
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USE TAX

The Use Tax is imposed upon the use within West Virginia of tangible personal property and
services bought or leased outside West Virginia for use or consumption within this State. The
State Tax is levied at the rate of 6.0 percent of the purchase price. The Use Tax complements
the Consumers Sales Tax and Use Tax due is remitted on the same form as the Consumers
Sales Tax.

In addition to the State Tax, municipalities may impose an additional tax at a rate of 1.0 percent.
A list of the municipalities imposing a municipal sales tax can be found in the Consumer Sales
Tax section. The State Tax Commissioner is responsible for collecting, enforcing, and
administering municipal sales and service tax and municipal use tax in the same manner as the
State Consumers Sales and Service Tax and the State Use Tax.

Out-of-state vendors engaging in business in this State are required to collect Use Tax from their
West Virginia customers. The State Tax Commissioner is empowered to authorize certain foreign
retailers to collect Use Tax at the time a sale is made. Collected tax must be remitted along with
the Consumers Sales Tax. Any person who used tangible personal property purchased outside
West Virginia upon which the tax has not been paid to the seller is personally liable for such tax
and is required to remit quarterly the tax imposed upon all such property directly to the West
Virginia State Tax Department. Additional information on the economic nexus rules for out-of-
state vendors and marketplace facilitators that do not have a physical presence in West Virginia
can be found in the Consumers Sales Tax section.

The use in West Virginia of the following tangible personal property is exempt from the tax:

1. articles of tangible personal property brought into the State by a nonresident individual
for his or her enjoyment while in the State,
2. tangible personal property and services that are exempt from Consumers Sales Tax,
3. tangible personal property and services upon which the Consumers Sales Tax has
been paid,
4. tangible personal property and services that are not subject to the Consumers Sales
Tax, and
5. tangible personal property purchased outside West Virginia for use outside this State
by a nonresident person or business who later brings such property into this State in
connection with his establishment of a permanent resident or business in West
Virginia.
Credits Against Use Tax
A credit is allowed against a taxpayer's Use Tax liability for sales tax lawfully paid to another state,
but the amount of the credit allowed may not exceed the amount of Use Tax imposed on the use
of property in West Virginia.
Disposition of Revenue
During Fiscal Year 2021, $1,537.2 million (96.5 percent) of the revenue from the Consumers
Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax was deposited in the State General Revenue Fund. Special

revenue funds received $34.1 million (2.1 percent) in deposits, and $21.3 million was from the
sales tax increment financing.
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Comparison with Other States
The tax rates listed in this section are as of January 1, 2021.

Comparison of State Sales Tax Rates

Maximum Total
State Tax Local Maximum

State Rate Rate Rate
Kentucky 6.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Maryland 6.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Ohio 5.75% 2.25% 8.00%
Pennsylvania 6.00% 2.00% 8.00%
Virginia 4.30% 1.70% 6.00%
West Virginia 6.00% 1.00% 7.00%

Tables and Charts

The following provides information on distribution of revenue from the West Virginia Consumers
Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax and data on local sales taxes.
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Distribution of Revenue
from Consumers Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax
FY 2021
(in Millions)
Sales Tax Increment
Financing, $21.30, 1% Special Revenue

$34.10, 2%

General Revenue
$1,537.20, 97%

= General Revenue = Sales Tax Increment Financing = Special Revenue
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Municipality

Athens
Barboursville
Beckley
Bluefield
Bolivar
Bridgeport
Buckhannon
Capon Bridge
Charleston*
Charles Town
Clarksburg
Davis
Dunbar
Elizabeth
Elkins
Ellenboro
Fairmont
Follansbee
Grafton
Harpers Ferry
Harrisville
Hundred
Huntington
Hurricane

Start
Date
Jul-18
Jul-20
Jul-16
Jul-17
Jul-15
Jul-16
Jan-20
Jul-20
Oct-13
Jul-15
Jul-16
Jul-18
Jul-16
Jul-18
Jul-18
Jul-20
Jul-16
July-17
Jul-16
Jul-16
Oct-13
Jan-20
Jan-12
Jul-20

Local Sales Tax Distributions by Fiscal Year

(In thousands)

Fiscal Year

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
$33.5 $62.7 $75.6
$2,824.8
$3,5647.2 $5,638.9 $5,892.9 $5,896.3 $5,958.1
$608.7 $998.8 $1,078.1 $988.3
$19.6 $38.4 $35.0 $44.9 $61.6 $123.8
$2,510.2 $4,092.0 $5,387.0 $4,300.6 4,108.3
$231.2 $1,799.1
$66.2
$2,832.0 $7,302.2 $12,296.6 $14,923.9 $14,6459 $15,393.2 $15,530.0 $15,269.7
$521.5 $888.8 $933.1 $953.6 $1,176.9 $1,391.3
$2,539.8 $4,035.6 $4,498.0 $4,452.2 $4,388.2
$73.6 $128.0 $187.4
$439.2 $724.9 $798.3 $873.0 $961.9
$70.2 $95.5 $138.8
$748.6 $1,150.5 $1,296.0
$68.9
$1,231.8 $1,907.9 $2,205.4 $2,281.1 $2,383.3
$224.5 $364.4 $431.8 $459.9
$367.5 $576.7 $595.7 $604.1 $714.9
$90.8 $140.4 $181.0 $191.0 $201.7
$51.8 $157.7 $156.3 $171.5 $161.3 $177.0 $183.2 $206.0
$2.0 $52.5
$763.1 $6,247.7 $6,894.5 $6,379.2 $6,153.1 $6,499.2 $6,598.6 $6,744.9 $7,236.4 $7,425.8
$1,064.6
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Municipality

Kingwood
Logan
Martinsburg
Milton
Montgomery
Moorefield**
Morgantown
Moundsville
New
Cumberland
New Martinsville
Nitro
Parkersburg
Pennsboro
Princeton
Quinwood
Ranson
Ravenswood
Ripley
Romney
Rupert
Shepherdstown
Shinnston
Sistersville

South
Charleston

Start
Date
Jul-19
Jul-20
Jul-15
Jul-15
Jul-20
Jul-16
Jul-20
Jul-17

Jul-17

Jul-20
Jul-15
Jul-15
Jul-16
Jul-17
Oct-13
Jul-15
Jul-20
Jul-20
Jul-16
Apr-13
Jul-17

Jul-17
Jul-16

Local Sales Tax Distributions by Fiscal Year

(In thousands)

Fiscal Year

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
$254.6 $460.4
$947 1
$2,352.5 $4,131.8 $4,196.0 $4,410.6 $4,692.7 $5,501.8
$270.7 $449.1 $479.9 $507.6 $549.9 $584.9
$103.4
$316.7 $483.9 $499.5 $535.8 $903.7
$5,457.0
$1,132.4 $1,9454 $1,906.8 $1,849.8
$61.4 $103.2 $118.9 $152.2
$935.4
$1,070.1 $1,748.5 $1,578.6 $1,776.1 $1,833.7 $1,905.5
$3,718.6 $5,771.3 $6,029.7 $6,208.1 $6,307.0 $6,539.2
$124.9 $181.2 $349.3 $367.7 $214.8
$713.8 $1,175.6 $1,278.4 $1,517.7
$2.5 $7.7 $18.6 $11.8 $9.9 $13.8 $14.8 $16.5
$641.4 $1,308.2 $1,328.5 $1,429.5 $1,537.0 $1,731.7
$247.9
$891.0
$169.6 $232.7 $236.4 $277.3 $345.7
$16.1 $21.6 $41.5 $48.9 $42.0 $35.5 $58.8 $62.4
$147.6 $299.8 $404.6 $355.1
$213.9
$70.5 $115.4 $127.0 $147.0
$2,881.1 $4,439.7 $4,610.9 $4,833.7 $4,662.3
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Local Sales Tax Distributions by Fiscal Year

(In thousands)

Fiscal Year

Municipality SDtaatret 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021

St. Albans Jul-17 $844 .1 $1,342.2 $1,413.6 $1,540.0
Thomas Jul-15 $34.5 $76.0 $67.5 $71.6 $78.5 $88.8
Vienna Jul-15 $2,141.7 $3,463.7 $3,506.6 $3,502.7 $3,677.6 $3,575.5
Wardensville Jul-20 $53.6
Wayne Jan-18 $40.4 $315.6 $342.7 $407.1
Weirton Jul-16 $1,543.9 $2,693.1 $2,770.0 $2,894.2 $3,093.8
Weston Jan-18 $52.6 $549.5 $544 .6 $568.3
Wheeling* Oct-13 $793.2 $2,273.9 $3,811.2 $4,639.5 $4,981.7 $5,009.7 $5,234.1 $5,352.6
White Hall*** Jan-18 $71.2 $591.2 $663.2 $1,201.6
Williamstown Oct-11 $125.8 $363.5 $266.7 $295.1 $326.3 $310.7 $281.3 $327.2 $352.8 $391.1
Total $888.9 $6,611.2 $10,856.8 $16,437.4 $33,574.2 $60,244.0 $73,989.8 $83,357.4 $86,266.2 $104,173.8

* Tax rate was 0.5 percent from 10/1/2013 to 6/30/2015.
** Tax rate was 0.5 percent from 7/1/2016 to 6/30/2020; increased to 1.0 percent on 7/1/2020.
**Tax rate was 0.5 percent from 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2019; increased to 1.0 percent on 1/1/2020.
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CORPORATION NET INCOME TAX

The West Virginia Corporation Net Income Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 24) was
first enacted in 1967. The West Virginia Corporation Net Tax has adopted many provisions of the
laws of the United States Internal Revenue Code relating to the determination of income for
federal tax purposes. Annually, the Corporation Net Income Tax is updated to reflect changes in
the federal tax code.

Prior to January 1, 2015, all corporations were also subject to the Business Franchise Tax. The
Corporation Net Income Tax and Business Franchise Tax were filed on one return. The following
chart shows the combined revenue for these two taxes for the past five fiscal years.

Corporation Net Income Tax and Business Franchise Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $116,305,568
2018 $110,068,206
2019 $198,031,543
2020 $151,998,009
2021 $320,487,005

Taxpayers

Domestic and foreign corporations doing business in West Virginia or deriving income from
property, activity or other sources within the State are subject to the Corporation Net Income Tax
(CNIT). This includes limited liability companies taxed as corporations for federal income tax
purposes. Certain insurance companies and mutual companies, certain trusts, S corporations,
certain production credit associations and nonprofit corporations are all exempt from tax.
However, the tax is applicable to the unrelated business income of nonprofit corporations. Pass-
through entities, such as S corporations, partnerships, and LLC’s, must file an information return.

Tax Base

CNIT is imposed on taxable corporation income as defined by federal law and as adjusted by
State law. Some adjustments that can increase taxable income are as follows:

1. interest or dividends on U.S. government obligations or securities that are exempt from
federal income tax but not from state income tax,

2. interest or dividends from all state or local bonds or securities excluded from federal
taxable income,

3. all taxes imposed on or measured by net income that are expensed on the federal
corporate income tax return,

4. the amount of unrelated business taxable income of a corporation that because of its

purposes is generally exempt from federal income tax,

the federal net operating loss deduction,

the amount of foreign taxes deducted in determining federal taxable income,

7. net operating loss from sources outside the United States,

oo
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8. dividend paid deduction otherwise allowed by federal law in computing net income of
certain real estate investment trusts (REIT) or of certain regulated investment
companies, and

9. federal deduction for charitable contributions to Neighborhood Investment Programs if
claiming the West Virginia Neighborhood Investment Program Tax Credit.

Modifications that can decrease taxable income are as follows:

1. state income tax refunds or credits for overpayment included in federal taxable income,
interest expense incurred to purchase or carry obligations or securities of states or
their political subdivisions, if disallowed in determining federal taxable income,

3. the amount of dividends received from a foreign (non-United States) corporation to the
extent the dividends were added to federal taxable income by a corporation claiming
a foreign tax credit,

4. that portion of salary expenses disallowed as a deduction for federal income tax
purposes due to the claiming of the federal jobs credit,

5. the amount received from a foreign corporation as dividend income to the extent

included in federal taxable income,

foreign source income to the extent included in federal taxable income,

employer contributions to medical savings accounts included in federal taxable income

less amounts withdrawn for non-medical purposes, and

8. amount equal to that portion of net income directly derived from a qualified opportunity
zone business located in a qualified opportunity zone which is in West Virginia.

No

CNIT law also provides for the elective adjustment to taxable income for expenditures for water
and air pollution control facilities as defined by sections 48(h)(12)(B) and (C) of the Internal
Revenue Code with the addition to taxable income of depreciation and amortization allowances
taken on such facilities.

A decreasing adjustment is allowed for certain government obligations and obligations secured
by residential property. The deduction is equal to the average monthly percentage of total
corporate assets represented by tax-exempt federal obligations, West Virginia obligations and
mortgages on residential property located within the State multiplied by taxable income.

A taxpayer may claim its aggregated West Virginia net operating loss carry-overs plus the net
operating loss carrybacks. However, no more than $300,000 of the net operating loss from any
taxable year may be carried back to prior tax years. Net operating losses may be carried back for
up to two years (subject to the $300,000 limitation) and then excess losses may be carried forward
for up to twenty years. Under the provisions of the CARES Act, net operating losses generated in
2018, 2019 or 2020 can offset up to 100 percent of taxable income. In addition, net operating
losses associated with those three years may be carried back to the prior years for purposes of
offsetting prior year taxable income.

Corporations subject to taxation in West Virginia and one or more other states must generally use
a three-factor apportionment formula to determine the portion of their total income that is subject
to taxation in West Virginia. The factors consist of property, payroll, and sales. The sales factor is
given a 50 percent weight while the other two factors each receive a weight of 25 percent. Any
factor with a zero denominator is eliminated from the apportionment computation. The value of
moveable property to be included in the numerator of the property factor is based on the number
of days the property is physically located in West Virginia expressed as a percentage of the total
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number of days the property is located everywhere. The gross receipts from sales of tangible
personal property shipped from this State before sale and not subject to an income tax by the
state of destination are excluded from both the numerator and the denominator of the sales
apportionment factor. This rule does not apply to sales to the United States government.

Beginning January 1, 2022, pursuant to H.B. 2499 during the 2021 Regular Legislative Session,
West Virginia will convert the apportionment formula from the four-factor formula to a single sales
factor formula: the numerator being sales in West Virginia and the denominator being sales
everywhere.

Special apportionment rules apply to motor carriers and financial organizations. Motor carriers
with West Virginia nexus apportion business income by use of the ratio of total vehicle miles in
West Virginia to total vehicle miles everywhere. Multi-state financial organizations apportion
business income by a special gross receipts factor. The gross receipts factor is the ratio of receipts
attributable to West Virginia customers to receipts attributable to all customers. A financial
organization has nexus in West Virginia if it obtains or solicits business from twenty or more
persons within the State or if total West Virginia receipts equal at least $100,000.

While most business income of multi-state corporations is subject to the apportionment formula
mentioned above, some types of income are directly allocated to the State when the income is
non-business income. Certain income not gained in the regular course of the taxpayer’s business
and which comes from

rents and royalties from real or tangible personal property, and/or

capital gains and losses from sales of real property located within this State, and/or
interest and dividends if the taxpayer's commercial domicile is in the State, and/or
patent or copyright royalties

howN =

is allocated to West Virginia and becomes West Virginia taxable income to the extent that these
sources of non-business income are owned, used, or otherwise represent taxable activity in West
Virginia.

Tax Rate
The rate of tax is 6.5 percent.
Combined Reporting

A combined income method of reporting for unitary groups is required when filing the Corporation
Net Income Tax Return. Under this method, the West Virginia taxable business income of a
taxable member of the group is its proportionate share of the combined business income of all
members of the unitary group. Members of a combined group that are taxable in West Virginia
are required to file separate returns unless they elect to designate one member as surety to file a
single return on behalf of the taxable members of the combined group. This is annual election
which does not change the tax liability of any member of the combined group that makes this
election. The election merely simplifies reporting by the taxable members of the combined group.

Credits Against Tax Liability

The West Virginia Code provides a variety of tax credits that may be applied against CNIT liability
in some cases. These include the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit, the Manufacturing
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Investment Tax Credit, the Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit, the
Manufacturing Property Tax Adjustment Tax Credit, the Natural Gas Liquids Property Tax
Adjustment Credit, the Post-Coal Mine Site Business Credit, the Environmental Agricultural
Equipment Credit, the Military Incentive Credit, the High-Wage Growth Business Tax Credit, the
Credit for Reducing Telephone Charges to Low-Income Families, the Credit for Reducing Utility
Charges to Low-Income Families, the Neighborhood Investment Program Credit, the Historic
Rehabilitated Buildings Investment Credit, the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit, the Farm to
Food Bank Tax Credit, the Tax Credit for Donation or Sale of Vehicle, the Innovative Mine Safety
Technology Tax Credit, and the High-Tech Incentive Exemptions and Credits. Explanations of
these credits may be found in the Tax Credits section.

Disposition of Revenue

During Fiscal Year 2021, collections for the Corporation Net Income Tax were $320.5 million. All
the revenue from the Corporation Net Income Tax was deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
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HEALTH CARE PROVIDER TAXES

The State of West Virginia imposes certain special taxes on taxpayers who provide health care
related services within the State, the broad-based Health Care Provider Tax (West Virginia Code
§11-27) and the Acute Care Hospital Tax (West Virginia Code 11-27-38). The following chart
shows the revenue from these taxes for the past five years.

Health Care Provider Taxes Revenue (in millions)
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Medicaid State Share Acute Care Clearing Fund Total Net
Year Net Revenue Net Revenue Revenue
2017 $181.8 $28.5 $210.3
2018 $188.5 $30.3 $218.8
2019 $199.7 $32.9 $232.6
2020 $199.2 $34.6 $238.8
2021 $260.8 $37.1 $297.9

BROAD-BASED HEALTH CARE PROVIDER TAX
Taxpayers

The Health Care Provider Taxes are imposed on the provisions of selected types of health care
services provided in West Virginia.

Tax Rates

The following is a list of taxable health care services and respective tax rates as of July 1, 2021:

Ambulatory Surgical Center 1.75%
Independent Laboratory or X-ray Services 5.00%
Inpatient Hospital Services 2.50%
Intermediate Care Facility Services for the Intellectually Disabled 5.50%
Nursing Facilities other than Intermediate Care Facility Services for the

: 5.50%
Intellectually Disabled
Outpatient Hospital Services 2.50%

The Health Care Provider Taxes are measured by the application of a rate to the gross receipts
received from providing the health care services. Gross receipts include all payments, in cash or
in kind, from patients, third-party providers and others for the services rendered, including
retroactive adjustments under reimbursement agreements with third-party providers. No
expenses are to be deducted. Gross receipts that are not related to providing of health care
services (i.e., fees received by health care providers for providing expert testimony) and charitable
donations are not subject to the Health Care Provider Taxes.

Beginning July 1, 2020, a Health Care Provider Tax is imposed on managed care organizations.

The tax rates are based on the type of managed care plans— Medicaid membership or non-
Medicaid membership in the managed care plans. The rates are determined based upon the
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number of members of a plan for each month or part of a month on a graduated scale. The
following rates will apply from July 1, 2020, until June 30, 2023:

e Tierl - $35 for each Medicaid member-month under 250,000

e Tierll - $20 for each Medicaid member-month between 250,000 and 500,000

e Tier lll - $1 for each Medicaid member-month greater than 500,000

o Tier IV - 25 cents for each non-Medicaid member-month under 150,000

e Tier V - 10 cents for each non-Medicaid member-month of 150,000 or more
Deductions

The following deductions can be made from gross receipts before the calculation of the tax:

1. Accrual-based taxpayers may deduct bad debts from their gross receipts to the extent
that the amount of the bad debt was included previously in gross receipts upon which
the Health Care Provider Taxes were paid.

2. Accrual-based taxpayers, except nursing homes, can reduce gross receipts by the
amount of their contractual allowances to the extent included in the amount of gross
receipts upon which taxes were previously paid. Contractual allowances are the
differences between revenue or gross receipts at established rates and the amounts
realized from third party providers under contractual agreements.

ACUTE CARE HOSPITAL TAX
Taxpayers

The Acute Care Hospital Tax is imposed on providers of inpatient and outpatient hospital services
in addition to the Health Care Provider Tax.

Tax Rates

The Acute Care Hospital Tax is currently imposed on certain eligible acute care hospitals at a rate
of 0.75 percent on the gross receipts received or receivable by the eligible acute care Hospital
that provides inpatient or outpatient hospital services in West Virginia through a Medicaid upper
payment limit program. This tax is in addition to the 2.5 percent tax imposed on gross receipts of
hospitals derived from providing inpatient and outpatient hospital services.

In 2019, the West Virginia Legislature imposed a rate increase on certain eligible acute care
hospitals. This additional tax is 0.13 percent of gross receipts received or receivable by an eligible
acute care hospital that provides inpatient or outpatient hospital services in this State.

Gross receipts are the amount received or receivable, whether in cash or in kind, from patients,
third-party payers and others for inpatient hospital services furnished by the provider, including
retroactive adjustments under reimbursement agreements with third-party payers, without any
deduction for expenses.

Deductions

The following deductions can be made from gross receipts before the calculation of the tax:
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1. Accrual-based taxpayers may deduct bad debts from their gross receipts to the extent
that the amount of the bad debt was included previously in gross receipts upon which
the Acute Care Hospital Tax was paid.

2. Accrual-based taxpayers can reduce gross receipts by the amount of their contractual
allowances to the extent included in the amount of gross receipts upon which taxes
were previously paid.

Disposition of Revenue

The revenue from the Health Care Provider Tax on acute care hospitals is to be deposited in the
Eligible Acute Care Provider Enhancement Account. The revenue from all other Health Care
Provider Taxes, including any interest, additions to tax and penalties and excluding allowable
refunds and the cost of administration of these taxes, is to be deposited into the Medicaid State
Share Fund. All appropriations from this fund must be made by the Legislature.

During Fiscal Year 2021, $260.8 million (87.8 percent) of the revenue from Health Care Provider

Taxes was deposited into the Medical State Share Fund. The Acute Care Hospital Tax generated
$37.1 million which was deposited into Acute Care Clearing Fund.
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MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX

The West Virginia Motor Fuel Excise Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Articles 14C, 15-18b
and 15A-13a) was enacted by the 2003 Regular Session of the Legislature and became effective
January 2004. The Motor Fuel Excise Tax replaced the Gasoline and Special Fuel Excise Tax,
which was enacted in 1923.

The Motor Fuel Excise Tax is the largest source of revenue for the State Road Fund. During Fiscal
Year 2021, total collections were $399.5 million, or 47.6 percent of all State Road Fund
collections.

Motor Fuel Excise Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $381,304,058
2018 $419,644,096
2019 $443,427,743
2020 $427,272,653
2021 $399,541,633

General Provisions

The Motor Fuel Excise Tax is a combination of a flat rate tax of 20.5 cents per invoiced gallon and
a variable rate tax, which is 5 percent of the average wholesale price of each motor fuel
determined annually by the State Tax Commissioner. The average wholesale price is determined
in November of the calendar year based on sales data gathered for the preceding period of July
1 through October 31. Notice of the variable rate is published in the State Register. Changes in
the variable rate takes effect on January 1 of the next calendar year. The average wholesale price
of conventional fuels may never be less than $3.04 per gallon; therefore the variable component
of the tax may not be less than 15.2 cents per gallon. Additionally, the average wholesale price
of conventional fuels cannot vary by more than 10 percent from the average wholesale price for
the previous calendar year.

The Use Tax for interstate carriers including aircraft, barge or other watercraft or railroad
locomotives, is based on the percentage of carrier operations in West Virginia. The relevant
percentage is the proportion of West Virginia miles compared with the total miles traveled within
and without West Virginia. Consumers Sales and Service Tax will be included in the price of fuel
purchased in West Virginia and can offset the Use Tax.

The Motor Fuel Excise Tax is imposed at the time motor fuel is imported into West Virginia, other
than by a bulk transfer and is measured by invoiced gallons received outside this State at a
refinery, terminal, or bulk plant for delivery to a destination in West Virginia. The tax is payable by
the person importing the motor fuel. The tax is also imposed on invoiced gallons of motor fuel
removed, other than by bulk transfer,

1. from the bulk transfer/terminal system in West Virginia,
2. from the bulk transfer/terminal system outside West Virginia for delivery to a location
in West Virginia as represented on the shipping papers, or
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3. upon sale or transfer in a terminal or refinery in West Virginia to any person not holding
a supplier's license.

The tax does not apply to motor fuel imported into West Virginia in the motor fuel supply tank or
tanks of a motor vehicle, but the Motor Carrier Road Tax may still apply. Tax applies to fuel
blended in West Virginia and is calculated on the difference between the total quantity blended
and the quantity used for blending but previously taxed.

Both the flat rate of the motor fuel excise tax and the variable rate are imposed on alternative fuel

based on a gasoline gallon equivalent basis. Alternative fuels include butane, propane,

compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, and natural gas

hydrocarbons and derivatives.® The gasoline gallon equivalents for alternative fuel are as follows:
Gasoline Gallon Equivalents of Alternative Fuels

Measure of Fuel with Energy Equal to One

Alternative Fuel Gallon of Gasoline

Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) 126.67 cubic feet

Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) 5.66 pounds

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) 1.554 gallons

Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG--Propane) 1.367 gallons
Exemptions

The following sales of motor fuel are exempt per se from the flat rate component of tax:

1. all motor fuel exported from West Virginia to any other state or nation, provided the
destination state tax is collected,

2. sales of aviation fuel,

3. sales of dyed special fuel, and

4. sales of propane unless sold for use in a motor vehicle.

Refundable exemptions are also available. The following entities may apply for a refund of the flat
rate component and the variable rate component of the tax:

the United States government,

any county government or agency thereof,

any municipal government or agency thereof,

county boards of education,

any urban mass transportation authority,

any municipal, county, state or federal civil defense or emergency service program,
and

7. any bona fide volunteer fire department, nonprofit ambulance service or emergency
rescue service.
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Also refundable are flat rate taxes for certain non-highway uses:

5> Sales of field gas are exempted from the flat and variable rate components of the Motor Fuel Excise Tax
per W. Va. Code §11-14C-9a, et seq.
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1. all gallons of motor fuel used and consumed in stationary off-highway turbine engines,
2. all gallons of special fuel used for heating any public or private dwelling, building or
other premises,

all gallons of special fuel used for boilers,

all gallons of motor fuel used as a dry-cleaning solvent or commercial or industrial

solvent,

5. all gallons of motor fuel used as lubricants, ingredients or components of any

manufactured product or compounds,

all gallons of motor fuel sold for use or used as a motor fuel for commercial watercraft,

all gallons of special fuel sold for use or consumed in railroad diesel locomotives,

all gallons of motor fuel purchased in quantities of 25 gallons or more for use as a

motor fuel for internal combustion engines not operated upon the highways of West

Virginia,

9. all gallons of motor fuel purchased in quantities of 25 gallons or more and used to
power a power take-off unit on a motor vehicle,

10. motor fuel used by any person regularly operating any vehicle under a certificate of
public convenience and necessity or under a contract carrier permit for transportation
of persons when the amount purchased is 25 gallons or more (amount refunded is
equal to 6 cents per gallon), and

11. all gallons of motor fuel that are purchased and used by any bona fide volunteer fire
department, nonprofit ambulance service or emergency rescue service.

o
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Effective January 1, 2018, motor fuel sold for use or consumed in railroad diesel locomotives is
eligible for a refundable exemption from the variable rate component. However, the amount of the
refundable exemption is limited to $4.3 million per year in the aggregate among all claimants.

The Motor Fuel Excise Tax law allows the seller of tax-paid motor fuel to the federal government
to claim a refund for the variable rate component of the Motor Fuel Excise Tax and the flat rate
component of the Motor Fuel Excise Tax when the federal government does not pay these taxes.

All motor fuel exported from West Virginia to another state or nation is exempt per se from the flat
rate and the variable rate component of the tax, provided that the destination state tax is collected.
In addition, an exemption is provided for field gas use contingent upon the payment of royalties
according to any existing leases.

Licensing
The following classifications have been established for motor fuel licensing:

suppliers which include refiners,
permissive suppliers (out-of-state supplier who is licensed to collect the Motor Fuel
Excise Tax and remit the tax to the State),
importers,

exporters,

terminal operators,

blenders,

motor fuel transporters,

distributors,

. producers/manufacturers,

0. alternative fuel bulk end users,
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11. providers of alternative fuel, and
12. retailers of alternative fuel.

Persons who are engaged in more than one activity for which a license is required must have a
separate license for each activity.

Motor Carrier Provisions

Most interstate motor carriers pay motor fuel excise tax according to the provisions of the
International Fuel Tax Agreement. Intrastate motor carriers pay the excise tax according to the
provisions of the Motor Carrier Road Tax. A description of both the IFTA and MCRT provisions
follows.

International Fuel Tax Agreement

The International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is a fuel tax reciprocity agreement among states of
the United States and provinces of Canada to simplify the reporting and payment of all fuel use
taxes by interstate motor carriers for all IFTA qualified vehicles. Qualified motor vehicles are the
only vehicles taxed under IFTA and, for purposes of fuel tax reporting, are described as vehicles
used, designed or maintained for transportation of persons or property having

1. two axles and gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding
26,000 pounds,

2. three or more axles regardless of weight, or

3. when used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000
pounds gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight.

All West Virginia-based motor carriers who travel in at least one other IFTA jurisdiction and
operate one or more qualified vehicles must obtain IFTA credentials. IFTA credentials, consisting
of a license and decals, are issued by the West Virginia Department of Transportation.

All IFTA licensees based in West Virginia must file a single tax return to the West Virginia State
Tax Department on a quarterly basis. This tax return will contain detailed information about vehicle
operations in each IFTA member jurisdiction. West Virginia will then distribute both taxes and
carrier information to the other IFTA jurisdictions on behalf of the carrier. The types of fuel that
can be reported on an IFTA return include gasoline, diesel, gasohol, propane, LNG, CNG,
ethanol, methane, E-85, M-85, A55, and biodiesel. Not all states require that all types of fuel be
reported.

West Virginia will receive its portion of fuel taxes due from motor carriers based in other IFTA
jurisdictions from the carrier's base jurisdiction. If the motor carrier does not operate in any other
IFTA jurisdiction, the motor carrier will file the Motor Carrier Road Tax return described below.

Motor Carrier Road Tax

The Motor Carrier Road Tax (MCRT), which is very closely related to the IFTA Motor Fuel Excise
Tax, is imposed on any vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of persons or
property having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding
26,000 pounds, or having three or more axles regardless of weight, or is used in combination
when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight or registered
gross vehicle weight. Recreational vehicles are not subject to the Motor Carrier Road Tax.
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This tax must be paid on each gallon of motor fuel used in motor carrier operations within West
Virginia.
Exemptions from Motor Carrier Road Tax are granted for the following vehicles:
1. motor carriers operated or caused to be operated by or for any agency of the federal
government, any state government, or any political subdivision of any state,
2. school buses operated or caused to be operated by or for this State or any of its

political subdivisions, and
3. school buses of private schools.

Filing and Payment Dates

The tax is due on or before the last day of the month for the preceding month.

Disposition of Revenue

During Fiscal Year 2021, $399.5 million was collected in Motor Fuel Excise Tax and deposited
into the State Road Fund. Revenue deposited into the State Road Fund is to be used only for the
purpose of construction, reconstruction, maintenance, and repair of highways, matching federal
funds available for highway purposes and payment of interest, and sinking fund obligations on
State highway bonds.

Comparison with Other States

The tax rates listed in this section are as of July 1, 2021.

Comparison of Total State Taxes/Fees (Cents per Gallon)

State Gasoline Diesel
Kentucky® 26.00 23.00
Maryland 36.10 36.85
Ohio 38.51 47.01

Pennsylvania 58.70 75.20
Virginia 34.40 35.30
West Virginia 35.70 35.70

51n Kentucky, the tax on gasoline is 24.60 cents per gallon with a surcharge of 1.40 cents for a total of
26.00 cents per gallon. The tax on diesel is 21.60 cents per gallon with a surcharge of 1.40 cents for a total
of 23.00 cents per gallon.
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Tables and Charts

The following table provides the current rates for Motor Fuel Excise Tax. The tax rates listed in
this section are as of July 1, 2021.

Motor Fuel Excise Tax Rates

Fuel Type Flat Rate Variable Rate Combined Rate
Gasoline $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
Diesel $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
Gasohol $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
Liquid Propane $0.150 $0.035 $0.185
Liquid Natural Gas $0.132 $0.018 $0.150
Compressed Natural Gas* $0.205 $0.028 $0.233
Ethanol $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
Methanol $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
E8 - E-85 $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
M8 - M-85 $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
A5 - A55 $0.205 $0.152 $0.357
BD - Biodiesel $0.205 $0.152 $0.357

* All fuel tax rates noted are per gallon except for Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), which is taxed per cubic
foot.
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PERSONAL INCOME TAX

The West Virginia Personal Income Tax Act (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 21) was first
enacted by the 1961 Regular Session of the Legislature on February 10, 1961 and signed by the
Governor on February 14, 1961. The Personal Income Tax Act has been amended several times.
Over the years, the rates, deductions, and exemptions have changed. The statute has also been
amended various times to include several tax credits, generally expiring within a defined period
of time.

The Personal Income Tax is the State’s largest source of revenue. During Fiscal Year 2021, total
collections were roughly $2.32 billion. Of that amount, $2.25 billion was deposited in the State
General Revenue Fund, representing 46.7 percent of the total revenue in that fund.

Personal Income Tax Revenue (in millions)
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

General Refund Workers

Revenue Reserve Compensation Total
Fiscal Year Fund Fund Debt Fund OPEB Receipts
2017 $1,813.9 $0.0 $0.0 $30.0 $1,843.8
2018 $1,919.6 $6.0 $0.0 $30.0 $1,955.6
2019 $2,096.8 $12.0 $0.0 $30.0 $2,138.8
2020 $1,947.5 $(23.0) $0.0 $30.0 $1,954.5
2021 $2,253.8 $45.0 $0.0 $30.0 $2,328.8

Taxpayers

State Personal Income Tax is imposed on the West Virginia taxable income of resident
individuals, estates, and trusts wherever their income is earned. Nonresident individuals, estates
and trusts are also subject to this tax on income from West Virginia sources. Corporations,
partnerships (but not partners), other entities treated like partnerships for federal income tax
purposes, and certain trusts and associations are exempt from West Virginia Personal Income
Tax. Individuals, estates, and trusts that are required to file a federal individual income tax return
or that have West Virginia adjusted gross income in excess of their total personal exemptions
must file a West Virginia return. Individuals, estates, and trusts are also required to file West
Virginia returns even though they may be exempt from filing a federal return or may have correctly
reported zero federal tax liability.

A partnership (or other entity treated like a partnership for federal income tax purposes) that is
subject to the new federal audit rules may have additional West Virginia filing obligations and may
owe West Virginia income tax a result of federal audit adjustments.

Filing Status

There are five filing status categories for state income tax purposes, which determine the rate
used to calculate to the income tax liability. The categories are:

1. Single

2. Head of Household
3. Married Filing Jointly
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4. Married Filing Separately
5. Widow(er) with a dependent child

Tax Base

Computation of West Virginia taxable income begins with federal adjusted gross income. West
Virginia adjusted gross income is determined by application of various State modifications
increasing or decreasing federal adjusted gross income. Modifications include, among others,
decreasing adjustments for interest from U.S. savings bonds and an $8,000 income exclusion for
those age 65 and older. Individuals with federal adjusted gross income below $10,000 ($5,000
for married filing separate taxpayers) may exclude up to 100 percent of earned income from tax.

West Virginia taxable income is determined by subtraction of a value related to personal
exemption allowances from West Virginia adjusted gross income. Taxpayers are generally
allowed a $2,000 personal exemption for each allowable personal exemption. The exemption for
an estate or trust is $600. Persons claimed as dependents on another's return are allowed a $500
exemption.

Tax Rates
Personal Income Tax rates are graduated from 3.0 percent to 6.5 percent. Two rate schedules
are provided: one for joint returns, individuals, heads of household, estate, and trusts; and one
for married taxpayers filing separate returns. Taxpayers with income at or below 100 percent of
the annual federal poverty income guideline based upon household size are exempt from
payment of State personal income tax through a family tax credit program.

West Virginia Tax Rate Schedule

All Taxpayers Excluding Married Filing Separately

TAXABLE INCOME TAX LIABILITY
Over Not Over Base Tax Plus Over
$0 $10,000 $0.00 3.0% $0
$10,000 $25,000 $300.00 4.0% $10,000
$25,000 $40,000 $900.00 4.5% $25,000
$40,000 $60,000 $1,575.00 6.0% $40,000
$60,000 $2,775.00 6.5% $60,000

Married Filing Separately Only

TAXABLE INCOME TAX LIABILITY
Over Not Over Base Tax Plus Over
$0 $5,000 $0.00 3.0% $0
$5,000 $12,500 $150.00 4.0% $5,000
$12,500 $20,000 $450.00 4.5% $12,500
$20,000 $30,000 $787.50 6.0% $20,000
$30,000 $1,387.50 6.5% $30,000
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Exemptions

While a taxpayer can no longer claim personal exemptions on their federal income tax return,
West Virginia has retained personal exemptions under the same rules applicable under federal
law in prior years. The West Virginia personal exemption allowance is $2,000 per allowable
exemption. A husband and wife who file a joint federal return, but separate West Virginia returns
may each claim only the exemptions to which they would have been entitled as individuals if they
had filed separate federal returns. A surviving spouse is allowed one additional $2,000 exemption
for two taxable years following the year of the death of his or her spouse. Those claimed as
dependents on another's return are entitled to a $500 exemption. Estates and trusts are allowed
only one $600 exemption.

Increasing and Decreasing Modifications
Increasing Modifications
West Virginia modifications that increase federal adjusted gross income are as follows:

1. interest income on State and local obligations other than those of West Virginia and
its political subdivisions,

2. interest or dividend income from obligations or securities of any United States
authority, commission or agency that are, by federal law, exempt from federal income
tax but not from State income tax,

3. interest on money borrowed to purchase obligations that earn income exempt from
State income tax,

4. certain other elements of income received from partnership or fiduciary roles primarily
those of the types described above,

5. the amount of lump sum distributions for which the taxpayer has elected to be
separately taxed for federal income tax purposes under Section 402(e) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and

6. the amount withdrawn from a tuition pre-payment plan not used for payment of
qualified expenses.

Decreasing Modifications
West Virginia modifications that decrease federal adjusted gross income are as follows:

1. the first $2,000 of benefits received under the West Virginia Public Employees'
Retirement System or the West Virginia Teachers' Retirement System or federal civil
service retirement benefits received to the extent included in federal taxable income,
annual military retirement income, including survivorship annuities,

all benefits received under the West Virginia Department of Public Safety Death,

Disability, and Retirement Fund or retirement income received as pensions or

annuities from any qualified West Virginia or local police, deputy sheriffs’ or firefighters’

retirement system or from any Federal retirement fund where the duties of the position
were similar to police or firefighters,

4. income from any source received by persons who are sixty-five years of age or older
or who are totally and permanently disabled or received by their surviving spouses,
regardless of age, to the extent included in federal taxable income, if the deduction
does not exceed $8,000 for a single return or a maximum of $8,000 per person for a
joint return,

wn
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10.
11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

interest on United States obligations to the extent included in federal adjusted gross
income,

interest or dividends on obligations or other securities of any United States authority;
commission or agency, which is included in federal adjusted gross income but is
exempt by federal law from State income taxation except for dividends from national
bank stock, but including federal interest and dividends paid to shareholders of a
regulated investment company under section 852 of the Internal Revenue Code,
interest or dividend income from bonds issued by the State of West Virginia or its
authorities, commissions, or instrumentalities where the interest is subject to federal
taxation but exempt by West Virginia law from State taxation,

shareholder modifications related to distributive shares of ownership in an S
corporation,

the amount of any refund or credit for overpayment of income taxes imposed by West
Virginia or any other taxing jurisdiction to the extent included in federal adjusted gross
income,

qualified payments made toward West Virginia SMART529 plans during the tax year,
certain other income which this State is prohibited from taxing under federal law that
is included in federal adjusted gross income, specifically Railroad Retirement benefits,
premiums that are paid for long-term care insurance that provides coverage for the
taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, parent or dependent if the amount of the premiums
is not allowable as a deduction when determining the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross
income,

active-duty military pay received by West Virginia National Guard or reserve forces
members who are called to active duty because of a call out under the authority of the
President of the United States for domestic security duty,

amount of not less than $25 and not more than $1,200 of any payment for amounts
expended for tolls paid electronically through use of a West Virginia Parkways
Authority Commuter Card for noncommercial passes for travel on toll roads in West
Virginia,

contributions to a qualified trust maintained for the benefit of a child with autism by the
parent or guardian of a child with autism to the extent the amount is not allowable as
a deduction when arriving at federal adjusted gross income up to a maximum of $1,000
per year for single filers and persons who are married but filing separately and $2,000
per year for persons who are married and filing jointly,

active-duty military pay of a West Virginia resident who was on active duty for thirty or
more consecutive days and who has separated from active military duty to the extent
included in federal adjusted gross income,

shareholders’ proportional share of all items of income, loss, deduction, or credit of the
S corporation for shareholders of S corporations in the banking business for tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2018,

amount equal to that portion of net income directly derived from a qualified opportunity
zone business located in a qualified opportunity zone which is in West Virginia,
amount equal to the difference between the amount that would have been received,
and had the plan not been terminated and the amount received from the guarantor for
retirees who retire under an employer-provided defined benefit plan that terminated
prior to or after retirement and is covered by a guarantor whose maximum benefit
guarantee is less than the maximum to which the retiree was entitled from the 2020
through 2022 tax years,

for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2020, certain individuals may
deduct some, or all, of the social security payments they receive, and
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21. contributions by a designated beneficiary to an Achieving a Better Life Experience

(ABLE) account.

Various credits are allowed against Personal Income Tax liability.

1.

2.

A credit is granted to taxpayers in an amount equal to the West Virginia Personal
Income Tax already withheld from their wages or salaries.

A credit is granted to taxpayers for their payments of estimated taxes. Estimated taxes
must be paid by each resident and nonresident taxpayer whose West Virginia adjusted
gross income, except for any part of that income from which West Virginia income tax
is withheld, can reasonably be expected to exceed $400 plus the sum of the personal
exemption allowances to which the taxpayer is entitled.

A one-time credit is allowed for non-family adoptions. The credit is equal to $4,000,
which may be taken in the year of the adoption of each non-family child whose age at
adoption is under eighteen. This credit may be taken over a period of three years. A
nonfamily adoption is the adoption of a child by a taxpayer or taxpayers who are not
the father, mother, or stepparent of the child.

Low-income taxpayers who are eligible for the Homestead Exemption for property tax
purposes are eligible for the Senior Citizen Tax Credit for Property Tax Paid. The tax
credit is based on the amount of ad valorem property taxes paid on the first $20,000,
or portion thereof, of the taxable assessed value over the $20,000 Homestead
Exemption.

Homeowners with income of not more than 300 percent of federal poverty guidelines
may be eligible to take the Homestead Excess Property Tax Credit for owner-occupied
residential property taxes paid more than 4 percent of total gross income. The
maximum credit is $1,000. The Homestead Excess Property Tax Credit is to be equal
to the amount by which the difference between real property taxes paid for the tax year
on owner occupied residential property minus the amount of credit calculated for the
Senior Citizen Tax Credit for Property Tax paid exceeds 4 percent of the taxpayer’s
gross household income for the tax year.

Any taxpayer who seeks a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon and completes
a training course in the handling and firing of a handgun is eligible for a credit against
their Personal Income Tax liability of the amount of the fee for the training course, up
to $50. If the training was free or cost less than $50, then the credit may be applied to
the fees associated with the initial application for the license.

Families meeting certain income criteria are eligible for the Family Tax Credit. The
credit is based on family size and the federal poverty guidelines.

Several additional tax credits may be available to some taxpayers. These include the
Economic Opportunity Tax Credit, the Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing
Investment Tax Credit, the Natural Gas Liquids Property Tax Credit, Post-Mine Site
Business Credit, the Environmental Agricultural Equipment Credit, the Military
Incentive Credit, the High-Wage Growth Business Tax Credit, the Neighborhood
Investment Program Credit, the Historic Rehabilitated Buildings Investment Credit, the
Credit for Rehabilitated Residential Buildings Investment, the Apprenticeship Training
Tax Credit, the Farm to Food Bank Tax Credit, Small Arms and Ammunition
Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit, and the Tax Credit for Donation or Sale of
Vehicle.
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Special Provisions
Military

If the taxpayer is a member of the United States military forces and was domiciled in West Virginia
at the time of entering military service, then assignment to duty outside the State does not change
his or her West Virginia domicile. Such a taxpayer must file a West Virginia return and pay any
tax owed in the same manner as any other resident individual unless both of the following
conditions were met:

1. had no permanent place of abode in West Virginia during the taxable year, and
2. did not spend more than thirty not necessarily consecutive days in West Virginia during
the taxable year.

If the military taxpayer met both conditions listed above but had income from some West Virginia
sources, then he or she may be required to file an income tax return as a nonresident depending
on the nature of the income. If the taxpayer has separated from active military service but was on
active duty for thirty or more continuous days outside of West Virginia, the active military pay is
exempt for the year of separation from the service. Members of the United States military forces
whose domicile is outside West Virginia are not taxed by this State on their military compensation,
even though they may be stationed in West Virginia and maintain a permanent place of abode in
the State.

Spouses of military service members may be exempt from Personal Income Tax on wages
received from services performed in West Virginia if all three of the following conditions are met:

1. the service member is present in West Virginia in compliance with military orders,
2. the spouse is in West Virginia solely to be with the service member, and
3. the spouse maintains domicile in another state.

Reciprocal Agreements

A credit may be granted to West Virginia residents because of income tax imposed by another
state but not for taxes imposed by any city, township, borough or political subdivision of a state.
Currently, credit is allowed for income tax imposed by thirty-six states and the District of Columbia.
Taxpayers who are residents for income tax purposes of one of the other states or of Pennsylvania
or Virginia may also become residents for tax purposes of West Virginia under certain conditions.
The West Virginia State Tax Department cannot grant this credit unless the taxpayer's domicile
is in West Virginia. In the cases of five of these states, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania
and Virginia, credit is allowed only on taxable income from some source other than salaries or
wages.

Some credit may be granted to nonresident West Virginia taxpayers when income they receive
from West Virginia sources is also subject to income taxation by their state of residence, provided
their state has entered into a written reciprocal agreement with this State.

Residency

For Personal Income Tax purposes, a resident is a person who:
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1. has his domicile in West Virginia, even though he maintains a permanent place of
abode outside the State and does not maintain a permanent place of abode in West
Virginia if he spends more than thirty (not necessarily consecutive) days of the taxable
year here, or

2. has his domicile outside West Virginia but maintains a permanent place of abode in
West Virginia and spends more than 183 (not necessarily consecutive) days of the
taxable year here unless the person involved is a member of the United States military
forces.

A taxpayer who changes his or her residence either from West Virginia to another state or from
another state to West Virginia during the tax year is required to file a tax return as a nonresident
or part-year resident.

Special Accruals

The taxpayer who changes from being a resident of West Virginia to being a nonresident or from
being a nonresident to being a resident of West Virginia is subject to special accrual rules
regardless of his or her method of accounting for federal income tax purposes. This means, for
example, that if a taxpayer sold property in West Virginia while still a resident and agreed to accept
payment for it on an installment basis, the taxpayer must include in federal adjusted gross income
for the year of the sale all future payments as though the taxpayer received the future payments
prior to taxpayer’'s change of residency. This special accrual rule does not apply if the taxpayer
files a bond or other security acceptable to the State Tax Commissioner to secure taxpayer’s filing
of West Virginia income tax returns as payments are received in subsequent tax years. A taxpayer
in this situation needs to follow the rules in W. Va. Code §11-21-44.

Filing Dates
For Individuals, Estates and Trusts

The annual income tax return is due by April 15 for taxpayers without an extension of time to file
the return. Taxpayers who have extensions of time to file their federal income tax returns have
automatic extensions of time to file the West Virginia returns. An extension to file a return is not
an extension of time to pay the tax shown to be due on the return when it is filed.

Estimated Tax Payments

Taxpayers whose West Virginia adjusted gross income other than wages are expected to exceed
$600 plus the amount allowed for the personal exemptions must file quarterly returns and pay
estimated tax. Taxpayers who fail to remit quarterly estimated tax payments may be subject to
penalties. The annual return of a farmer will be treated as his declaration of estimated tax if the
annual return is filed on or before March 1 of the succeeding year and the tax shown to be due
on the return is paid in full at the time of filing.

For Employers
An employer who is required to file a withholding return for 50 or more employees must file all

data by electronic media. Taxpayers who withhold less than $600 annually or who employ certain
domestic and/or household employees can file an annual return. The annual employer withholding
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tax return is due January 31 following the close of the calendar year. The annual return requires
reconciliation of employer withholding taxes remitted for the closed calendar year.

Disposition of Revenue

During Fiscal Year 2021, $2.25 billion (96.8 percent) from the Personal Income Tax was deposited
in the State General Revenue Fund. $30.0 million, or 1.3 percent, went to the West Virginia
Retiree Health Benefit Trust Fund to benefit Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB). The
remaining $45.0 million was transferred to the Refund Reserve Fund.

Comparison with Other States

The tax rates listed in this section are for Tax Year 2020 and for individuals. In some states, rate
schedules vary according to filing status. In addition to the State income tax, local income taxes
are imposed in Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

Comparison of State Tax Rates Tax Year 20207

Kentucky Flat rate of 5.0%

Rates range from 2% on the first $1,000 of taxable income to 5.75% on

incomes exceeding $250,000

Ohio Rates range from 2.850% of taxable income over $22,150 to 4.797% of
taxable income over $221,300

Pennsylvania Flat rate of 3.07%

Rates range from 2% on the first $3,000 of taxable income to 5.75% percent

on taxable income of $17,001 and above

Rates range from 3% on taxable income not over $10,000 to 6.5% of taxable

income in excess of $60,000

Maryland

Virginia
West Virginia

Tables and Charts

The following tables and charts provide a variety of statistical information from West Virginia
Personal Income Tax returns, including distribution of revenue, source of revenue and data
complied on individual tax returns.

7 Additional local income or wage taxes apply in Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. These
local taxes that are not reflected in this table.
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Income Tax Summary for Tax Year 2019 — Total Resident Returns

Single, Head of

Adjusted Gross Total Household, Joint, Married Filing  Federal Adjusted
Income Level Returns Other Separately Gross Income Exemptions Taxable Income State Revenue
Under $20,000 244,452 240,612 3,840 $1,795,784,086 320,961 $1,115,697,592 $35,684,648
20,000 t
$40 000 © 174,460 169,097 5,363 $5,088,694,709 309,896 $4,065,220,184 $148,687,929
$40,000 to
$60.000 107,429 103,514 3,915 $5,302,440,699 210,802 $4,565,116,326 $190,954,214
$60,000 to
$80.000 75,533 73,786 1,747 $5,244,775,698 170,230 $4,632,478,119 $218,692,723
$80,000 to
$100,000 55,145 54,388 757 $4,929,190,314 137,391 $4,428,455,579 $226,568,483
100,000 t
:120 000 © 36,610 36,219 391 $4,001,097,145 96,174 $3,647,901,718 $196,251,790
120,000 t
2140 000 © 22,768 22,587 181 $2,940,739,986 61,876 $2,716,077,270 $151,065,677
$140,000 to
$160.000 14,192 14,077 115 $2,117,746,124 39,001 $1,970,820,718 $112,216,635
$160,000 to
$180.000 8,879 8,817 62 $1,503,589,316 24,532 $1,407,138,742 $81,512,317
$180,000 to
5,747 5,699 48 $1,088,053,290 15,871 $1,023,751,950 $60,106,592
$200,000
Over $200,000 19,162 18,967 195 $7,689,790,654 52,569 $7,478,243,915 $463,810,898
Total 764,377 747,763 16,614 $41,701,902,021 1,439,303  $37,050,902,113 $1,885,551,906
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Comparison of 2018 and 2019 Personal Income Tax Returns — All Returns with Tax Liability

Adjusted Number of

Gross Income Returns Federal Adjusted Gross Income* Taxable Income* State Revenue
Level 2018 2019 2018 2019 2018 2019 2018 2019

Under $20,000 128,133 125,346 $1,825,658,070 $1,792,101,778 $1,224,241,448 $1,208,800,510 $37.652.094 $37,263,930
$20,000 to 181,099 184,037 $5,273,127,807 $5,370,162,042 $4,243,524,191 $4,342,629,440
$40,000 ’ ’ Ty T T o $149,522,544 $153,442,339
$40,000 to
$60.000 112,151 114,663 $5,544,058,777 $5,662,369,314 $4,794,368,912 $4,906,424,710 $191.526,404 $196.951,837
$60,000 to
$80.000 81,197 81,392 $5,644,727,374  $5,652,673,207 $5,004,528,054 $5,014,282,573 $223.964,529 $225.622.011
$80,000 to
$100.000 59,631 59,975 $5,332,367,769 $5,362,161,296 $4,808,818,339 $4,831,405,456 $231570.167 $233.926,606
$100,000 10 40,621 40,510 $4,437,652,627 $4,428,311,034 $4,057,533,300 $4,045,206,034
$120,000 ’ ’ U e e o $202,909,902 $203,314,327
$120,000 to
$140.000 25,410 25,694 $3,284,166,469 $3,319,550,332 $3,039,903,096 $3,070,729,709 $154.131,068 $157.313 484
$140,000 to 16,038 16,327 $2,393,148,045 $2,436,813,242 $2,230,762,331 $2,271,668,914
$160,000 ’ ’ U o e T $113,828,351 $117,208,945
DL o 10,585 10,591 $1,791,858,926  $1,793,695,652 $1,681,835,535 $1,682,275,113
$180,000 ’ ’ o R T T $84,916,959 $86,012,837
$180,000 t0 6,984 7,038 $1,322,850,219  $1,332,877,107 $1,248,030,409 $1,257,587,397
$200,000 ’ ’ e U o e $62,229,481 $63,747,777
Over $200,000 31,718 31,822 38,562,396,407 $42,085,974,863 $37,968,401,961  $41,764,864,058 $539 489,494 $540.736,895
Total 693,567 697,395 $75,412,012,490 $79,236,689,867 $70,301,947,576  $74,395,873,914 $1,991,740,993 $2,015,540,988

* Includes income of non-resident taxpayers from all sources and locations prior to apportionment to West Virginia.



Comparison of 2018 and 2019 Personal Income Tax Returns — Residents Only

Federal Adjusted Gross

Number of Returns with Tax Liability

WV Income Tax

Income Level 2018 2019 2018 2019
Under $20,000 118,688 116,261 $36,004,799 $35,684,648
$20,000 to $40,000 169,983 172,978  $144,755,921 $148,687,929
$40,000 to $60,000 103,913 107,011 $184,799,050  $190,954,214
$60,000 to $80,000 74,437 75,386  $215,716,979  $218,692,723
$80,000 to $100,000 54,149 55,085  $222,780,688  $226,568,483
$100,000 to $120,000 36,144 36,596  $193,702,103  $196,251,790
$120,000 to $140,000 21,966 22,765  $145,763,272  $151,065,677
$140,000 to $160,000 13,491 14,187  $106,539,051 $112,216,635
$160,000 to $180,000 8,587 8,878 $78,798,660 $81,512,317
$180,000 to $200,000 5,457 5,747 $57,057,940 $60,106,592
Over $200,000 18,900 19,161 $458,284,020  $463,810,898
Totals 625,715 634,055 $1,844,202,483 $1,885,551,906
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2019 Personal Income Tax Returns by County

Number Federal WYV Personal Number Federal WV Personal
of Adjusted Gross  Income Tax of Adjusted Gross Income Tax
Returns Income Liability Returns Income Liability
Barbour 6,013 $277,668,480 $11,807,481 Mineral 11,290 $581,176,610 $25,425,928
Berkeley 51,165  $2,871,994,576  $128,480,226 Mingo 6,511 $293,288,105 $12,173,859
Boone 7,155 $345,628,985 $14,441,360 Monongalia 37,784  $2,765,403,305  $139,372,896
Braxton 4,863 $231,682,109 $10,091,359 Monroe 5,067 $230,193,181 $9,485,211
Brooke 9,319 $502,554,969 $22,000,496 Morgan 7,271 $358,288,119 $15,153,855
Cabell 35,596  $1,995,869,141 $91,659,267 Nicholas 9,273 $427,394,758 $18,196,644
Calhoun 2,338 $110,613,297 $4,756,966 Ohio 19,374  $1,270,346,384 $60,440,815
Clay 2,842 $129,194,640 $5,338,989 Pendleton 2,990 $126,773,187 $5,181,537
Doddridge 2,304 $148,201,425 $7,023,446 Pleasants 2,900 $171,043,873 $7,749,431
Fayette 15,134 $672,144,830 $27,674,262 Pocahontas 3,688 $145,803,842 $5,958,955
Gilmer 2,168 $118,953,534 $5,414,070 Preston 13,143 $651,415,401 $27,960,187
Grant 5,083 $222,910,575 $9,527,817 Putnam 23,742  $1,554,754,649 $74,235,888
Greenbrier 13,892 $694,168,164 $30,541,203 Raleigh 28,294  $1,461,862,818 $67,206,113
Hampshire 9,013 $423,681,466 $18,032,867 Randolph 11,390 $543,610,611 $23,412,456
Hancock 13,157 $685,905,193 $30,202,627 Ritchie 4,050 $222,114,007 $9,921,581
Hardy 6,018 $252,756,459 $10,593,343 Roane 5,040 $226,436,825 $9,556,158
Harrison 29,196  $1,787,459,219 $83,771,218 Summers 3,981 $174,006,569 $6,927,405
Jackson 11,519 $585,360,218 $25,597,261 Taylor 6,847 $380,694,961 $16,912,725
Jefferson 23,431 $1,673,776,888 $80,504,217 Tucker 2,956 $139,411,381 $5,883,324
Kanawha 77,333  $4,572,885,683  $213,896,777 Tyler 3,639 $240,891,980 $11,508,164
Lewis 7,207 $378,453,634 $16,709,126 Upshur 9,566 $459,616,368 $19,882,299
Lincoln 6,423 $308,643,564 $13,109,605 Wayne 13,724 $673,776,048 $28,558,743
Logan 10,584 $519,324,239 $22,268,783 Webster 2,794 $158,806,322 $7,475,909
McDowell 25,061 $1,341,460,297 $59,407,605 Wetzel 6,074 $339,668,217 $15,207,499
Marion 11,951 $669,723,230 $30,096,066 Wirt 2,116 $98,833,216 $4,119,824
Marshall 9,738 $470,262,174 $20,010,463 Wood 35,540  $1,961,742,986 $88,284,409
Mason 4,711 $189,323,673 $7,394,640 Wyoming 6,251 284,259,544 11,377,354
Mercer 22,129  $1,003,144,394 $42,124,598 State Total 710,570 $39,134,847,624 $1,770,971,060
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Rank of Counties by Average Income as Reported on 2019 Personal Income Tax Returns

% of % of
State State

Average Average Rank Average Average Rank
Barbour $ 46,178 83.8% 42 Mineral $ 51,477 93.5% 24
Berkeley $ 56,132 101.9% 11 Mingo $ 45,045 81.8% 47
Boone $ 48,306 87.7% 31 Monongalia $ 73,190 132.9% 1
Braxton $ 47,642 86.5% 36 Monroe $ 45,430 82.5% 45
Brooke $ 53,928 97.9% 19 Morgan $ 49,276 89.5% 28
Cabell $ 56,070 101.8% 12 Nicholas $ 46,090 83.7% 43
Calhoun $ 47,311 85.9% 37 Ohio $ 65,570 119.1% 4
Clay $ 45,459 82.5% 44 Pendleton $ 42,399 77.0% 52
Doddridge $ 64,324 116.8% 6 Pleasants $ 58,981 107.1% 9
Fayette $ 44,413 80.6% 49 Pocahontas $ 40,637 73.8% 54
Gilmer $ 54,868 99.6% 17 Preston $ 49,564 90.0% 27
Grant $ 43,854 79.6% 50 Putnam $ 65,485 118.9% 5
Greenbrier $ 49,969 90.7% 26 Raleigh $ 51,667 93.8% 23
Hampshire $ 47,008 85.4% 39 Randolph $ 47,727 86.7% 35
Hancock $ 52,132 94.7% 22 Ritchie $ 54,843 99.6% 18
Hardy $ 42,000 76.3% 53 Roane $ 44,928 81.6% 48
Harrison $ 61,223 111.2% 7 Summers $ 43,709 79.4% 51
Jackson $ 50,817 92.3% 25 Taylor $ 55,600 101.0% 15
Jefferson $71,434  129.7% 2 Tucker $ 47,162 85.6% 38
Kanawha $59,132  107.4% 8 Tyler $66,197  120.2% 3
Lewis $ 52,512 95.3% 21 Upshur $ 48,047 87.2% 34
Lincoln $ 48,053 87.2% 33 Wayne $ 49,095 89.1% 29
Logan $ 49,067 89.1% 30 Webster $ 56,838 103.2% 10
McDowell $ 53,528 97.2% 20 Wetzel $ 55,922 101.5% 14
Marion $ 56,039 101.7% 13 Wirt $ 46,708 84.8% 41
Marshall $ 48,291 87.7% 32 Wood $ 55,198 100.2% 16
Mason $40,188 73.0% 55 Wyoming $ 46,753 84.9% 40
Mercer $ 45,332 82.3% 46 Average State Income $ 52,727
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SEVERANCE TAX

The West Virginia Severance Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 13A) was first enacted
during the 1985 Legislative Session as part of the reform of the business tax structure and went
into effect in 1987. The Severance Tax was enacted to apply to businesses that sever or extract
natural resources.

State Severance Tax Revenue (in millions)
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Workers' Timber All State
Fiscal General Infrastructure Compensation Severance Severance
Year Revenue Fund  Bond Fund Debt Fund?® Tax® Taxes
2017 $321.0 $22.1 $12.8 $1.4 $357.2
2018 $345.9 $19.4 $0.3 $1.6 $367.2
2019 $462.5 $20.5 ($0.0) $1.5 $484.5
2020 $267.1 $21.9 ($0.0) ($0.0) $289.0
2021 $274.3 $21.9 (%0.0) ($0.0) $296.2

Taxpayers

The Severance Tax is a gross receipts tax levied on businesses that sever, extract, and/or
produce natural resource products within West Virginia. The Severance Tax base includes the
processing and treatment of natural resource products as part of the production process.
However, a person subject to the Severance Tax who purchases raw natural resources and
processes them into commercially usable products only pays tax on the value added in the
processing and not on the total value of the product. The processing tax provision does not apply
to oil or natural gas. The tax under these natural resource categories is levied only on the value
of the product immediately after severance from the earth and before processing.

Tax Rates

The tax rates on natural resources are generally 5.0 percent of gross receipts. The following is a
list of natural resources and their respective tax rates:

8 A temporary additional Severance Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 13V) was enacted in
2005 to provide funding for the Workers’ Compensation Debt Fund. The additional tax was subsequently
repealed effective July 1, 2016.

9 The Severance Tax on timber was dedicated to the Division of Forestry Fund; this tax was repealed as
of July 1, 2019.
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Natural Resource? Tax Rate
Coal mined and produced, average underground seam thickness in excess o
. " 5.00%
of 45 inches
Coal mined and produced from new underground mines, average seam 2 00%
thickness of 37 inches to 45 inches* e
Coal mined and produced from new underground mines, average seam 1.00%
thickness less than 37 inches* e
Steam coal sold directly to electric power generators 3.00%
Waste coal 2.50%
Oil from wells producing more than 10 barrels per day or from horizontal o
: . 5.00%
wells targeting shale formations
Oil from wells producing between one-half barrel and 10 barrels per day, o
. . . . 2.50%
excluding horizontal wells targeting shale formations
Natural gas from wells producing more than 10 barrels per day or from 5.00%
horizontal wells targeting shale formations and coalbed methane e
Gas from wells producing between 5,000 and 60,000 cubic feet of gas per o
. : : . 2.50%
day, excluding horizontal wells targeting shale formations.
Blast furnace slag 5.00%
Other natural resource products 5.00%

* Tax rates on the severance of coal are inclusive of the 0.35 percent local coal severance tax rate.

Also, raw coal purchased and further processed into a commercially useable product is assessed

tax on the value added in the processing.

A minimum Severance Tax of 75 cents per ton of coal produced by a taxpayer for sale, profit or
commercial use applies to all coal except for thin-seam coal and waste coal.

Exemptions for Natural Gas Severance Tax

The gross receipts attributable to the following activities are excluded from the Severance Tax on

natural gas and oil:

1. free natural gas provided to the surface owner;

2. natural gas from any well which produced an average of less than 5,000 cubic feet of
natural gas per day during the calendar year immediately preceding the given tax year;
3. oil from an oil well which produced an average of less than one-half barrel of oil per

day during the calendar year immediately preceding the given tax year, and

4. for a maximum period of ten years, all natural gas or oil produced from any well which
has not produced marketable quantities of natural gas or oil for five consecutive years
immediately preceding the year in which a well is placed back into production and

thereafter produced marketable quantities of natural gas or oil. "

0 Reduced Severance Tax rates for “thin-seam” coal production apply only to new underground mines

(mines first opened on or after April 11, 1997) with average seam thickness of less than 45 inches.

" Effective July 1, 2013, this exemption is eliminated for horizontally drilled wells.
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Credits Against Tax Liability

An annual tax credit of $500 is provided for each business engaged in activities in this State that
are subject to the Severance Tax. The West Virginia Code provides for other tax credits that may
be applied against Severance Tax liability in some cases. These include the Manufacturing
Investment Tax Credit and the Coal-Loading Facilities Credit. Explanations of these credits may
be found in the Tax Credits section.

Additional Tax on the Severance, Extraction and Production of Coal

Section 11-13A-6 of the West Virginia code levies an additional tax on the severance, extraction
and production of coal for the benefit of local governments at the rate of $0.35 per $100. This
additional tax is collected for counties and municipalities by the West Virginia State Tax
Department. Therefore, the tax rate for the coal classification on the Severance Tax return in the
chart on the preceding page is the total of the State rate and the additional tax for the benefit of
local governments. The revenue from the additional severance tax is then distributed to local
governments quarterly. The amount to be distributed is calculated without application of any
credits against the Severance Tax that are otherwise authorized.

Revenue produced by the additional severance tax is divided into two funds: 75 percent goes into
the County Coal Revenue Fund and the remaining 25 percent goes into the All Counties and
Municipalities Revenue Fund. All counties and municipalities must create a coal severance tax
revenue fund that shall be the depository for money distributed to any county or municipality.
County Coal Revenue Fund

A share of the County Coal Revenue Fund is distributed quarterly by the State Treasurer to the
sheriff of each coal-producing county. Each coal-producing county receives as payment a fraction
of this fund that is the same fraction that the coal produced in that county is of the total amount of
coal produced in West Virginia. The amount of each quarterly payment is based on production
data for the previous quarter. In counties with population over 200,000, at least 75 percent of the
funds received from the County Coal Revenue Fund shall be apportioned to and expended within
the coal-producing area or areas of the county.

All Counties and Municipalities Revenue Fund

Money from this smaller fund is distributed proportionately based on population to every
municipality and county on a quarterly basis. Based on the population data from the most recent
decennial U.S. Census of Population, the State Treasurer divides the smaller fund into shares for
each of the fifty-five counties. Each county's share is then divided into two parts: rural and
municipal. The rural part is equal to the fraction of the county's population that lives in
unincorporated or rural areas, and this part is distributed to the sheriff of each county. The
municipal part is equal to the fraction of the county's population that lives in incorporated towns
or cities. The municipal part is further divided among the cities and towns based on their
population in relation to the total municipal population of the county. Payments from the municipal
portion are distributed to the treasurers of each incorporated city or town.
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Additional Dedication of the Severance Tax Attributable to Coal

Five percent of the State Severance Tax on coal is to be shared with producing counties.
Beginning FY2020 and thereafter, the minimum amount of this distribution will be at least the
amount distributed in FY2019. The maximum amount of Severance Tax attributable to the
severance of coal to be distributed to the coal-producing counties cannot exceed $20 million in
any fiscal year.

Dedication of Oil and Gas Severance Tax Revenue

Ten percent of Severance Tax revenue from the production of gas or oil in West Virginia is
dedicated for distribution to counties and municipalities annually. The dedicated Severance Tax
revenue is divided into two funds. Seventy-five percent goes into the Oil and Gas County Revenue
Fund, and the remaining 25 percent goes into the All Counties and Municipalities Oil and Gas
Revenue Fund. Distributions to any county or municipality are deposited into the general revenue
fund of the entity and may be expended for any purpose, except that no more than 25 percent of
the amount received may be spent for personal services. Also, in oil and gas-producing counties
with a population in excess of 200,000, 75 percent of the monies received from the Oil and Gas
County Revenue Fund must be spent in the oil and gas-producing areas of the county.

Oil and Gas County Revenue Fund

A share of the Oil and Gas County Revenue Fund is distributed annually by the State Treasurer
to each oil or gas-producing county. The amount allocated to each county is determined as
follows:

1. For gas, the total amount available for distribution derived from Severance Tax on gas is
divided by the total volume of cubic feet of gas extracted in West Virginia during the
preceding year. This quotient is multiplied by the number of cubic feet of gas taken from
the ground in each county during the preceding year.

2. For oil, the total amount available for distribution derived from Severance Tax on oil is
divided by the total number of barrels of oil extracted in West Virginia during the preceding
year. This quotient is multiplied by the number of barrels of oil taken from the ground in
each county during the preceding year.

All Counties and Municipalities Oil and Gas Revenue Fund

Money from this smaller fund is distributed proportionately based on population to every
municipality and county on an annual basis. Based on the population data from the most recent
decennial U.S. Census of Population, the State Treasurer divides the smaller fund into shares for
each of the 55 counties. Each county's share is then divided into two parts: rural and municipal.
The rural part is equal to the fraction of the county's population that lives in unincorporated or rural
areas, and this part is distributed to the sheriff of each county. The municipal part is equal to the
fraction of the county's population that lives in incorporated towns or cities. The municipal part is
further divided among the cities and towns based on their population in relation to the total
municipal population of the county. Payments from the municipal portion are distributed to the
treasurers of each incorporated city or town.
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Dedication of Coalbed Methane Severance Tax Revenue

The first $4 million of Severance Tax attributable to coalbed methane collected each fiscal year
is dedicated to counties and county economic development authorities. Subject to proportional
adjustments, 75 percent of the dedicated revenue is set aside for producing counties and
allocated based upon production levels while the remaining 25 percent is set aside for all other
counties and allocated in equal amounts. A proportional adjustment is required if the initial
allocation to a county with coalbed methane production is less than the allocation to a non-
producing county. The final county allocations for each fiscal year are distributed to county
commissions if the amount is $10,000 or less, while final allocations that are greater than $10,000
are distributed to county economic entities designated by the county commission of the county
receiving the funds.

Dedication of Waste Coal Severance Tax Revenue

Revenues collected from the annual privilege tax on waste coal are dedicated to the county
commissions of the counties from which the sources of waste coal are located. These proceeds
are collected in a special fund and distributed annually.

Disposition of Revenue

During Fiscal Year 2021, $274.3 million (92.6 percent) of the revenue from State Severance
Taxes was deposited in the State General Revenue Fund and $21.9 million (7.4 percent) went to
the Infrastructure Bond Fund.

Tables and Charts

The following Chart and tables provide a variety of statistical information on West Virginia
Severance Taxes.
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Distribution of Revenue
from Severance Taxes
FY 2021
(in Millions)

Infrastructure Bond
$21.90, 7%

General Revenue
$274.30, 93%

m Infrastructure Bond = General Revenue
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Distribution of the Additional Tax on the Severance, Extraction, and Production of Coal'?

Gross Yield
Fiscal Year (million dollars)
2008 $27.4
2009 35.6
2010 34.5
2011 37.7
2012 39.3
2013 32.5
2014 19.2
2015 26.9
2016 20.0
2017 16.9
2018 20.1
2019 21.5
2020 23.1
2021 13.0

Distribution of the Additional Dedication of Severance Tax Attributable to Coal

Gross Yield
Fiscal Year (million dollars)
2013 $2.2
2014 4.9
2015 7.6
2016 7.9
2017 8.8
2018 11.1
2019 12.0
2020 12.0
2021 12.0

12 For calendar quarters ending prior to July 1, 2013, the quarterly distributions were made in the first month
of the following quarter. Beginning after June 30, 2013, the quarterly distributions are made in the first
month of the second quarter. This change resulted in the only three distributions being made in FY2014.
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Distribution of Dedicated Oil and Gas Severance Tax"?

Gross Yield
Fiscal Year (million dollars)
2008 $7.2
2009 8.4
2010 6.0
2011 6.1
2012 7.3
2013 7.0
2014 0.0
2015 13.5
2016 15.9
2017 10.3
2018 9.7
2019 15.6
2020 17.6
2021 11.8

Distribution of Dedicated Coalbed Methane Severance Tax

Gross Yield
Fiscal Year (million dollars)

2009 $0.5
2010 1.3
2011 2.8%
2012 1.5
2013 1.4
2014 1.0
2015 1.4
2016 1.4
2017 0.4
2018 1.7
2019 1.1
2020 0.7
2021 0.6

'3 For calendar years ending prior to January 1, 2013, the annual distributions were made in June of the
following year. Beginning after December 31, 2013, the annual distributions are made in October of the
following year. This change resulted in the no distribution being made in FY2014.

4 A recording error inadvertently added the FY2010 collection total to the FY2011 collection total in
determining the amount of coalbed methane Severance Tax available for distribution to county
commissions and county economic development entities in October 2011.
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SOFT DRINKS TAX

The West Virginia Soft Drinks Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Article 19) went into effect in
1951. The Soft Drinks Tax is an excise tax levied upon the sale, use, handling or distribution of
bottled soft drinks, syrups and powder bases prepared for mixing soft drinks whether
manufactured within or outside West Virginia.

Soft Drinks Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $14,835,978
2018 $14,656,401
2019 $13,802,504
2020 $13,588,217
2021 $13,868,872

Taxpayers

The tax is imposed on any West Virginia manufacturer or producer of bottled soft drinks or soft
drink syrup for sale within this State. The tax also applies to distributors and wholesale or retail
dealers who are the original consignees of any bottled soft drink or soft drink syrup brought into
the State that was manufactured or produced outside of this State. In addition, the tax is imposed
on any out-of-state bottler who puts indicia on a product to be sold in West Virginia.

Tax Rates

The tax is paid through the purchase of tax stamps or tax crowns by manufacturers, distributors,
wholesale or retail dealers or any other person who is the original consignee of the soft drinks.
The rates of the tax are as follows:

1. On bottled soft drinks: 1 cent on each 16.9 fluid ounces or any fraction of that amount,
or 1 cent on each % liter or any fraction of that amount.

2. On soft drinks syrup (single strength): 80 cents on each gallon and, on each fractional
part of a gallon, the same fractional part of 80 cents, or 84 cents on each 4 liters and,
on any fractional part of 4 liters, the same fractional part of 84 cents, or 0.625 cents
per ounce.

3. On dry mixture used for making soft drinks: 1 cent on each ounce or any fraction of
that amount 1 cent on each 28.35 grams or any fraction of that amount.

The tax must be paid in advance when the stamps are bought. Stamp discounts from the face
value of the stamps are as follows:

1. On sales under $25, no discount,
2. On sales of at least $25 but less than $50, 5 percent, and
3. On sales of $50 or more, 10 percent.

When crowns are bought, payment of tax may be made either in advance or on credit bound by

the terms on appropriate surety bond. Both cash and credit buyers of tax crowns are granted a
discount of 12.5 percent from the face value of the crowns.
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Disposition of Revenue

All revenue from the Soft Drinks Tax is deposited into a special medical school fund and is used
for the construction, maintenance, and operation of a four-year school of medicine, dentistry, and
nursing of West Virginia University.

Comparison with Other States

In addition to West Virginia, only Arkansas, Virginia and Washington have a special excise tax on

soft drinks. Tennessee imposes a gross receipts tax on soft drinks and Alabama has special
licenses for soft drinks.
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TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX AND E-CIGARETTE EXCISE TAX

The West Virginia Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette Excise Tax (West Virginia Code,
Chapter 11, Article 17) was formerly known as the Cigarette Tax. It was renamed on April 13,
2001.

The Cigarette Tax Act was originally enacted by the 1947 Legislature. It imposed a tax of 0.5 cent
upon the sale of 10 cigarettes. The code was amended many times with rates being raised in
small increments and portions of the proceeds being dedicated to veterans’ bonds and the general
school fund. In 1966, the Legislature repealed dedication to the veterans’ bonds. In 1978, the
Legislature repealed dedication of the tax to the school fund.

In 1978 the Cigarette Tax rate was raised to 17 cents per package of 20 cigarettes. The rate did
not increase again until the 2003 Legislative Session when it was raised to 55 cents per package
of 20 cigarettes.

In 2001, the Cigarette Tax Act was amended to include all tobacco products, not just cigarettes,
and renamed the Tobacco Products Excise Tax. Other tobacco products are snuff, chewing
tobacco, and tobacco products meant to be consumed by means other than smoking. Other
products also include pipe tobacco and cigars. These products were taxed at a rate of 7.0 percent
of the wholesale price.

Effective July 1, 2016, the tax on cigarettes increased to $1.20 per pack of 20 cigarettes and the
tax on other tobacco products increased to 12 percent of wholesale price. Additionally, an excise
tax was imposed on the sale of e-cigarette liquids at the rate of 7.5 cents per milliliter or fraction
thereof. This tax is also imposed on e-cigarette mixing kits and mixing kit components based on
the volume of e-cigarette liquids that can be produced by or from the kit or components.

Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette Excise Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $194,646,682
2018 $177,839,164
2019 $171,223,757
2020 $168,749,566
2021 $171,186,918

Taxpayers

The Tobacco Products Tax is paid by the purchase of stamps or impressions, which must be
affixed to the cigarette package. The stamps or impressions are purchased by the wholesaler.
The tax on other tobacco products and on e-cigarette liquids and mixing Kits is paid by the
wholesaler, sub-jobber, or vending machine operator.

Tax Base
The Tobacco Products Tax is imposed on every wholesaler, sub jobber, sub jobber dealer, retail
dealer and vending machine operator by the purchase of stamps to be affixed to or impressed

upon each package of cigarettes to be sold. Stamps or meter impressions are purchased from
the State Tax Commissioner and are evidence of payment of the tax.
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Other tobacco products are taxed at the wholesale price. Products to be taxed include cigars,
snuff, chewing tobacco, and other non-cigarette tobacco products. The wholesale price is the
gross invoice price, including all federal excise taxes, at which the tobacco products are sold to
distributors or wholesalers and excludes all trade discounts and other reductions in the
manufacturer's price.

The excise tax imposed on sales of e-cigarette liquids and mixing kits is 7.5 cents per milliliter or
faction thereof sold or that can be produced by or from the mixing kit.

Tax Rates

The tax rate on cigarettes is $1.20 on each pack of twenty cigarettes. Tobacco products other
than cigarettes are taxed at the rate of 12.0 percent of the wholesale price. E-cigarette liquids are
taxed at the rate of 7.5 cents per milliliter.

Discounts

Discounts are allowed on all tax due on cigarettes for affixing stamps and collecting and paying
the tax as required by law. Wholesalers of other tobacco products are also allowed a discount for
collecting and remitting the tax.

Disposition of Revenue

All revenue from the Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette Excise Tax is to be deposited into
the General Revenue Fund and appropriated by the Legislature.
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Comparison with Other States
The tax rates listed in this section are for as of January 1, 2021.
Comparison of Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products Tax Rates

Cigarette Tax

State (per pack of 20)

Other Tobacco Products Tax

Kentucky $1.10 15% of wholesale price
53% of wholesale price for
tobacco/snuff, 70% of wholesale price
g/loagland as of March 14, $3.75 for Cigars 30% of wholesale price for
pipe tobacco and 15% of wholesale
price for premium cigars
Ohio $1.60 17% of wholesale price, 37% of little
cigars
Pennsylvania $2.60 $0.55 per ounce
20% of manufacturer’s price; 10% of
manufacturer’s price on roll-your-own
tobacco; 36 cents per ounce for moist
snuff; 42¢ for each unit less than 4
ounces, 80¢ for each unit that is at least
4 ounces but not more than 8 ounces,
$1.40 for each unit more than 8 ounces
but not more than 24 ounces, Units that
exceed 24 ounces are taxed at 42¢ per
unit plus 42¢ for each 4-ounce
increment that exceeds 16 ounces

Virginia'® $0.60

West Virginia $1.20 12% of wholesale price

Comparison of E-Cigarettes Tax Rates

E-Cigarette Excise
State Taxes
Cents Per Milliliter

E-Cigarette Excise Taxes
% Of Wholesale Price

Kentucky 150.00 15.00%
Maryland as of March 14, 2021 12.00%
Ohio 10.00
Pennsylvania 40.00%
Virginia 6.60
West Virginia 7.50

15 Additional local taxes on cigarettes apply in Virginia.
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Tables and Charts

The following tables and charts show the break-out of Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette
Excise Tax revenue between cigarettes, other tobacco products, and e-cigarette liquids. Total
revenues for Fiscal Year 2017 are the first that include collections for the excise tax on e-cigarette
liquids.

Estimated Tobacco Products Tax and E-Cigarette Excise Tax Revenues Type

Other Tobacco E-Cigarette
Fiscal Year Cigarettes Products Liquids Total
2002 $32,219,157 $2,217,252 $0  $34,436,409
2003 $45,062,379 $4,627,101 $0  $49,689,480
2004 $102,876,773 $4,731,793 $0 $107,608,566
2005 $98,065,896 $4,758,872 $0 $102,824,768
2006 $107,118,357 $4,909,270 $0 $112,027,627
2007 $106,570,122 $4,822,604 $0 $111,392,726
2008 $109,152,254 $5,516,525 $0 $114,668,779
2009 $108,903,702 $6,190,897 $0 $115,094,599
2010 $110,640,447 $3,487,899 $0 $114,128,346
2011 $104,305,498 $6,454,946 $0 $110,760,444
2012 $102,650,985 $6,958,480 $0 $109,609,465
2013 $99,882,020 $7,139,638 $0 $107,021,658
2014 $94,618,301 $7,161,465 $0 $101,779,766
2015 $95,100,934 $7,062,272 $0 $102,163,206
2016 $92,551,777 $7,722,099 $0 $100,273,876
2017 $179,754,356 $13,787,085 $1,105,240 $194,646,681
2018 $161,863,740 $14,528,200 $1,447,224 $177,839,164
2019 $154,876,145 $14,574,553 $1,773,0569 $171,223,757
2020 $152,594,679 $14,470,499 $1,684,388 $168,749,566
2021 $155,159,427 $14,046,181 $1,981,310 $171,186,918
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PART IV
OTHER RESPONSIBILITIES ADMINISTERED BY THE
STATE TAX COMMISSIONER

83



CEMETERY REGISTRATION ACT

The Cemetery Registration Act (West Virginia Code, Chapter 35, Article 5B) went into effect on
June 1, 1993. After that date, cemetery companies in West Virginia are required to register with
the State Tax Commissioner.

Taxpayers

Cemetery companies are required to register with the West Virginia State Tax Department and
establish trust accounts for a portion of the proceeds from certain sales. Cemetery companies
required to register are persons, partnerships, firms or corporations operating a cemetery or
selling property, goods or services used in connection with interring or disposing of the remains
or commemorating the memory of a deceased human being under certain conditions. These
companies must only register if the delivery of the property or goods sold or the performance of
the services may take place more than 120 days after the receipt of the initial payment on the
account. The property, goods or services include but are not limited to burial vaults, mausoleum
crypts, lawn crypts, memorials, marker bases and opening and closing and/or interment services.
This does not include graves or incidental additions, such as dates or scrolls, representing not
more than 10 percent of the total contract price.

Fee

The registration fee set by regulation is $200. An additional $100 annual filing fee is due when a
cemetery company reports a change in ownership or a change in the name of the compliance
agent designated by the cemetery company.

Exemptions

Certain companies are exempt from the requirement to register and establish trust accounts. They
are as follows:

1. cemeteries owned and operated by a county, municipal corporation, church or a non-
stock corporation not operated for profit if the cemetery company
a. does not compensate any officer or director, except for reimbursement of
reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of official duties;
b. does not sell or construct or directly or indirectly contract for the sale or
construction of vaults or lawn or mausoleum crypts, and
c. uses proceeds from the sale of all graves and entombment rights for the sole
purpose of defraying the direct expenses of managing the cemetery;
2. community cemeteries not operated for profit if the cemetery
a. does not compensate any officer, owner or director except for reimbursement of
reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of official duties, and
b. uses proceeds from the sale of all graves and entombment rights for the sole
purpose of defraying the direct expenses of managing the cemetery, and
3. family cemeteries in which lots or spaces are not offered for public sale.
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Trust Fund Requirements

Every cemetery company or seller of pre-need goods or services used in the interring or disposing
of the remains or commemorating the memory of a deceased human being shall deposit in an
interest-bearing trust fund 40 percent of the receipts from the sale of property, goods or services
purchased pursuant to a pre-need cemetery company contract. This includes sales of opening
and closing or interment services when the delivery will be delayed more than 120 days from the
initial payment of the contract.

Deposits must be made within thirty days after the close of the month in which the receipts are
paid. If payment is made on an installment or deferred payment plan, the cemetery company or
seller may deposit 40 percent of the payments as they are made. If the proceeds from the sale
are financed through a lending institution, it is considered a cash sale. All funds deposited in the
trust account must be identified in the records of the seller by the contract number and by the
name of the buyer.

Within four months of the end of the cemetery company's fiscal year, the company must file an
annual report with State Tax Commissioner. In addition, the cemetery company must employ an
independent certified public accountant to audit the account and provide assurance that 40
percent of the cash receipts from pre-need contracts was deposited in the account within thirty
days after the close of each month. Such assurance must be sent with the report to the State Tax
Commissioner.

85



CHARITABLE BINGO AND RAFFLE LICENSES

West Virginia allows bingo and raffle occasions to be held by charitable organizations. A
charitable organization is defined as a tax-exempt, nonprofit, benevolent, educational,
philanthropic, humane, patriotic, civic, religious or fraternal organization or a volunteer fire
department, rescue unit or other such volunteer service organizations. It does not include any
nonprofit organizations organized mainly to influence legislation or support a public office
candidate. An organization is tax exempt if it has 501(c) status with the Internal Revenue Service.

Charitable Bingo License (West Virginia Code §47-20)
Taxpayers

Bingo licenses can be issued to charitable organizations that have been in existence in West
Virginia for two years. The West Virginia State Fair Board may also apply for a bingo license and
conduct bingo occasions at the State Fair.

Fees
License fees are as follows:

e Annual License: $500

e Annual License (bingo occasions grossing less than $20,000 annually): $200
¢ Annual License (bona fide senior citizen organizations): $50

e Limited Occasion License: $100

e State Fair License: $500

e Super Bingo License: $5,000

An annual bingo occasion license is valid for one year and entitles the licensee to hold no more
than two bingo occasions per week. No bingo occasion held pursuant to an annual license may
exceed six hours in duration.

A limited occasion license is valid only for the time period specified in the application and entitles
the licensee to hold a bingo occasion once every twenty-four hours for a time period not to exceed
two weeks. No bingo occasion held pursuant to a limited occasion license may exceed twelve
hours in duration. Only three limited occasion licenses per year in the aggregate may be granted
to an applicant not holding an annual license. No licensee which holds an annual license may
obtain more than one limited license.

Any charitable or public service organization, including those organizations already holding a
regular or limited occasion license, may apply for an annual Super Bingo license. A Super Bingo
licensee may hold one Super Bingo occasion every month during the license year. No more than
$50,000 in prizes may be awarded to persons playing Super Bingo during each Super Bingo
occasion.

Exemption
All organizations intending to conduct bingo occasions must complete an application. However, if

the charge per card is 5 cents or less and the prizes per game do not exceed $10, the organization
is exempt from obtaining a license.
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Rules

No bingo occasions may be held until sixty days after an application for a bingo license has been
filed and approved by the State Tax Commissioner. All bingo occasions must be open to the
public. No individual under the age of eighteen may play in any bingo game. Except for junior
volunteer firefighters who are sixteen years of age or older and under the supervision of a senior
member of the same volunteer fire department, no individual under the age of eighteen may
participate in the operation of any bingo game. Licensees may receive and cash personal checks
in an amount not to exceed $100 per person during the normal operation of a bingo game.

Gross proceeds mean all moneys collected or received from the conduct of bingo at all bingo
occasions held by the licensee during a license period. No gross proceeds from any bingo
operation may be devoted or in any manner used by any licensee or qualified recipient
organization for the construction or acquisition of real or personal property except that which is
used exclusively for one or more charitable or public service purposes or used as equipment or
supplies necessary to conduct bingo occasions.

Prizes may be merchandise or money but may not be any type of alcoholic beverage. The value
of prizes awarded at a single bingo occasion (excluding Super Bingo) shall not exceed an average
of $10,000 for all bingo occasions held under the license. The value assigned to merchandise
awarded as prizes is the fair market value at the time of purchase or acquisition.

The reasonable, necessary, and actual expenses incurred in connection with the conduct of bingo
occasions, not to exceed 25 percent of the gross proceeds collected during a license period, may
be paid from the gross proceeds of the conduct of bingo. Net proceeds are all moneys left after
deducting prize payouts and allowable expenses from gross proceeds. All net proceeds from the
bingo operation must be distributed either to a qualified recipient organization or to support a
charitable or public service activity or endeavor that the licensee sponsors.

Effective April 10, 2021, the definition of bingo was changed to include the use of virtual cards.
In addition, bingo may be operated and played virtually over the internet using an online bingo
software system or web application.

Charitable Raffle License (West Virginia Code §47-21)

Taxpayers

Charitable raffle licenses can be issued to qualified charitable or public service organizations,
including the State Fair Board, that have been in existence in West Virginia for two years.

Fees
License fees are as follows:

e Annual License: $500
e Limited License: $50
e State Fair License: $500

An annual license is valid for one year from the date of issuance. A limited occasion license is
valid only for the time specified in the application and entitles the licensee to hold two raffle
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occasions during the specified time period which may not exceed six months from the date of
issuance of such limited occasion license. An applicant may be granted only three limited
occasion licenses per year in the aggregate.

Exemption

If the gross proceeds of the organization from raffles for a calendar year do not exceed $15,000
and the value of any one prize does not exceed $4,000, the organization is exempt from obtaining
a license but is still required to maintain applicable records for three years.

Rules

All licensees may receive and cash personal checks in an amount not to exceed $100 per person
during the normal operation of a raffle game. Charitable raffle occasions may be open to the
general public or may be restricted to members of the licensee organizations.

Gross proceeds means all moneys collected or received from the conduct of raffles at all raffle
occasions held by the licensee during a license period. No gross proceeds from any raffle
operation may be devoted or in any manner used by any licensee or qualified recipient
organization for the construction or acquisition of real or personal property except that which is
used exclusively for one or more charitable or public service purposes or used as equipment or
supplies necessary to conduct raffle occasions.

Prizes may be merchandise or money but may not be any type of alcoholic beverage. The value
assigned to merchandise awarded as prizes is the fair market value at the time of purchase or
acquisition. There is no value limitation on charitable raffle prizes.

The reasonable, necessary and actual expenses incurred in connection with the conduct of raffle
occasions, not to exceed 25 percent of the gross proceeds collected during a license period, may
be paid from the gross proceeds of the conduct of raffles. Net proceeds are all moneys left after
deducting prize payouts and allowable expenses from gross proceeds. All net proceeds from the
raffle operation must be distributed either to a qualified recipient organization or to support a
charitable or public service activity or endeavor that the licensee sponsors.

All raffle boards and games must be purchased from a licensed wholesaler, distributor, or
manufacturer. All raffle boards and games sold in West Virginia must have some identification as
to the manufacturer of the product and a unique serial number printed on each ticket. In addition,
the seller is required to provide an original invoice to the purchaser showing the serial numbers
of all games purchased and that the "retail value" fee has been paid on those games. Any games
in the possession of the purchaser for which the State Tax Commissioner cannot verify through
the original invoice that the tax has been paid, will be considered contraband and may be seized
and destroyed by the State Tax Commissioner.

Effective April 10, 2021, the definition of raffle was changed to include the use of virtual tickets
and to add that the definition should not be interpreted to prevent the use of an online software
system, web application, method, or process for the purpose of conducting online raffles over the
internet.
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Raffle Board Wholesalers and Distributors Fees (West Virginia Code §47-23)
Taxpayers

Wholesalers, distributors and manufacturers of raffle boards and games must pay an annual
license fee.

Fees

Wholesalers, distributors, and manufacturers must pay an annual license fee of $500. The sale
of raffle boards and games to West Virginia retailers is subject to a "retail value" fee of 20 percent.
This "retail value" fee is in addition to any Consumers Sales Tax due. However, if a charitable or
public service organization qualifies to conduct exempt raffle occasions under West Virginia Code
§47-21-3, it is exempt from paying the "retail value" fee on its purchases of raffle boards and
games.

All raffle boards and games sold in West Virginia are required to have identification as to the
manufacturer of the product and a unique game serial number printed on each ticket. The seller
of the games is required to provide an original invoice to the purchaser showing that the fee has
been paid on the games.

Any charitable raffle boards and games subject to the "retail value" fee imposed by the Code and
upon which the fee has not been paid are deemed to be contraband and may be seized without
a warrant by the State Tax Commissioner, or any of his deputies or employees authorized by him,
or any peace officer of this state and destroyed. Persons found in possession of contraband
games may also be subject to fines or imprisonment.
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COAL MINE RECLAMATION TAX
The West Virginia Surface Coal Mining and Reclamation Act (W.Va. Code §22-3-11) was
enacted by the 2009 Regular Session of the Legislature on April 10, 2009 and became effective
on July 1,2009. The Act imposes a special reclamation tax.

Taxpayers

The Coal Mining Reclamation Tax is imposed on all clean tons of coal mined in West Virginia.

Tax Rates

The current fee is 27.9 cents per clean ton mined.

Disposition of Revenue
Revenues attributable to 15 cents out of the total 27.9 cents are deposited into the Special
Reclamation Water Trust Fund, and the remainder is deposited in the Special Reclamation Fund.

These funds are utilized by the Department of Environmental Protection to pay for expenses
associated with reclamation of post 1977 coal mines in the State,

SPECIAL TWO-CENT TAX
The Special Two-Cent Tax (W.Va. Code §22-3-32) became effective after September 30, 1991.

Taxpayers

The special tax applies to all producers of coal in this state. For purposes of this tax, producers
of coal are persons who own the coal immediately after its severance from the ground. The
measure of this tax is "tons of clean coal" sold during the reporting period produced by the seller
of the coal. The person who produces and sells unprocessed coal must convert raw tonnage sold
to "tons of clean coal" and pay tax on the lower number. Persons who process coal they produce,
and coal produced by another producer must keep records to prove the accuracy of their tax
returns.

Tax Rates

The rate is 2 cents per ton of clean coal.

Disposition of Revenue

The tax proceeds are deposited into the special reclamation fund for use in mine reclamation
projects.
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COLLECTION AGENCY ACT

The West Virginia Collection Agency Act (West Virginia Code, Chapter, 47) was passed in 1973
by the West Virginia Legislature. The Act provides for the regulation and bonding of persons who
engage directly or indirectly in the business of operating a collection agency in West Virginia.

Taxpayers

The Collection Agency Act is very broad and inclusive in its definition of the business of operating
a collection agency. “Collection agency” means and includes all persons, firms, corporations and
associations

1.

that are directly or indirectly engaged in the business of soliciting from or collecting
for others any account, bill or indebtedness originally due or asserted to be owed or
due another and all persons, firms, corporations and associations directly or
indirectly engaged in asserting, enforcing or prosecuting those claims;

that uses fictitious names or names other than their own names when attempting to
collect or when collecting his or her own accounts; that attempts to or does give
away or sell to others any system or series of letters or forms for use in the collection
of accounts or claims which assert or indicate directly or indirectly that the claims or
accounts are being asserted or collected by any person, firm, corporation or
association other than the creditor or owner of the claim or account, or

that are directly or indirectly engaged in the business of soliciting, or who holds himself
or herself out as engaged in the business of soliciting, debts of any kind owed or due,
or asserted to be owed or due, to any solicited person, firm, corporation or association
for fee, commission, or other compensation.

Specific persons not considered collection agencies are as follows:

©OoN>O kN =

10.
11.

12.

13.

regular employees of a single creditor or a collection agency licensed under the Act,

banks,

trust companies,

savings and loan associations,

building and loan associations,

industrial loan companies,

small loan companies,

abstract companies doing escrow business,

properly licensed real estate brokers or agents when claims and/or accounts they

handle are related to or are part of their regular real estate businesses,

express and telegraph companies subject to public regulation,

attorneys-at-law when they handle claims and/or collections in their own names as

attorneys,

any individual or organization which acts under the order of any court of competent

jurisdiction, and

any person collecting a debt owed to another person only where:

a. both persons are related by wholly owned, common ownership or affiliated by
wholly-owned corporation control,
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b. the person collecting the debt acts only on behalf of persons related as described
in (a), and
c. debt collection is not the principal business of the person collecting the debt.

Out-of-state collection agencies without an office in West Virginia and whose only contact with
residents of this State is by letter or telephone call are required to designate a resident agent
upon whom notice of orders may be served. The West Virginia Secretary of State may be
designated as the resident agent for service of process pursuant to W. Va. Code §56-3-33.

Bonds
Individuals and organizations that are not exempt and which conduct the business of a collection
agency in West Virginia must file separate approved surety bonds of $5,000 with the State Tax

Commissioner. A separate bond must be filed for the principal office and each branch office.
These bonds must be renewed annually during the operation of the agency.
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CONSUMER CREDIT AND PROTECTION ACT

The West Virginia Consumers Credit and Protection Act (West Virginia Code, Chapter, 46A) was
passed on March 5, 1974, by the West Virginia Legislature and became effective on June 9, 1974.
The Act requires every person who is in the business of making consumer credit sales or
consumer loans in West Virginia to file notification with the State Tax Department.

Taxpayers

Persons who are in the business of making consumer credit sales or consumer loans in West
Virginia or who maintain a place of business in this State and take assignment of debts that arise
from such sales and then undertake direct collection of payments or enforcement of rights against
the debtor are required to register.

Registration

Initial registration must be made within thirty days of the start of business in West Virginia;
subsequent annual notification must be made before January 31 of each year in which business
is conducted. The following conditions must be satisfied to meet the provisions of the Consumer
Protection Act:

1. credit must be granted either by a seller who regularly engages as a seller in
credit transactions of the same kind or by a seller under provisions of a seller
credit card;

2. the buyer must be an individual or individuals and not an organization;

3. the real property, personal property or services must be purchased primarily
for personal, family, household or agricultural purposes;

4. either the debt must be payable in installments or finance charges must be
made, and

5. either the principal amount must not exceed $25,000 or the debt must be secured
By an interest in land.

Government agencies and national banks are subject to the provisions of this Act as are providers
of professional services who include finance charges in their payment schedules.
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MEDICAL CANNABIS ACT

The West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act (West Virginia Code, Chapter 16A) provides for the legal
consumption of cannabis to be used for certified medical use by a West Virginia resident with a
serious medical condition and is limited by law to the following forms: pill; oil; topical forms
including gels, creams or ointments; a form medically appropriate for administration by
vaporization or nebulization, excluding dry leaf or plant form unless dry leaf or plant forms become
acceptable under rules adopted by the Bureau for Public Health, West Virginia Department of
Health and Human Resources; tincture; liquid; or dermal patch.

Taxpayers

Every applicant that wants to participate in the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Program as a
grower, processor, and dispensary must first obtain the necessary permits through an application
process established by the Bureau of Public Health. The following application and permit fees
apply for each applicant:

Permit/Application Fee
Grower or Processor Application $5,000
Initial Grower or Processor Permit $50,000
Renewal Grower or Processor Permit $5,000
Dispensary Permit $2,500
Renewal Dispensary Permit $2,500

Tax Rates

Dispensaries are subject to a privilege tax equal to 10 percent of the gross receipts from the sale
of medical cannabis to patient or caregiver. It should also be noted that the State of West Virginia
reserves the right to regulate the price of medical cannabis if it is deemed the prices are
unreasonable or excessive (West Virginia Code §16A-7-5).

Comparison with Other States
The following chart shows information on medical cannabis in the surrounding states.
Comparison of State Tax Rates

Kentucky Sales not legal

Sales not legal (in legislation as of March 2021) they do have a
Compassionate Use Fund for enrolled individuals for medical cannabis

Ohio 5.75% of Sales from Dispensary to Customer (municipalities tax can raise it to 8%)
Pennsylvania 5% on gross receipts from grower to dispensary

adult-use stores, to open in 2024, will collect a 21% cannabis excise tax in addition to
statewide 5.3% sales tax. An extra 3% tax may be added by local municipality

West Virginia 10% on Sales from Dispensary to Customer

Maryland

Virginia
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SOLID WASTE ASSESSMENT FEES

Several Solid Waste Assessment Fees are levied and imposed on the disposal of solid waste at
any solid waste disposal facility in West Virginia. The Solid Waste Assessment Fees are imposed
in addition to all other fees levied. The fees are to be added to, and constitute part of, any fee
charged by the operator or owner of a solid waste disposal facility for receiving and disposing of
solid waste.

Solid Waste Fee Clearing Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $16,031,160
2018 $15,101,386
2019 $15,109,411
2020 $18,435,514
2021 $13,215,510

Fees

The following table shows the Solid Waste Assessment Fees by West Virginia Code Section
beginning on July 1, 2021:

Fee West Virginia Code Fee Per Ton
Solid Waste Assessment Fee §22-15-11(a) $1.75
Solid Waste Assessment Interim Fee §22C-4-30(a) $1.00
Recycling Assessment Fee §22-15A-19(a) $2.00
Solid Waste Assessment Fee—Landfill Closure §22-16-4(a) $3.30
Horizontal Drilling Waste Assessment Fee §22-15-11(a) $1.00

By statute, waste disposed of by commercial recyclers is only subject to the $2.00 per ton
Recycling Assessment Fee levied via W. Va. Code §22-15A-19. The term "commercial recyclers"
refers to any person, corporation, or business entity whose operation involves mechanical
separation of materials for the purpose of reselling or recycling at least 70 percent by weight of
the materials coming into the commercial recycling facility.

Effective July 1, 2021, an additional Solid Waste Assessment Fee shall be levied on the disposal
of solid waste at any solid waste landfill disposal facility in West Virginia. The fee shall be 20 cents
per ton beginning on July 1, 2021; 40 cents per ton beginning on July 1, 2022; 60 cents per ton
beginning on July 1, 2023; 80 cents per ton beginning on July 1, 2024, and $1.00 per ton
beginning on July 1, 2025. Twenty-five percent of the additional fee shall be distributed equally to
each county or reginal solid waste authority, and 75 percent shall be distributed on a per capita
bases to each county or reginal solid waste authority based on the most recent population
projections from the United States Census Bureau. Also, effective July 1, 2021, the rates for the
State Solid Waste Assessment Fee will be reduced. The fee shall be $3.30 per ton beginning on
July 1, 2021; $3.10 per ton beginning on July 1, 2022; $2.90 per ton beginning on July 1, 2023;
$2.70 per ton beginning on July 1, 2024, and $2.50 per ton beginning on July 1, 2025.
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The Horizontal Drilling Waste Assessment Fee is levied upon the disposal of drill cuttings and
drilling waste generated by horizontal well sites.

Exemptions
The following types of waste collected at solid waste disposal facilities are exempt:
1. waste disposed by owner, operator, or renter of waste disposal facility,
2. reused or recycled waste, and
3. residential waste disposed by individuals on specific days designated by the Director
of the Division of Environmental Protection.
Solid waste disposed of at a recycling facility is exempt from all solid waste disposal assessment

fees. A "recycling facility" is a facility that only accepts, buys or transfers source-separated
material or recycled material for use, resale or transfer for further processing
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PART V
PROPERTY TAXES
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PROPERTY TAX

The West Virginia Property Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11, Articles 1C through 8, Chapter
11A, and Chapter 18, Article 9A) was first enacted in 1863. The Property Tax is administered by
county officials and officials of several State government agencies. Although the West Virginia
State Tax Department plays a major role in the administration of this tax, less than 0.5 percent of
the Property Tax collected goes to State government. The primary beneficiaries of the Property
Tax are county boards of education.

Property Tax General Revenue Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $7,248,153
2018 $7,325,437
2019 $7,038,597
2020 $7,392,105
2021 $8,121,252

Taxpayers

It is the responsibility of each property owner to pay property taxes. Property taxes are paid to the
sheriff of each of the fifty-five counties. Each county and municipality can impose its own rates of
property taxation within the limits set by the West Virginia Constitution. The West Virginia
Legislature sets the current regular school levy rate of tax used by all county boards of education
Statewide. However, the total tax rate for county boards of education may differ from county to
county due to excess levies, bond levies or public improvement levies.

Tax Base

Property can be divided into two categories: real and personal. Although there are many practical
and legal distinctions involved, real property is, in general, land and anything permanently
attached to land, and personal property is, in general, all other objects or rights that can be owned.
Personal property can also be categorized as tangible and intangible. Generally, intangible
property consists of rights to, or claims against, other property or services. West Virginia law
defines the following classes of property for tax purposes:

1. Class | Property:
a. All tangible personal property used exclusively in agriculture, including horticulture
and grazing.
b. All products of agriculture, including livestock, while owned by the producer.
c. All notes, bonds, bills, and accounts receivable, stocks, and any other intangible
personal property.
2. Class Il Property:
a. All property owned, used, and occupied by the owner exclusively for residential
purposes.
b. All farms, including land used for horticulture and grazing, which are occupied and
cultivated by their owners or bona fide tenants.
3. Class lll Property: All real and personal property situated outside of municipalities,
exclusive of Classes | and Il.
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4. Class IV Property: All real and personal property situated inside of municipalities,
exclusive of Classes | and Il.

Although the West Virginia Constitution defines Class | property, all the property that falls in this
class is exempt from Property Tax. Beginning with Tax Year 2003, all intangible personal property
was exempted from taxation. Personal property used on a farm or farming operation was
exempted by the Legislature beginning in Tax Year 2008. The significance of the classes of
property is that the applicable levy rates vary by class.

Property Values

Property is assessed according to its use, location and value as of July 1 of each year. The
amount of tax paid on property depends upon the following:

1. the assessed value of the property as determined by a county assessor, and
2. the rate of tax levied against each $100 of assessed valuation.

The assessed value of property must be 60 percent of the property's true and actual value. In
most cases, that value is defined as the amount of money the property would be worth in a sale
between a willing buyer and a willing seller.

In order to have property in West Virginia fairly and equally valued, all real property is to be visited
once every three years, and annual adjustments are to be made to the assessments for those
properties for which a change in value is determined. All property, except farms and managed
timberland property, is to be assessed annually at 60 percent of its current fair market value.

Farmland that is used, occupied and cultivated by the owner or a bona fide tenant is to be valued
at the fair and reasonable value of such property for farmland use, regardless of what the value
of the property would be if it was used for another purpose.

Managed timberland is to be valued based on the use and productive potential of such timberland.
Managed timberland is defined to be any surface real property of not less than ten contiguous
acres that is devoted primarily to forest use and which, in consideration of its size, has sufficient
numbers of commercially valuable species of trees that are well distributed over the growing site
and that is managed pursuant to a plan provided in W. Va. Code §11-1C-10. In order for property
to qualify as managed timberland, the owner must annually certify in writing to the Division of
Forestry that the property meets the definition of managed timberland and is managed according
to the plan provided for in W. Va. Code §11-1C-10. Timberland that does not qualify as managed
timberland is to be valued at its market value.

Each assessor is required to maintain current values on the real and personal property within the
county by having a member of his staff visit each parcel of real property in repeating three-year
cycles to determine if any changes have occurred in the value of the property. The assessor must
make any adjustments that are necessary to maintain accurate current valuations of all real and
personal property.

The State Tax Commissioner is required to determine the fair market value of all industrial
property and all natural resource property in the State. The State Tax Commissioner values these
properties according to rules approved by the West Virginia Legislature and special methods
given in W. Va. Code §§11-6A, 11-6E and 116K.
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The State Tax Commissioner also is responsible for determining the tentative assessed values of
public utility property that is considered operating property of a public utility. Only real and
personal property that is an integral part of the public utility's function as a utility is to be included
as operating property. Final assessed values are determined by the Board of Public Works. Cell
towers constructed on or after July 1, 2019, are also valued by the Board, even when the cell
tower is not owned by a public utility.

The State Tax Commissioner is required to develop an inventory of all natural resource properties,
except managed timberland, on a county-by-county basis. Special methods for appraising natural
resource property can be found in W. Va. Code §11-6K.

Special methods are used for appraising dealer inventories. The value of vehicle, motorboat,
factory-built home, house trailer and farm equipment inventories are based upon average sales
in lieu of actual value of inventory in place on July 1 of each year. The value of rental car
inventories is the gross value of all rental cars on the first day of each month of the preceding
calendar year divided by twelve. Information on these methods can be found in West Virginia
Code §11-6C.

Reduced Assessment Property
The following types of property may qualify for a special reduced property valuation:

pollution abatement facilities;

molds, jigs, dies and templates directly used in manufacturing;

certified capital additions to manufacturing facilities;

all aircraft owned or leased by commercial airlines, charter carriers, private carriers,

private companies or private firms;

5. servers or tangible personal property directly used in a high-technology business or
an Internet advertising business, and

6. qualified farmland per Legislative Rule Title 110, Series 1A.

oM~

These properties are appraised at salvage value. In addition, each wind turbine installed at a wind
power project and each tower upon which the turbine is affixed shall be considered personal
property that is a pollution control facility and appraised at its salvage value. No more than 79
percent of the total value of the facility shall be accorded salvage value. Personal property at a
wind power project other than a wind turbine and the tower shall not be accorded salvage value.

In addition, property belonging to qualified continuing care retirement communities, which are
defined as being

1. owned by a corporation or other organization exempt from federal income taxes
under the Internal Revenue Code;

2. used in a manner consistent with the purpose of providing housing and health care
for residents, and

3. receiving no Medicaid funding under the provisions of W. Va. Code §9-4.

is classified and taxed as Class Il property.
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Tax Rates

The West Virginia Legislature sets the current regular school rate of tax for county boards of
education. This rate is used by all county boards of education Statewide. The West Virginia State
Tax Department and the State Auditor's Office supervise and otherwise assist counties and
municipalities in their work of assessment and tax rate determination. The first step toward
determination of tax rates for county commissions and municipalities is the preparation of tentative
budgets by county and municipal governments. These tentative budgets show not only estimated
expenditures and receipts but also the tax rates necessary to produce the receipts. Budgets and
tax rates must then be approved by the Chief Inspector Division of the State Auditor's Office, and
public hearings must be held before the final budgets and tax rates can be adopted. The State
Auditor reports the approved tax rates for each taxing authority to the county assessor. County
boards of education must adopt a budget that details the expenditures to be made from revenues
generated by the Property Tax rate approved by the West Virginia Legislature and other revenues.
Each assessor then applies these tax rates to all items of taxable property listed in the county's
real and personal property books. When this process is complete, each assessor must deliver
copies of these books with their new tax rates to the sheriff of the county enabling the sheriff to
begin the process of tax collection.

Maximum tax rates are shown in the table below for each of the taxing authorities and are given
in terms of each of the four classes of property.

Maximum Property Tax Rates (in cents per $100)

Taxing Authority Class | Class I Class Il Class IV

State 0.25¢ 00.50¢ 1.00¢ 1.00¢
County 14.30¢ 28.60¢ 57.20¢ 57.20¢
Schools 22.95¢ 45.90¢ 91.80¢ 91.80¢
Municipal 12.50¢ 25.00¢ n/a 50.00¢
Total 50.00¢ 100.00¢ 150.00¢ 200.00¢

Amendments to the State Constitution provide that these maximum rates can be temporarily
exceeded by all the taxing authorities except State government. The voters of each taxing
authority must approve any excess levy of tax proposed for their municipality, school board or
county. The average actual tax rates per $100 of assessed valuation for the 2021 tax year,
expressed in rounded dollars, are shown in the following table.

Statewide Average 2021 Property Tax Rates
(in dollars per $100 of assessed valuation)

Average
Class | $0.00
Class Il $1.21
Class Ill $2.21
Class IV $2.95

Statewide, the average rate for all property was $1.92 per $100 of assessed valuation.

When an annual appraisal or general valuation of property would result in an increase in total
projected Property Tax revenues for county commissions and municipalities of 1 percent or more,
the rate of levy is to be reduced proportionately for all classes of property for the forthcoming tax
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year so that the new levy rate will produce no more than 101 percent of the previous year's
projected Property Tax revenues plus an additional amount to fund the on-going work of the
assessor. Additional property value due to new construction or improvements to existing real
property are not to be included when considering increases in projected revenue and calculating
the new levy rate. Special levies are not to be included in this reduced levy rate calculation. The
governing body of a county or municipality may increase the tax rate resulting from the reduced
levy rate calculation above as long as a public hearing is conducted before such action. Any such
increase cannot have the effect of exceeding the prior year's tax revenue by more than 10 percent.

When any appraisal of general valuation of property would produce a statewide aggregate
assessment that would cause an increase of 2 percent or more in the total Property Tax revenue
for county boards of education, the levy is to be reduced uniformly Statewide and proportionately
for all classes of property for the forthcoming year to produce no more than 102 percent of the
previous year's projected Statewide aggregate Property Tax revenues plus an additional amount
to fund the on-going work of the assessor. However, the Legislature may take action to increase
the reduced rate by holding a public hearing.

Exemptions

Although all property is presumed to be taxable unless shown otherwise, there are many
exemptions from the Property Tax. Some of these exemptions are based on the ownership of the
property while others are based on the use of the property. A partial list of types of properties that
may be exempt from ad valorem property taxation follows:

1. property that belongs to the United States government unless the United States
government permits the State to tax it;

2. property that belongs exclusively to the State;

3. property that belongs exclusively to any county, district, city, village or town in this
State when it is used for public purposes;

4. property that belongs exclusively to any political subdivision of any other state when it

is used exclusively for public purposes;

property used exclusively for divine worship;

parsonages and the household goods and furniture pertaining thereto;

7. mortgages, bonds and other evidence of indebtedness in the hands of bona fide
owners and holders hereafter issued and sold by churches and religious societies for
the purposes of securing money to be used in the erection of church buildings used
exclusively for divine worship or for the purpose of paying indebtedness thereon;

8. cemeteries, except for certain personal property of commercial cemeteries, including
any sites of unmarked graves certified as such by the Division of Culture and History;

9. property that belongs to, or which is held in trust for, colleges, seminaries, academies
and free schools when it is used for the educational, literary or scientific purposes,
including books, equipment, annuities and furniture;

10. property that belongs to, or which is held in trust for, colleges or universities located in
West Virginia, or any public or private nonprofit foundation or corporation which
receives contributions exclusively for such college or university, if the property or
dividends, interest, rents or royalties derived therefrom are used or devoted to
educational purposes of such college or university;

11. public and family libraries;

12. property used for charitable purposes and not held or leased out for profit;

o o
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13.

14.

15.

16.
17.

18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.

29.

30.

property used for the public purposes of distributing electricity, water or natural gas or
providing sewer service by a duly chartered nonprofit corporation when such property
is not held, leased out or used for profit;

property used for area economic development purposes by nonprofit corporations
when such property is not leased out for profit;

all real estate not exceeding one acre in extent, and the buildings thereon, used
exclusively by any college or university society as a literary hall or as a dormitory or
clubroom, if not used with a view to profit, including but not limited to property owned
by a fraternity or sorority organization affiliated with a university or college, when the
property is used as residential accommodations, or as a dormitory, for members of the
organization;

all property belonging to benevolent associations, not conducted for private profit;
property belonging to any public institution for the education of the deaf, dumb or blind,
or any hospital not held or leased out for profit;

houses of refuge and mental health facility or orphanage;

homes for children or for the aged, friendless or infirm, not conducted for private profit;
fire engines and implements for extinguishing fires, and the property used exclusively
for the safekeeping thereof, and for the meeting of fire companies;

all property to be used for the subsistence of livestock on hand at the beginning of the
assessment year;

household goods to the value of $200 whether or not they are used for profit;

bank deposits and money;

household goods (personal property and goods commonly found within the house and
items to care for the house and its surrounding property);

personal effects (articles and items of personal property commonly worn on or about
the body or carried and normally associated with the person) when they are not held
or used for profit;

non-living items of food reserved by a family for its own use;

property acquired by lease purchase agreement by the state, a county, district, city,
village, town or other political subdivision, or state college or university as long as title
to the leased property rests in the name of the lessee;

all implements, equipment, machinery, vehicles, supplies, crops and livestock used to
engage in commercial farming;

property owned by a nonprofit organization whose primary purpose is youth
development by means of adventure, educational or recreational activities for young
people, at nonprofit constructed facility built with the expenditure of not less than $100
million, which is leased or used to generate revenue for the nonprofit organization
whether or not the property is used by the nonprofit organization for its nonprofit
purpose; and

tangible personal property that is moving in interstate commerce through West
Virginia, or which was consigned from a point of origin outside the State to a
warehouse within the State for storage in transit to a final destination outside the State.

The preceding list is not an exhaustive list of exemptions; it shows only some of the possible types
of exemptions.

In addition, the Wayport Authority is not required to pay any Property Taxes on any project or any
property acquired and used by that Authority as a wayport. A wayport is defined as an airport
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where passengers and cargo are transferred between flights that is not located in a major
metropolitan area. In lieu of the payment of Property Taxes to local governments, the Wayport
Authority is required to make an annual payment equal to the amount of Property Taxes otherwise
payable.

Homestead Exemption

This program provides for a $20,000 exemption against the total assessed value of a single-family
dwelling, including mobile or manufactured homes, owned and occupied as a residence by any
person who is at least sixty-five years old or totally and permanently disabled and who has legally
resided in and paid taxes on a homestead in this State for two consecutive taxable years before
filing for this exemption. However, if an owner receives a similar exemption for a homestead in
another state, then the owner is ineligible for the Homestead Exemption in West Virginia.
Homeowners who, as a result of iliness, accident, or infirmity, reside with a family member or are
residents of a nursing home, personal care home, rehabilitation center or similar facility retain a
Homestead Exemption and Class Il property designation for their property as long as the property
is not used for any other purposes.

If a resident of West Virginia establishes a residence in another state or country and returns to
West Virginia within five years, then the resident may be allowed a Homestead Exemption in West
Virginia if the person was a resident of this State for two calendar years out of the ten calendar
years immediately preceding the tax year for which the Homestead Exemption is sought.

When a member of the United States military forces maintains West Virginia as his state of
residence throughout his military service and returns to this State and purchases a homestead
upon his retirement or separation from the military service due to permanent and total physical or
mental disability, that person is deemed to satisfy the residency test and shall be allowed a
Homestead Exemption if the person otherwise qualifies.

Only one exemption can be granted for each owner-occupied residence. Elderly homeowners
may apply for this exemption at the office of their county assessor from July 1 through December
1 provided that the applicant will be at least sixty-five years old by June 30 of the following year.
A person who is totally and permanently disabled may also apply for the Homestead Exemption
from July 1 through December 1. Once the application of a person sixty-five years of age or older
is approved, registration in later years is unnecessary. A person who is permanently and totally
disabled does not need to refile in subsequent years if he signs a statement that he will notify the
assessor within thirty days if he ceases to be eligible for the exemption based on such disability.

Payment Dates

For each tax year, Property Taxes are due on all personal property you own as of July 1 of the
prior year. Property Taxes are also due on all real property that you own in West Virginia on July
1 prior to the tax year. The tax payments are divided into a first half and second-half payment
schedule. The first half is due by September 1 of that year and the second half is due by March 1
of the following year.
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Disposition of Revenue

For tax year 2021, $1.3 billion (66.0 percent) of the Property Taxes levied went to benefit county
boards of education, the primary beneficiaries of Property Tax collections. County commissions
levied $519.5 million dollars in taxes, which represents 26.8 percent of the taxes levied. Municipal
levies account for $130.2 million (6.7 percent) of the taxes levied, and the State receives 0.4
percent of the Property Taxes levied.

Tables and Charts

The following tables and charts provide a variety of statistical information on West Virginia
Property Taxes.
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Distribution of Property Taxes Levied by Purpose
Tax Year 2021
(In Millions)

State
$8.04 , 0%

County
$519.47 , 27%

\Municipal
$130.21, 7%

Schools
$1,278.09 , 66%
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Distribution of Property Taxes Levied
Tax Year 2021
(In Millions)

Public Utility Property
$286.21 , 15%

Real Estate
$1,036.57 , 53%

Personal Property
$613.02 , 32%
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Distribution of Property Taxes Levied by Tax Year'?

Tax For the For Counties For School For Total
Year State Boards Municipalities

2011 6,042,911 382,493,113 960,188,009 97,210,605  1,445,934,638
2012 6,262,238 398,867,977 989,885,613 102,052,748  1,497,068,576
2013 6,675,579 421,381,573 1,048,140,348 106,210,093  1,582,407,593
2014 6,763,028 427,943,271 1,060,323,290 114,742,034  1,609,771,623
2015 7,101,572 451,667,378 1,112,862,839 115,300,456  1,686,932,245
2016 7,331,082 468,108,037 1,142,098,247 117,964,445 1,735,501,811
2017 7,148,195 458,660,607 1,114,318,926 120,173,101  1,700,300,829
2018 7,229,615 466,043,977 1,119,904,486 122,042,535 1,715,220,613
2019 7,574,445 488,161,393 1,202,263,893 125,829,554  1,823,829,285
2020 8,065,538 516,794,297 1,271,672,567 129,720,383  1,926,252,785
2021 8,038,460 519,469,578 1,278,086,460 130,212,840 1,935,807,338

Distribution of Property Taxes Levied for Tax Year 202116

By the State By Counties By School Boards By Municipalities Total
On Real Estate $4,304,368 $278,161,283 $684,379,191 $69,725,297 $1,036,570,139
On Personal Property 2,545,588 164,503,583 404,739,394 41,235,290 613,023,855
On Public Utility Property 1,188,504 76,804,712 188,967,875 19,252,253 286,213,344
Total $8,038,460 $519,469,578 $1,278,086,460 $130,212,840 $1,935,807,338

6 These amounts reflect the total amount of taxes billed.
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Distribution of Property Taxes Levied by Percentages'’

On Personal

On Public Utilities

Tax Year On Real Estate Property Property Total
2010 55.34% 31.88% 12.78% 100.00%
2011 55.33% 31.55% 13.11% 100.00%
2012 54.62% 32.29% 13.08% 100.00%
2013 53.58% 33.63% 12.79% 100.00%
2014 54.32% 32.85% 12.83% 100.00%
2015 53.61% 33.68% 12.71% 100.00%
2016 53.12% 33.92% 12.96% 100.00%
2017 54.77% 31.35% 13.88% 100.00%
2018 55.35% 30.55% 14.10% 100.00%
2019 54.21% 31.74% 14.05% 100.00%
2020 52.40% 32.77% 14.83% 100.00%
2021 53.55% 31.67% 14.78% 100.00%

For For School For
Tax Year For the State Counties Boards Municipalities Total
2011 0.42% 26.45% 66.41% 6.72% 100.00%
2012 0.42% 26.64% 66.12% 6.82% 100.00%
2013 0.42% 26.63% 66.24% 6.71% 100.00%
2014 0.42% 26.58% 65.87% 7.13% 100.00%
2015 0.42% 26.77% 65.97% 6.84% 100.00%
2016 0.42% 26.97% 65.81% 6.80% 100.00%
2017 0.42% 26.97% 65.54% 7.07% 100.00%
2018 0.42% 27.17% 65.29% 7.12% 100.00%
2019 0.42% 26.77% 65.91% 6.90% 100.00%
2020 0.42% 26.83% 66.02% 6.73% 100.00%
2021 0.42% 26.83% 66.02% 6.73% 100.00%

7 These amounts reflect the total amount of taxes billed.
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Property Taxes Levied for County Governments
Tax Year 2021
(In Millions)

Excess Levies
$83.63, 16%

Regular Levy
$435.84 , 84%
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Property Taxes Levied for County School Boards
Tax Year 2021
(In Millions)

Bond Levies
$48.16 , 4%

/ Excess Levies
$609.54 , 48%

—
Regular Levy
$616.80 , 48%

7

Public Improvement Levies
$3.59, 0%
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Regular Levy
$104.458 , 80%

Property Taxes Levied for Municipalities
Tax Year 2021
(In Millions)
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Excess Levies
$25.753 , 20%

/ Bond Levies
$0.001 , 0%




PROPERTY TRANSFER TAX

The Excise Tax on the Privilege of Transferring Real Property (West Virginia Code, Chapter 11,
Article 22) was first enacted in 1859. The tax, commonly known as the Property Transfer Tax, is
administered by the West Virginia State Tax Department and by the county clerks and consists
of an excise tax paid to the State and an excise tax paid to the treasury of the county where the
transfer is to be recorded. Excise stamps purchased from the county clerk are to be affixed to all
documents, such as deeds, which transfer rights to, or interests in rights to, real property from
one person to another prior to recording. "Person" also means an association or corporation.

Property Transfer Tax — General Revenue Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $11,987,994
2018 $12,036,497
2019 $12,852,830
2020 $12,186,810
2021 $15,942,799

Taxpayers

The tax must be paid either by the person who transfers the property or by the person to whom
the transfer is made. Transfers from trustees of estates or from county clerks for real estate sold
for delinquent taxes must be paid by the person to whom the transfer is made.

Tax Rates

The State portion of this tax is levied at the rate of $1.10 for each $500 of value or any fraction of
that amount. The county portion of the tax is a minimum of 55 cents on each $500 of value or any
fractional part of that amount. Prior to July 6, 2017, county commissions could increase that rate
to $1.10 per $500 or any fractional part of that amount. Effective July 6, 2017, counties may
increase the county excise tax rate to $1.65 per $500. A $20 fee, in addition to the Property
Transfer Tax, will be assessed on the transfer of title to real estate. The money collected from this
fee is to be deposited by the respective county assessors in the West Virginia Affordable Housing
Trust Fund.

Beginning July 1, 2021, 10 percent of Property Transfer Tax collections will be retained by the
county where the tax was collected for county purposes. Beginning July 1, in every year after
2021, an additional 10 percent of State Property Transfer Tax collections will be retained by the
county where the tax was collected for county purposes. By July 1, 2030, the State Property
Transfer Tax would become a county Property Transfer Tax to be used by the county where the
tax is collected for county purposes.

In addition to the transfer taxes discussed above, county commissions that have created a
farmland protection program are authorized in W. Va. Code §8A-12-21 to impose an additional
county excise tax on the privilege of transferring title to real property. This additional tax may not
exceed $1.10 per $500 of value or fraction thereof. In counties that have exercised this option,
the combined taxes on the privilege of transferring title to real property may be as high as $3.85
per $500 of value or fraction thereof.
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State Tax $1.10
County Regular Tax $0.55
County Additional Tax $1.10
County Additional Tax for Farmland Preservation  $1.10

Total $3.85

If the rights to, or the interests in the rights to, the real property to be transferred constitute a gift
or if they are made without consideration, then the value of the transfer document is determined
by the actual monetary value of the property transferred. All other transfers require the value of
the document to be determined by the full consideration paid or to be paid, including any claims
against or in favor of the property.

Proportional valuations must be made when transfers of real property lie partly inside and partly
outside West Virginia or when some of the transfer is made up of personal property. Tax on the
transfer of property which lies in two counties must be paid only to one of the counties. Both parts
of this tax are embodied in a single State-issued series of stamps or by use of another proof of
purchase approved by the State Tax Commissioner.

Exemptions

Transfers not subject to this tax fall into four main categories:

1. those principally for the benefit of individuals, which include:
a. wills,
b. leases,
c. testamentary or inter vivos trusts,
d. deeds of partition,
e. quitclaim or corrective deeds made without consideration,
f.  mortgages or deeds of trust given as a security for a debt,
g. transfers between husband and wife,
h. transfers made between parent and child without consideration,
i. certain transfers made between parent and child and the spouse of the child
without consideration,
j- certain transfers made between grandparent and grandchild and the spouse of the
grandchild without consideration,
k. transfers in which the value transferred is $100 or less, and
I. transfers made between any person and a “straw” party without consideration.
2. those principally for the benefit of corporations, which are as follows:
a. deeds made pursuant to corporate mergers,
b. deeds made from a subsidiary corporation to its parent corporation for no
consideration other than surrender of stock, and
c. deeds made pursuant to mergers of limited liability companies, partnerships,
limited partnerships, and conversions of corporations or certain other business
organizations into limited liability companies.
3. transfers by gift, dedication deed or condemnation proceeding to or from the United
States government or the West Virginia government, including any agencies,
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instrumentalities or political subdivisions of either, and gifts to or political subdivisions
of either, and

4. (qifts to or transfers from or between certain voluntary charitable and educational
organizations.

Disposition of Revenue

Beginning July 1, 2021, 90 percent of the revenue from the State portion of the Property Transfer
Tax is to be deposited into the General Revenue Fund and appropriated by the Legislature. The
remaining 10 percent is retained by the County for county purposes. The percent retained by
counties increases each fiscal year. By July 1, 2030, the State Property Transfer Tax will be a
county Property Transfer Tax.
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PART VI
OTHER STATE TAXES AND FEES
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INSURANCE TAXES

The State of West Virginia collects taxes, fees, and surcharges from insurance companies in West
Virginia. Taxes on insurance (West Virginia Code, Chapter 33) was first enacted in 1957.

Insurance Taxes deposited into the General Revenue Fund totaled $118.1 million in Fiscal Year
2021.

Insurance Taxes — General Revenue Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $120,163,288
2018 $124,229,559
2019 $129,111,390
2020 $129,358,483
2021 $118,061,442

Taxpayers

The Insurance Premium Tax is collected from every insurance company transacting insurance in
West Virginia, based on gross premiums from business in the State, with certain exceptions. An
Annuity Tax is imposed based on the gross amount of annuity considerations collected by life
insurers on business transacted in West Virginia prior to January 1, 2021. Annual license fees are
also collected from persons acting as insurers and transacting insurance in West Virginia and
from insurance agents and brokers. In addition, fees are received for processing of reports and
documents. The taxes and fees are administered by and payable to the Insurance Commissioner.

Premium Tax

The Premium Tax is imposed on all insurance companies, except farmers' mutual fire insurance
companies, annuity writers, fraternal beneficiary societies and health care corporations and health
maintenance organizations. This tax is levied at the rate of 3.0 percent on gross direct premiums,
including dividends, collected, and received for the previous calendar year on policies covering
residents of or risks located in this State minus any premiums returned to policyholders because
of cancellations. Reciprocal insurers pay the tax based upon premiums on business in West
Virginia minus any premiums returnable because of cancellation and amounts returned to
subscribers or credited to their accounts as savings.

The following are exempt from the Premium Tax:

fraternal benefit services,

farmers' mutual fire insurance companies,
health care corporations, and

health maintenance organizations.

ODN~

Additional Premium Tax

An additional premium tax of 1.0 percent of taxable premiums is levied on fire insurance and
casualty insurance policies. The purpose of this additional tax is to provide revenue for municipal
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policemen's and firemen's pension and relief funds and the Teachers Retirement System reserve
fund and for volunteer and part volunteer fire companies and departments.

Surcharge on Fire and Casualty Insurance Policies

Every fire and casualty insurance policy holder must pay a surcharge equal to 0.55 percent of the
gross direct premium paid on the policy. The surcharge is to benefit volunteer and part-volunteer
fire departments. The policy surcharge will not be subject to premium taxes, agent commissions
or any other assessments against premiums. Casualty insurance does not include credit life
insurance or credit disability insurance. The policy surcharge is to be collected by the insurer and
remitted to the Insurance Commissioner.

All monies collected are deposited in the Fire Protection Fund, a special account in the State
Treasury. The State Treasurer must distribute the revenues in the Fire Protection Fund quarterly.
Each volunteer fire department or company is to receive an equal share of the revenues deposited
in the Fire Protection Fund.

License Tax and Fees

All companies and persons acting as insurers in West Virginia are required to be licensed except
those companies whose only business consists of investigating and settling losses under policies
written in West Virginia while duly licensed or those companies who are not transacting new
business but are only collecting premiums on policies remaining in force. The fee for an annual
license for insurers is $200. The following is a list of other fees:

e Each excess line broker: $200

e Each licensed agent, adjuster, broker, solicitor, and service representative: $25

e Receiving and filing annual reports: $100

e Rating organization: $100

e Filing certified copy of articles of incorporation: $50

e Filing copies of charter: $50

¢ Filing any additional paper required by law or furnishing copies thereof: $1

o Each certificate of compliance, deposit, and valuation copy of report or certificate of
condition of company to be filed in any other state: $15

e Each form filing: $50

e Each rate filing: $75

Fire Marshall Tax

Every insurance company doing business in West Virginia, except farmers' mutual fire insurance
companies, must pay in addition to any other taxes, 0.5 percent of the direct net premium receipts
on insurance against fire hazards.

Minimum Tax

Any insurer licensed in West Virginia must pay a minimum tax of $200 for any calendar year.

Taxes used in calculating the minimum are those imposed by W. Va. Code §33-3. The minimum
tax is to be paid annually on or before March 1.
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Disposition of Revenue
During Fiscal Year 2021, $118.1 million (74.5 percent) of the revenue from Insurance Taxes was
deposited in the State General Revenue Fund. The Municipal Pension Fund, Teachers'

Retirement Fund and Fire Protection Fund received a total $27.6 million from additional 1 percent
tax. Revenue from the Fire Protection Surcharge was almost $12.9 million in Fiscal Year 2021.

Comparison with Other States
The tax rates listed in this section are as of July 1, 2021.

Comparison of State Tax Rates

State Rate
2.0% of gross premiums. Additionally, a 1.8% surcharge applies on

Kentucky premiums for Kentucky risks. Fire insurers pay an additional 0.75% on
premiums

Maryland 2.0% of gross premiums

Ohio 1.4% of gross premiums. Fire insurers pay an additional 0.75% on premiums
derived from fire insurance.

Pennsylvania  2.0% of gross premiums

Virginia 2.25% of gross premiums. Industrial Sick Benefit 1.0%

W - 4.0% of gross premiums. An additional 1.0% on taxable premiums for fire

est Virginia

insurance and casualty insurance policies.

Tables and Charts

The following graph and table provide information on distribution of revenue from West Virginia
Insurance Taxes.

Insurance Premium Tax Collections

Municipal Pension, Fire Total

Fiscal General Teachers Retirement, & Fire  Protection Insurance

Year Revenue Protection Funds 1% Tax Surcharge  Premium Tax
2017 $120,163,288 $28,190,439 $13,539,025 $161,892,742
2018 $124,229,559 $29,907,039 $14,536,542 $168,673,140
2019 $129,111,390 $30,816,675 $14,965,354 $174,893,419
2020 $129,358,483 $31,602,509 $14,738,860 $175,699,852
2021 $118,061,442 $27,602,477 $12,888,827 $158,552,746
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Distribution of Revenue
from Insurance Taxes
FY 2021
Fire Protection Surcharge

$12,888,827
8%

Municipal Pension, Teachers
Retirement, & Fire Protection Funds
$31,602,509

19%

General Revenue
$118,061,442
73%
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LIQUOR TAXES

The West Virginia Liquor Profits Tax (West Virginia Code, Chapter 60, Articles 1-8) was first
enacted in 1995. Sales of alcoholic liquor at both the wholesale and retail level were controlled
by the State until the early 1990's. The Legislature changed the statute during the 1990 session.
Currently, wholesale sales of liquor are controlled by the State; retail liquor is sold by licensed
retail liquor stores.

Liquor Profits — General Revenue Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections

2017 $26,317,206
2018 $21,119,926
2019 $23,039,469
2020 $25,727,232
2021 $25,586,585

Licensees

Retail sales of liquor can only be made in West Virginia by retail licensees. Retail licensees are
either freestanding liquor retail outlets or a mixed retail liquor outlet. For example, a grocery store
or a drug store may have a retail liquor license. The annual license fee for a retail licensee is
$2,000.

A variety of license fees exist for those who wish to manufacture, distribute, or sell alcoholic liquor
within West Virginia. The term "alcoholic liquor" includes alcohol, wine, spirits, and any other liquor
or solid capable of being used as a beverage. An Operational Fee of $100 must be added for
each licensed location.'® A Reactivation Fee of $150 will apply for licensees that renew late.

Class A licenses are for on-premise consumption. Annual fees in effect beginning July 1, 2021,
are as follows:

Class A 2020-2021 2021-2022

Private Club Bar or Private Club Restaurant (<1,000 members -
liquor, wine & beer)
Private Club Bar or Private Club Restaurant (>1,000 members -
liquor, wine & beer)

$1,150 $483.33

$2,650 $983.33

Private Caterer (Private Club Restaurant license required) $1,000 $333.33
Private Manufacturer Club (liquor, wine & beer) $2,150 $816.67
Private Tennis Club $2,150 $816.67
Prlvgte Farmers Market (Private Club Restaurant license $2.150 $816.67
required)

Private Professional Sports Stadium $2,150 $816.67
Private Multi-Sport Complex $2,150 $816.67
Private Wedding Venue or Barn $1,650 $650
Private Resort Hotel (1 to 5 areas) $7,650 $2,650
Private Resort Hotel (6 to 10 areas) $12,650 $4,316.67

8 *$100.00 Operational Fee Does Not Apply
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Class A 2020-2021 2021-2022

Private Resort Hotel (11 to 15 areas) $17,650 $5,983.33
Private Resort Hotel (16 to 20 areas) $22,650 $7,650
Private Hotel $4,150  $1,483.33
Private Golf Course (9 holes) $2,150 $816.67
Private Golf Club (18 holes) $4,150  $1,483.33
Fraternal Club (Non-Profit - liquor, wine & beer) $900 $400
Fraternal Club (Non-Profit) - beer $150 $150
Private Wine Restaurant - wine only $250 $250
Private Wine Restaurant - wine & beer only $400 $400
Private Wine Spa - wine only $150 $150
Private Wine Bed & Breakfast - wine only $150 $150
Tavern - non-intoxicating beer $150 $150
Brew Pub (Resident Brewer/Importer License Required) $1,000 $1,000
*Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals - liquor, wine & beer) $750 $750
*Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals - wine & beer) $500 $500
*Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals) - wine $250 $250
*Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals) - beer $250 $250
*One Day Charitable Rare Liquor Auction (Private Club required) $150 $150
*One Day Charitable Wine with Auction $0 $0
*One Day Charitable Beer $0 $0
*Private Multi-Vendor Fair or Festival (liquor, wine & beer) $500 $500
*Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer Floorplan

: $50 $50
Extension
*Private Club Bottle Sale $1,000 $1,000
*Pre-Mixing Permit (Type of private club required) $0 $0
Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer - Outdoor
Dining $0 $0
Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer - Outdoor
Street Dinin b0 i

g

Wine - Private Wine Outdoor Dining $0 $0
Wine - Private Wine Outdoor Street Dining $0 $0
Liquor - Private Outdoor Dining $0 $0
Liquor - Private Outdoor Street Dining $0 $0

Class B Licenses are issued for off-premise consumption. Annual fees are listed below:

Class B 2020-2021 2021-2022
*Beer Growler $100 $100
*Wine Growler $100 $100
*Craft Cocktail Growler $100 $100
*Grocery - Curbside Beer $250 $250
*Grocery - Curbside Wine $250 $250
*Class A-beer, with food, Beer Delivery $0 $0
*Class A-wine, with food, Private Wine Delivery $0 $0
*Class A-Craft Cocktail Growler, with food, Delivery $0 $0
*Class B-beer, with food, Delivery $0 $0
*Class B-wine, may have food, Private Wine Delivery $0 $0
*Liquor Bottle Delivery (retail liquor outlet, may have food) $0 $0
*Third Party Delivery Class A - beer with food $200 $200
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Class B 2020-2021 2021-2022

*Third Party Delivery Class A - wine with food $200 $200
*Third Party Delivery Class A - craft cocktail growler with food $200 $200
*Third Party Delivery Class B - beer with food $200 $200
*Third Party Delivery Class B - wine may have food $200 $200
*Third Party Delivery Liquor Bottle Delivery - may have food $200 $200
*Wine Specialty Shop Delivery with Gift Basket $250 $250
*Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer Retail $0 $0
Transportation Permit

*Private Wine Retail Transportation Permit (1st vehicle/others) $10, $1 $10, $1
*Private Cocktail Delivery Permit (1st vehicle/others) $10, $1 $10, $1
*Private Liquor Bottle Delivery Permit (1st vehicle/others) $10, $1 $10, $1
*Class A or Class B - Curbside in-person/in-vehicle pickup (Class $0 $0
B that is a grocery store - see Grocery-Curbside)

*Off-Premises Wine Sales - Private Clubs & Private Wine $100 $100

Restaurants only

Municipalities may also impose license fees. These fees may equal the State fee amount except
for the license fee for private clubs for which the limit is 50 percent of the State fee.

Tax Rates

There is a 5.0 percent tax imposed on the purchase price of retail sales of liquor and wine in
addition to the 6.0 percent Consumers Sales Tax.' The retailer must collect the tax, which is
deposited in the State Treasury and distributed quarterly to counties and municipalities. A
municipality receives the taxes collected within that municipality’s municipal boundaries, and the
county receives the tax collected by a retail liquor store located in the county in unincorporated
areas.

In addition, liquor and wine sold to private clubs by private retail liquor stores are subject to a 6.0
percent excise tax. State revenue generated by this tax is deposited in the Drunk Driving
Prevention Fund. Sales by private clubs to their members are also subject to the 6.0 percent
Consumers Sales Tax.

Wine Liter Tax

The Wine Liter Tax is levied on all wine sold by suppliers to distributors, except wine sold to the
Alcohol Beverage Control Commissioner, and on all wine sold to West Virginia adult residents
from direct shippers. The tax is levied at a rate of 26.406 cents per liter. Collections of the Wine
Liter Tax are deposited into the General Revenue Fund.

9 When the retail store is located within a municipality that imposes a municipal sales and use tax, the
retailer also collects the municipal sales and use tax.
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Wine Liter Tax -- General Revenue Fund
Fiscal Years 2017 — 2021

Fiscal Year Collections
2017 $3,835,831
2018 $2,243,287
2019 $2,243,674
2020 $2,268,704
2021 $2,425,688

Hard Cider Tax

Effective July 1, 2021, all hard cider sold by wineries, farm wineries, and suppliers to distributors
is taxed at a rate of 22.6 cents per gallon, in like ratio for any partial gallon or other unit of measure.
Also taxed at this rate is all hard cider sold and sent to West Virginia adult residents from direct
shippers.

“Hard Cider” means a type of wine that is derived primarily from the fermentation of apples, pears,
peaches, honey, or another fruit, or from apple, pear, peach, or another fruit juice concentrate
and water; contains no more than 0.64 grams of carbon dioxide per 100 milliliters; contains at
least one half of one percent and less than 12 and one half percent alcohol by volume; and is
advertised, labeled, offered for sale, or sold, as hard cider or cider containing alcohol, and not as
wine, wine product, or as a substitute for wine.

Comparison with Other States

The below table lists the excise tax rates in effect January 1, 2021. In all the states listed except
Maryland, sales of beer are also subject to the state’s sales tax. In Maryland, unlike sales of other
types of tangible personal property and taxable services that are taxed at a 6 percent rate, the
sales and use tax is imposed at a 9 percent rate on the taxable price of alcoholic beverages.

Comparison of Taxes on Liquor

as of January 2021
State Beer Tax Rate
Kentucky 8 cents per gallon
Maryland
Ohio Beer in barrels: $5.58, Beer in bottles or cans 60z or fractional part: 0.84 cents
Pennsylvania
Virginia
West Virginia 18 cents per gallon
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State

Wine Tax Rate

Kentucky 50 cents per gallon
Maryland 40 cents per gallon
Ohio Wine (containing alcohol 4%-14% by volume): 32 cents per gallon

Wine (containing alcohol 14%-21% by volume): $1.00 per gallon

Pennsylvania

$2.50 per gallon on direct wine shipments
(Except direct shipments of wine)

Virginia
West Virginia $1.00 per gallon
State Liquor Tax Rate
Kentucky $1.92 per gallon
Distilled spirits placed in containers for resale (less than 6%): $1.92 per gallon
Maryland $1.50 per gallon
Ohio Vermouth: $1.10 per gallon

Pennsylvania
Virginia

West Virginia

Sparkling & carbonated wine & champagne: $1.50 per gallon

Cider: 24 cents per gallon

Mixed Beverages: $1.20 per gallon

Alcoholic beverages, including malt or brewed beverages (containing more
than 5%): 18% of net price

Government directly controls liquor sales. Revenue is generated from various
taxes, fees, price mark-ups and net liquor profits.

Liquor: $1.89 per gallon, State controls sales of distilled spirits
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TAX CREDITS

A number of West Virginia tax credits can be taken against one or more taxes. Explanations of
certain West Virginia’s tax credits can be found in this section, rather than in the various sections
of this report dealing with specific taxes.

Economic Opportunity Tax Credit

The Economic Opportunity Tax Credit (EOTC) is available to qualified businesses that make a
qualified investment in a new or expanded business in West Virginia and, as a result of this
investment, create at least twenty new West Virginia jobs. Qualified businesses include only those
businesses engaged in the activities of manufacturing, information processing, warehousing, non-
retail goods distribution, qualified research and development, the relocation of a corporate
headquarters or destination-oriented recreation and tourism.

A qualified business creating at least 20 new jobs within three tax years is allowed a credit equal
to 20 percent of its qualified investment. This percentage increases with the number of new jobs
created. A business creating at least 280 new jobs is allowed a credit equal to 25 percent of its
qualified investment, and a business creating at least 520 new jobs can claim 30 percent of its
qualified investment. The applicable jobs percentage for most taxpayers ranges as follows:

Total New West Virginia Jobs At Least: Applicable Percentage?
520 30%
280 25%
20 20%
15 (corporate headquarters relocation only) 10%
10 (small business credit) 10%

The Economic Opportunity Tax Credit is applied against taxes in a pro-rated amount over a ten-
year period at a rate of 10 percent per year.

The calculation of qualified investment is determined by multiplying the net cost of eligible property
by its applicable useful life percentage based on the projected actual economic useful life of the
asset. The percentages shown in the following table apply.

Useful Life Applicable Percentage
Less than 4 years 0%
4 years or more but less than 6 years 331/3%
6 years or more but less than 8 years 66 2/3%
8 years or more 100%

For example, if a taxpayer purchases a machine for $25,000 for use in a new industrial facility
which has a useful life of six years, the qualified investment is equal to $16,666.66.

The Economic Opportunity Tax Credit can offset a portion of the tax attributable to qualified
investment for the Business and Occupation Tax (electric power generation taxes only),

20 For projects having qualified investment of $20 million or more that are constructed using construction
labor and mechanics numbering 75 or more employees or equivalent employees who are paid at an
average wage of at least the prevailing wage, the new jobs percentage for the 20 to 520 employee range
is increased by 5 percentage points.
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Corporation Net Income Tax and Personal Income Tax (tax on flow-through business profits only)
in the order stated.

The amount of tax attributable to qualified investment is generally determined by use of a payroll
factor. The taxpayer multiplies total tax liability by a fraction, the numerator of which is the
compensation paid to the employees hired as a result of the new qualified investment and the
denominator of which is the compensation paid to all West Virginia employees of the taxpayer.
The result of this computation is tax attributable to qualified investment.

If the annual median compensation paid by the taxpayer to qualified new employees exceeds the
statewide average non-farm payroll wage as determined annually from WORKFORCE West
Virginia information, then the taxpayer may use the available credit to offset up to 100 percent of
each of the above taxes attributable to qualified investment. All other qualified taxpayers may use
the available credit to offset up to 80 percent of each of the above taxes attributable to the qualified
investment.

The following is a summary of the Statewide average non-farm payroll wages the median
compensation of new jobs must exceed to obtain the 100 percent tax offset:

Applicable Statewide Average Nonfarm
Tax Year?! Payroll Wage for EOTC
2017 $41,655
2018 $41,595
2019 $43,283
2020 $46,120
2021 $46,618

Excess credit remaining after application of the credit against current year taxes may be carried
forward for up to twelve years following the year of the initial credit claim attributable to the
placement of qualified investment into service. The year of the initial credit claim is either the tax
year that the qualified investment was first placed into service or, at the election of the taxpayer,
the next succeeding tax year. Credit recapture may occur when the actual useful life of the
qualified investment property or the period of actual use of qualified investment property within
West Virginia falls short of the projected useful life applicable percentage category used in the
original credit calculations. Additional recapture provisions exist for the Economic Opportunity Tax
Credit whenever the taxpayer fails to maintain the required number of new jobs upon which the
credit is based.

Economic Opportunity Tax Credit for Corporate Headquarters Relocation

A taxpayer that moves its corporation headquarters to West Virginia from a location outside of
West Virginia may be entitled to an Economic Opportunity Tax Credit if the relocation creates at
least 15 new West Virginia jobs. If the relocation creates at least 15 but less than 20 new jobs,
then the amount of the credit is equal to 10 percent of the taxpayer's adjusted qualified investment.
"Adjusted qualified investment" is the qualified investment of the taxpayer in real and tangible
personal property purchased for the corporate headquarters plus the cost of the reasonable and
necessary expenses incurred by the taxpayer to relocate the corporation headquarters from its
out-of-state location to West Virginia. Generally, the tax credit may be used to offset tax liabilities

21 Annual updates may be found in the Administrative Notices Section at
https://tax.wv.gov/TaxProfessionals/AdministrativeNotices/Pages/AdministrativeNotices2020.aspx
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in the same manner as for the general Economic Opportunity Tax Credit. The Economic
Opportunity Tax Credit for a corporation headquarters relocation may be used to offset the sum
of 100 percent of tax on allocated corporate net income and 80 percent of the tax attributable to
qualified investment on apportioned corporation net income.

Economic Opportunity Tax Credit for "Small Business"

Certain small businesses may also be entitled to an Economic Opportunity Tax Credit. "Small
business" means a business or a controlled group of foreign and domestic affiliated businesses
with annual gross sales not more than the amount set by statute and adjusted for inflation on
January 1 by a percentage reflecting the cost of living increase. This constraint must be met by
the small business only during the year qualified investment is first placed into service or use. The
following is a summary of the applicable inflation adjusted small business credit constraint by tax
year:

Year?? Gross Sales
2017 $9,349,750
2018 $9,535,400
2019 $9,766,100
2020 $9,952,650
2021 $10,096,800

An eligible small business taxpayer is allowed a credit in the manner described above for the
general Economic Opportunity Tax Credit, except that the small business must create at least 10
new West Virginia jobs within 12 months, rather than 20 new jobs. If the qualified small business
creates at least 10 qualified new jobs, the small business may receive a credit equal to 10 percent
of its qualified investment.

Beginning January 1, 2022, the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit under W. Va. Code §11-13Q-
9, discussed above, will include a new tier for a lower applicable percentage for the creation of 10
new jobs. Since the EOTC will permit a credit for 10 new jobs beginning January 1, 2022, the
Credit for Small Business, pursuant to W. Va. Code §11-13Q-10, will be terminated for tax years
beginning on and after January 1, 2022.

Tax Credit for High Technology Manufacturers

A credit is also provided for specified high technology manufacturers. A "high technology
manufacturing business" is defined as a business properly classified under the NAICS Code as
manufacturers of electronic computers, computer storage devices, electron tubes, electronic
capacitors, semiconductors and related devices, and semiconductor machinery. Beginning
January 1, 2022, “high technology business” will also include manufacturing drones, target
drones, unmanned aircraft or unmanned robotic aircraft; manufacturing autonomous motor
vehicles; manufacturing robots, robotic medical machines or equipment or robotic surgical
machines or equipment; manufacturing machines, equipment and products predominantly
operated by and incorporating artificial intelligence; manufacturing biotechnology products; and
manufacturing medical devices.

The credit is based on the qualified taxpayer's qualified investment which results in the creation
of at least 20 new jobs within 12 months after placing the qualified investment in service. The

22 Annual updates may be found in the Administrative Notices section at
https://tax.wv.gov/TaxProfessionals/AdministrativeNotices/Pages/AdministrativeNotices2020.aspx
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credit is 100 percent of the tax attributable to the qualified investment and is allowed for each year
for a 20-year credit period. The credit is to be taken beginning with the taxable year in which the
qualified investment is placed in service unless the taxpayer elects to delay to the next succeeding
tax year. A taxpayer who uses this credit cannot take any other credit under West Virginia Code
§11-13Q-1 et seq. In order to claim or retain the credit, the median compensation of the new jobs
attributable to the qualified investment must exceed inflation-adjusted values as shown in the
following table:

Median Compensation

Year® or Salary
2017 $52,400
2018 $53,450
2019 $54,750
2020 $55,800
2021 $56,600

Jobs Creation Tax Credit

Taxpayers that do not satisfy the new jobs percentage requirements are permitted to claim a
credit of $3,000 per year per new job created for a period of five consecutive years beginning in
the tax year when the new employee is first hired if:

1. the new job pays at least $32,000 annually (see inflation-adjusted values below);
health insurance and other benefits, such as child care and retirement, are offered;
and

3. the position is a full-time permanent position.

The inflation adjusted annual pay for the new jobs created for purposes of the tax credit must
equal or exceed the following:

Median Compensation

Year? or Salary
2017 $35,700
2018 $36,400
2019 $37,300
2020 $37,950
2021 $38,500

Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit

Manufacturers that make qualified investments for industrial expansion or industrial revitalization
may be eligible for the Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit. The tax credit is limited to
businesses engaged primarily in a business activity whose first two digits of its North American
Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code are 31, 32 or 33 or whose six-digit code is 211130.

Eligible investments include real property and improvements to real property and tangible
personal property constructed or purchased for use as a part of a new or expanded business of

23 Annual updates may be found in the Administrative Notices section at
https://tax.wv.gov/TaxProfessionals/AdministrativeNotices/Pages/AdministrativeNotices2020.aspx
2 Ibid.
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a qualified industrial taxpayer. Eligible investments may also include replaced or refurbished
buildings, equipment, machinery and other tangible personal property used in the operation of a
qualified facility located in West Virginia. Eligible investments may also include real or tangible
personal property acquired by written lease for a primary term of ten years or longer if used as a
component part of a new, expanded or revitalized industrial facility. The credit is equal to 5 percent
of the taxpayer’s qualified investment. For tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, the
credit is equal to 50% of the qualified investment for taxpayers with industrial codes 332992 or
332994, related to small arms and ammunition manufacturers. The allowable credit is pro-rated
over a ten-year period at a rate of 10 percent per year.

Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit may be used to offset up to 60 percent of the taxpayer’s
annual liability for Severance Tax and Corporation Net Income Tax for a period of ten years. Any
portion of a particular year’s annual credit that remains after application against these taxes for
the taxable year is forfeited. Credit recapture may occur when the actual useful life of the qualified
investment property or the period of actual use of qualified investment property within West
Virginia falls short of the projected useful life applicable percentage category used in the original
credit calculations.

West Virginia Tax Credit for Federal Excise Tax Imposed Upon Small Arms and
Ammunition Manufacturers

With a minimum qualified investment of $2 million placed in service on or after July 1, 2021, a
credit equal to 100% of federal excise tax paid per IRC §4181 as the result of the capital
investment may be claimed against a portion of Corporation Net Income Tax or Personal Income
Tax which is attributable to the taxpayer’s qualified investment in a new or expanded small arms
and ammunition manufacturing facility in this state. The credit must be taken over ten years.

Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit

Taxpayers that make a qualified investment in a new or expanded downstream natural gas
manufacturing facility in West Virginia that results in the creation of at least five new jobs may be
eligible for the Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit. To qualify for the
tax credit, the qualified investment must have been made on or after July 1, 2020.

An eligible taxpayer creating at least 5 new jobs within three tax years is allowed a credit equal
to 10 percent of its qualified investment. This percentage may increase with the number of new
jobs created. The applicable jobs percentage for most taxpayers ranges as follows:

Total New i
ew Applicable
West Virginia o - tage
Jobs At Least 9
150 20%
50 15%
5 10%

The Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit is pro-rated over a 10-year
period at a rate of 10 percent per year. For example, a credit of $200,000 attributable to $1 million
of qualified investment made in 2021 is applied at a rate of $20,000 per year for the 2021-2030
period.
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The amount of qualified investment is determined by multiplying the net cost of eligible property
by its applicable useful life percentage based on the projected actual economic useful life of the
asset. The percentages shown in the following table apply.

Useful Life Applicable Percentage
Less than 4 years 0%
4 years or more but less than 6 years 33 1/3%
6 years or more but less than 8 years 66 2/3%
8 years or more 100%

For example, if a Taxpayer purchases a machine for $50,000, for use in a new downstream
natural gas manufacturing facility, and the machine has a useful life of 6 years, the qualified
investment is $33,333.33. The $50,000 investment is multiplied by the applicable useful life
percentage of 66.66% to arrive at $33,333.33 in qualified investment.

The credit can offset a portion of the tax attributable to the qualified investment for the Corporation
Net Income Tax and Personal Income Tax, in the order stated.

If the annual median compensation of qualified new employees exceeds the statewide average
nonfarm payroll wage (as determined annually by the West Virginia Bureau of Employment
Programs), the taxpayer may use the available credit to offset up to 100% of each of the above
taxes attributable to qualified investment. All other qualified taxpayers may use the available credit
to offset up to 80% of each of the above taxes attributable to qualified investment.

The amount of tax attributable to qualified investment is generally determined by use of a payroll
factor. The taxpayer multiplies total tax liability by a fraction, the numerator of which is the
compensation paid to the employees hired because of the new qualified investment, and the
denominator of which is the compensation paid to all West Virginia employees of the Taxpayer.
The result of this computation is tax attributable to qualified investment.

Excess credit remaining after applying the credit against current year taxes may be carried
forward for up to 10 years following the end of the initial 10-year application period. If any unused
credit remains after the 20th year, the amount is forfeited.

Manufacturing Property Tax Adjustment Credit

Manufacturers may claim a nonrefundable credit against Corporation Net Income Tax liabilities
equal to the amount of local property taxes paid on West Virginia manufacturing inventory. For
purposes of the Manufacturing Property Tax Adjustment Tax Credit, manufacturing inventory
means, and is limited to, raw materials, goods in process and finished goods of a business
primarily engaged in business activity classified as having a sector identifier whose first two digits
of its North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code are 31, 32 or 33. The credit
may be applied against the Corporation Net Income Tax.
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Natural Gas Liquids Property Tax Adjustment Credit

Beginning July 1, 2020, natural gas liquid storers or transporters may be allowed a tax credit in
the amount of the West Virginia ad valorem property tax that it paid on the value of natural liquids
inventory and equipment. Natural gas liquids inventory and equipment is limited to equipment in
West Virginia that is used in the transport and storage of natural gas liquids by a natural gas
liquids transporter or natural gas storer.

Taxpayers eligible to claim this tax credit are natural gas liquids storers or natural gas liquids
transporters subject to West Virginia Personal Income Tax or Corporation Net Income Tax. Also,
those members of an affiliated group of taxpayers engaged in a unitary business with the natural
gas liquid storer or natural gas liquids transporter may be considered an eligible taxpayer.
Application of the credit against the taxes is limited to the tax of the single entity, from among the
affiliated group of taxpayers, that earned the credit. Application of the credit against tax is limited
to that single entity’s proportionate share of taxable income.

The credit can be taken against the Personal Income Tax or the Corporation Net Income Tax, but
not both. Additionally, no credit is allowed against employer withholding taxes. No tax credits will
be available after July 1, 2030.

Industrial Expansion or Industrial Revitalization Credit for Electric Power Producers

Electric power generation companies that make eligible investments for industrial expansion or
industrial revitalization within West Virginia may be eligible for the Industrial Expansion or
Revitalization Credit. Eligible investment for industrial expansion includes real property and
improvements thereto and tangible personal property constructed or purchased for use as a part
of a new or expanded electric power generation facility. Eligible investment for industrial
revitalization includes replaced or refurbished facilities, equipment, machinery, and other tangible
personal property used in the operation of an electric power generation facility located in West
Virginia. Eligible investment may also include real or tangible personal property acquired by
written lease for a primary term of ten years or longer if used as a component part of a new,
expanded, or revitalized electric power generation facility. The credit is equal to 10 percent of the
taxpayer's qualified investment. The calculation of qualified investment for this credit is like that
required for the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit. Industrial Expansion or Revitalization Credit
may be used to offset up to 50 percent of the taxpayer's annual liability for Business and
Occupation Tax for a period of 10 years. Any portion of a particular year's annual credit that
remains after application against this tax for the taxable year is forfeited. Credit recapture may
occur when the actual useful life of the qualified investment property or the period of actual use
of qualified investment property within West Virginia falls short of the projected useful life
applicable percentage category used in the original credit calculations.

Coal-Loading Facilities Credit

A tax credit is granted against Severance Tax liability for qualified investment in a new, expanded,
or revitalized coal-loading facility. A coal-loading facility that will qualify for the credit is limited to
any building or structure specifically designed and solely used to transfer coal from a coal
processing or preparation facility or from a coal storage facility, or both, or from any means of rail
or barge transportation used to move coal, including such land as is directly associated with and
solely used for the coal-loading facility. Only investment assets used to transfer coal to rail or
barge transportation will qualify for the tax credit.
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The credit is equal to 10 percent of the cost of the eligible investment made in the coal-loading
facility and must be applied over a ten-year period at the rate of one-tenth of the credit per taxable
year. The amount of investment that is eligible for the credit is determined by applying a prescribed
percentage to the total cost of the project. The percentages shown in the following table apply:

Useful Life Applicable Percentage

Less than 4 years 0%
4 years or more but less than 6 years 33 1/3%
6 years or more but less than 8 years 66 2/3%
8 years or more 100%

Property with a useful life of less than four years does not qualify for purposes of this credit.

The credit may reduce Severance Tax liability, but the credit cannot be over 50 percent of the
total tax liability. No carry-over to a subsequent tax year or carry-back to a prior tax year is allowed
for any unused portion of the allowed credit. Unused credit is forfeited. Credit recapture may occur
when the actual useful life of the qualified investment property or the period of actual use of
qualified investment property within West Virginia falls short of the projected useful life applicable
percentage category used in the original credit calculations.

Post-Coal Mine Site Business Credit

Businesses that have a principal place of business in this state may be eligible for a post-coal
mine site business credit if the business employees at the post-coal mine site a minimum of 10
full-time employees and its principal place of business is located on post-coal mine site. Full-time
employees are those working thirty-two hours a week or more.

Beginning January 1, 2020, an eligible business will be allowed a tax credit in the amount of 50
percent of its capital expenditures at the post-coal mine site for the first five taxable years its
principal place of business is located on the post-coal mine site. A “post-coal mine site” is property
that has remained undeveloped for business purposes after coal mining operation on the property
within bonded area of the last issued coal mine permit.

The tax credit may be applied against the Corporation Net Income Tax and, if a pass-through
entity, to the Personal Income Tax of the owners, partners, or shareholders. The claimed tax
credit may not exceed 50 percent of the taxpayer's state income tax for any single year. Any
unused credit may be carried forward until used but unused credit expires after ten years.

Credit Recapture

There are special recapture provisions in the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit, Manufacturing
Investment Tax Credit, Downstream Natural Gas Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit, Industrial
Expansion and Revitalization Credit, Coal Loading Facilities Credit, Coal Severance Tax Rebate,
and the West Virginia Natural Gas Liquid Property Tax Adjustment. Credit recapture occurs when
the actual useful life of qualified investment property or the period of actual use of qualified
investment property within West Virginia falls short of the projected useful life in the applicable
percentage category used in the original credit calculations. Credit attributable to property that
ceases to be used in West Virginia before the end of its categorized useful life must be
recalculated for all tax years according to the actual useful life or period of use in West Virginia.
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Recapture provisions apply for the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit whenever the taxpayer fails
to maintain the required number of new jobs upon which the credit is based. Except for the "Small
Business" version of the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit, recapture generally occurs
immediately after the taxpayer's jobs re-determination year (the second tax year following the tax
year when qualified investment was first placed into use or service). If the actual number of new
jobs falls below the projected new job threshold, the taxpayer must file amended returns with the
payment of any additional tax, interest and penalties owed due to an overutilization of credit.

Recapture does not apply to the small business tax credit. A taxpayer entitled to the small
business tax credit determines the number of jobs twelve months after qualified investment is
placed in use or service, and at the end of each tax year thereafter. If the number of jobs
attributable to the qualified investment equals or exceeds ten, the taxpayer is entitled to the tax
credit. If the number of new jobs falls below ten, the taxpayer loses the small business credit for
that tax year. Entitlement to the tax credit can be reestablished for any year within the original
ten-year credit period if the number of new jobs again equals or exceeds ten.

Environmental Agricultural Equipment Credit

Eligible taxpayers are allowed a credit against State income tax (i.e., Corporation Net Income Tax
or Personal Income Tax) for 25 percent of expenditures for the purchase and installation of
qualified agricultural equipment and structures that protect the environment. Eligible taxpayers
must purchase and install the qualified equipment for use in their agricultural operations in West
Virginia.

The maximum amount of credit in any year is limited to the lesser of $2,500 or the State income
tax due for the year. Excess credits may be carried forward for a period not to exceed five years.

Agricultural operations include the commercial production of food, fiber or woodland products (but
not timbering activity) by means of cultivation or tillage of the soil; the conduct of livestock, dairy,
apiary, equine or poultry husbandry; aquacultural activity; horticultural activity; or any other plant
or animal production activity. Commercial production generally consists of annual sales by the
producer of at least $1,000 of agricultural products.

"Qualified agricultural equipment" includes advanced technology pesticide and fertilizer
application equipment, conservation tillage equipment, dead poultry composting facilities, nutrient
management systems, streambank and shoreline protection systems, stream channel
stabilization systems, stream crossing or access plans, waste management systems, waste
storage facilities, and waste treatment lagoons located on or at agricultural operations in West
Virginia. Qualified agricultural equipment must meet certain certification requirements to qualify
for the tax credit benefit. These requirements include proof of purchase and installation and
written certification by the Commissioner of Agriculture that each item is in fact qualified
agricultural equipment. In lieu of written certification by the Commissioner of Agriculture, written
certification from the West Virginia Division of Environmental Protection is required for advanced
technology pesticide and fertilizer application equipment.

Military Incentive Credit

Every employer may take a credit against its Corporation Net Income or Personal Income Tax
liability for hiring an economically disadvantaged veteran of the Vietham era, a disabled veteran
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or an unemployed member of the National Guard or reserve forces of the United States military.
For hiring an economically disadvantaged Vietnam era veteran, the taxpayer may take a credit of
30 percent of the first $5,000 paid in wages and compensation. For each disabled veteran hired,
the taxpayer may take a credit in the amount of the first $5,000 of wages and compensation paid
multiplied by the percentage of disability suffered as determined by the Veterans Administration.
For members of the National Guard or the reserve forces of the United States military, the tax
credit is 25 percent of the first $5,000 paid in wages and compensation.

To take a credit under this program, the taxpayer must hire veterans who have received vouchers
from the Department of Employment Security, the West Virginia National Guard or participating
Reserve forces certifying their eligibility. The employer is not eligible to take a credit if the veteran
is already employed or displaces a person who is already employed, or the employer is already
receiving job training payments for the veteran. A credit also cannot be taken if the veteran is
employed for less than one continuous year unless the employee voluntarily resigns, becomes
totally disabled or is discharged for just cause. However, if the employee is discharged, becomes
totally disabled or resigns before he has worked one year, the employer can take a partial tax
credit. The partial tax credit equals the amount of the tax credit the employer would have received
for the full year multiplied by the ratio of the period worked to the full-year period.

Natural Gas Industry Jobs Retention Credit

The Natural Gas Industry Jobs Retention Credit is a credit against the natural gas storage of the
Business and Occupation Tax. The credit equals $1,000 per qualified full-time employee (i.e., one
who works at least 1,500 hours per year) employed by the taxpayer during the tax year. The credit
is available if the qualified taxpayer retains at least 60 percent of the number of jobs in existence
with the business as of January 1, 1996. The amount of the credit may not exceed the amount of
Business and Occupation Tax subject to natural gas storage activity.

High-Wage Growth Business Tax Credit

The New High-Wage Job Credit is for new high-wage jobs created in West Virginia by an eligible
employer on or after July 1, 2020. To be an eligible employer, the employer must be registered to
do business in West Virginia and offer health benefits to all full-time eligible employees. The
employer must certify that it pays at least 50 percent of the health care premiums.

New high-wage jobs are those created on or after July 1, 2020 and must be occupied for at least
forty-eight weeks during the tax year by an eligible employee who is paid wages calculated to be
at least 2.25 times the state median salary. The employer must maintain a net overall increase in
employment. If the employer has contracts covering multiple locations, the employer must have
a net overall increase of employment of at least ten new high-wage jobs. Employees holding the
new high-wage jobs must be West Virginia residents. They cannot have been previously on the
payroll of the employer or of an affiliated company and cannot have existed as of the date the
employer filed the application for the credit with the Development Office.

The Development Office may authorize no more than $5 million of the New High-Wage Job
Credits during any fiscal year of the State. The total amount of the tax credit that may be awarded
to a taxpayer in any taxable year may not exceed more than 10 percent of the salaries of the new
high-wage jobs. The Development Office has full discretion in determining whether to award a
credit and the amount of the credit.
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The High-Wage Growth Tax Credit may be applied against the Corporation Net Income Tax and,
if a pass-through, to the Personal Income Tax of the owners, partners, or shareholders. An
eligible employer may apply for and receive the credit for up to five years. The credit is refundable,
not to exceed $100,000 per taxpayer. Unused credit may be carried forward for up to ten years
after which the unused credit is forfeited.

Credit for Reducing Telephone Charges to Low-Income Families

Telephone companies are required to provide low-cost service called Tele-Assistance Service to
qualified low-income customers. Telephone companies may take a credit against Corporation Net
Income Tax liability in an amount equal to the certified cost of providing Tele-Assistance Service.

Credit for Reducing Utility Charges to Low-Income Families

Natural gas, electric, sewer and water utility companies must grant a rate reduction of 20 percent
to qualified low-income residential customers for the heating season of November through March.
A qualified low-income resident is one who is eligible to receive electric or natural gas utility
service, or both, under special reduced rates. The utility companies may take a credit against
State Business and Occupation Tax liability for revenue lost by providing the reduced rates to
qualified customers. Any unused portion of the credit may be taken as a credit against Corporation
Net Income Tax. Businesses providing water utility services at reduced rates to qualified low-
income residential customers which have not been reimbursed by other means are also eligible
for the credit.

Neighborhood Investment Program Credit

Eligible taxpayers are allowed a credit for 50 percent of eligible contributions made to a
community-based nonprofit organization for a certified project plan providing neighborhood
assistance, community services, crime prevention, housing, education, job training and physical
and environmental improvements. An eligible contribution may consist of cash, tangible personal
or real property at fair market value and in-kind professional services valued at 75 percent of fair
market value. "Professional services" are limited to services provided by physicians, dentists,
registered nurses, practical nurses, dental hygienists, other licensed health care professionals,
lawyers and licensed public accountants.

Individual contributions must have a fair market value of at least $500 but no more than $200,000
to qualify for a credit. In addition, no more than 25 percent of total eligible contributions made by
any taxpayer to any certified project may be in-kind contributions. The maximum credit for any
one taxpayer is $100,000 per year and the aggregate amount of credits that may be granted to
all taxpayers in any fiscal year is capped at $3.0 million. The credit must be used within five years.
The credit may be fully used in the first year or excess amounts may be carried over for use in
the succeeding four years. Available credits may offset up to 50 percent of qualified taxpayer’s
liability for the Corporation Net Income or Personal Income Tax. Unused credits are forfeited.

Historic Rehabilitated Buildings Investment Credit
This credit equals 25 percent of the qualified expenditures for rehabilitation of residential and non-
residential buildings designated by the National Park Service, United States Department of the

Interior, as "certified historic structures" and further defined as "qualified rehabilitated structures".
The building or area must be located within West Virginia to be eligible for the credit, and
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rehabilitation expenditures must be reviewed and approved by the West Virginia Department of
Culture and History to qualify for the credit.

The credit may offset up to 100 percent of the taxpayer's liability for Personal Income Tax or
Corporation Net Income Tax. Taxpayers may transfer, sell, or assign any unused tax credits after
first obtaining a certificate of approval from the Division of Culture and History to transfer, sell or
assign the stated amount of unused tax credit. This credit is eliminated after December 31, 2022.

Credit for Rehabilitated Residential Buildings Investment

The credit of Rehabilitated Residential Buildings Investment equals 20 percent of the qualified
expenditures for the rehabilitation of residential homesteads designated by the West Virginia
Department of Culture and History as "certified historic structures" and further defined as a
"qualified rehabilitated structure". The building or area must be located within West Virginia to be
eligible for the credit, and rehabilitation expenditures must be reviewed and approved by the West
Virginia Department of Culture and History to qualify for credit.

The credit may offset up to 100 percent of the taxpayer's liability for Personal Income Tax.
Taxpayers may transfer, sell or assign any unused tax credits after first obtaining a certificate of
approval from the Division of Culture and History to transfer, sell or assign the stated amount of
unused tax credit. Excess credit may be carried forward five years.

Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit

A tax credit is available to taxpayers for wages paid to apprentices in the construction trades. The
tax credit is equal to $2 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours worked during the tax
year by the apprentice. The amount of the tax credit allowed for any tax year for each apprentice
may not exceed $2,000. The apprentice must be participating in a qualified apprenticeship training
program, which is registered with the United States Department of Labor and consists of at least
2,000 hours but not more than 10,000 hours of on-the-job apprenticeship training.

Farm to Food Bank Tax Credit

A tax credit is available to farmers who make donations of edible agricultural products to one or
more nonprofit food programs in West Virginia. The credit is equal to 30 percent of the value of
the donated edible agricultural products, not to exceed $2,500 during a taxable year. The credit
can be taken against Corporation Net Income Tax or Personal Income Tax. Any credit remaining
after application against the taxpayer's tax liabilities for the current year may be carried forward
to next four taxable years. No more than $200,000 of tax credits may be allocated in any fiscal
year. Tax credits are allocated in the order in which the donation forms are received.

Tax Credit for Donation or Sale of Vehicle

A tax credit is available for taxpayers who donate vehicles after December 31, 2020, to a qualified
charitable organization in this state. A person is entitled to a tax credit up to 50 percent of the
value of the vehicle or $2,000, whichever is less.

A tax credit is also available for new or used automobile dealers who sell a vehicle at a reduced
price to a low-income worker through a program administered through a qualified charitable
organization after December 31, 2020. The amount of the tax credit is equal to no more than 50
percent of the difference between the value of the vehicle and reduced sales price or $2,000,
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whichever is less. Low-income workers are defined as those living in a household with total
income at or below 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level. Low-income worker may also
include part-time workers, seasonal employees, contract workers, or an unemployed person who
has been offered and has accepted employment contingent on that person’s obtaining suitable
transportation to the place of employment.

These tax credits may be applied against Personal Income Tax or Corporation Net Income tax.
No carry-over to a future tax year is allowed for any unused portion of the credit. No more than
$300,000 of these tax credits may be authorized in any fiscal year. The State Tax Department will
allocate the tax credits in the order the donation forms are received.

Coal Severance Tax Rebate

The North Central Appalachian Coal Tax Rebate Act (2019) created a Coal Severance Tax rebate
for companies that pay tax at the 4.65 percent state rate of tax and make qualified investment in
new machinery or equipment, repairs of equipment so long as it capitalized for federal income tax
purposes, and infrastructure improvements to real property that directly results in increased coal
production. The maximum rebate amount is equal to 35 percent of the cost of the qualified
investment. Up to 80 percent of the additional state portion of Severance Taxes payable that is
attributable to the qualified investment that increases coal production and employment may be
rebated to the taxpayer. The unused portion of the rebate amount can be carried forward, until
used, for a period of ten years. The base year production for an existing coal company is the coal
production over a five-year period. A new company will need to produce coal in this State for a
period of two years prior to making investment eligible for the coal severance tax rebate. The
average of coal production during this two-year period establishes the base year coal production
for the new coal company. When the coal company is part of an affiliated group or a combined
group of coal companies producing coal in this State, then tons of coal produced by all members
of the group during the applicable base year period are used to determine whether the capital
investment results in increased coal production.

The tax rebate applies to capital investment in new machinery and equipment or improvements
to real property purchased on or after June 7, 2019, that are placed in service or use and result
in increased coal production. An application for rebate may be filed with the taxpayer's annual
Coal Severance Tax return filed for the year in which the qualified investment property is placed
in service or use. When unused rebate is carried forward, an application for rebate carry forward
may be filed with the annual Severance Tax return for the rebate carry forward year.

Innovative Mine Safety Technology Tax Credit

A tax credit is available for qualified investment in innovative mine safety technology equipment
by a coal mining company, including methane monitoring equipment. The qualified investment is
equal to 50 percent of purchases of qualified safety equipment. The Office of Miners' Health,
Safety and Training, pursuant to applications for the tax credit, may allocate no more than $2
million of Innovative Mine Safety Technology Tax Credit per fiscal year. No one taxpayer may be
allocated more than $100,000 in credit in any given year.

The tax credit may be applied against the Corporation Net Income Tax. For pass-through entities
(i.e., limited liability companies treated as a partnership, small business corporations or
partnership), if any credit remains after application against the Corporation Net Income Tax, the
credit can be applied against the Personal Income Tax liability of the owners of the pass-through
entity.
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Tourism Development Project

The West Virginia Tourism Development Act includes tax credits for three different types of
tourism development projects with each type of project requiring approval by the West Virginia
Development Office.

A tax credit for a tourism development project is granted against Consumers Sales Tax liability
for qualified investment in tourism development projects approved by the Development Office. An
approved company must provide the amount of approved costs that qualify for the credit and the
date by which the project is to be completed and open to the public.

A tax credit is also granted against Consumers Sales Tax liability for qualified investment in
tourism development expansion projects. Approved companies are allowed a credit against
Consumers Sales Tax collected by the company only from the project. The maximum amount of
the credit is 25 percent of the company's approved costs. However, if the project site is within the
permit area or an adjacent area of a surface coal mine from which all coal will have been extracted
prior to the commencement of the project, the credit is equal to 35 percent of the approved costs.
The credit shall be taken over a ten-year period at a rate of one-tenth of the total credit amount
per taxable year.

The main difference between a Tourism Development Project Credit and a Tourism Development
Expansion Project Credit is that the Tourism Development Expansion Project Credit is allowed
for facilities owned, managed, or controlled by the same persons or entities that have an existing
Tourism Development Project Credit or have had a previous Tourism Development Project Credit
at or within ten miles of a preexisting project facility.

The credit is allowed against the sales tax collected by the approved company on sales from
operation of the tourism development expansion project. The credit must be taken over a ten-year
period, at the rate of one tenth of the amount per year, beginning with the year in which the project
is opened to the public. The approved company can make an irrevocable, one-time election to
delay the beginning of the ten-year period to the next succeeding tax year. No carryback to a
previous tax year is allowed; but, if any credit remains after the statutory ten-year period, then the
remainder can be carried forward for up to three years. If any amount of credit remains unused
after the thirteenth year, it is forfeited.

A qualified professional services destination facility is “adjacent or complementary to a historic
resort hotel” that provides personal or professional services to individuals who primarily are
residents of another state or a foreign country. A “historic resort hotel” is defined as “a resort hotel
registered with the United States Department of the Interior on the effective date of this
amendment [2014] as a national historic landmark in its National Registry of Historic Places
having not fewer than five hundred guest rooms.”

To qualify for the credit, an eligible company must:

a. create at least 125 new jobs in West Virginia within 36 months of placing qualified
investment into service and maintain those jobs for the entire ten-year life of the credit,

b. pay at least 50% of health insurance premiums for its full-time employees,

c. generate at least $10 million of gross receipts subject to the health care provider taxes
within 36 months of placing the qualified investment in service, and

d. meet all the standards, limitations and requirements of the Development Office and
the Tourism Development Act.
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The credit may be applied against the Corporation Net Income Tax or the Personal Income Tax,
with some limitations.

All three credits are subject to imposition of the Credit Recapture Tax plus interest and penalties.
High-Tech Incentive Exemptions and Credits

Qualified businesses located in a High-Tech Research Zone and approved by the West Virginia
Development Office are eligible for credits and deferrals. A “qualified business” is:

1. a business eligible for the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit and entitled to the 20
percent new jobs percentage if it creates at least three new jobs in a research zone,
park, or technology center,

2. an industrial taxpayer for purposes of the Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit if it is
primarily engaged in manufacturing related to research and development, and

3. and is entitled to priority for approval of refundable credit for the small, qualified
research and development company credit ahead of eligible taxpayers that are not
qualified businesses under W. Va. Code §18B-13-1 if the qualified business otherwise
meets the requirements for those credits.

The total credits and deferrals allowable are limited to $2.5 million in any one fiscal year for all
eligible businesses.
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CIVIL PENALTIES
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CIVIL PENALTIES

Interest

Interest is due when the tax amount is not paid in a timely manner. Interest accrues daily from the
due date of the return until paid without regard to any extension of time to file. Accrued interest
may not be waived by the State Tax Commissioner. The West Virginia Code requires the State
Tax Commissioner to annually establish interest rates for tax underpayments and overpayments
based on the adjusted prime rate. The interest rates on underpayments and overpayments of tax

are as follows:

Interest Rate for Interest Rate for

Underpayments Overpayments
January 1, 1987 — December 31, 1987 8.00% 8.00%
January 1, 1988 — June 30, 1989 9.00% 9.00%
July 1, 1989 — June 30, 1990 11.00% 11.00%
July 1, 1990 — December 31, 1991 10.00% 10.00%
January 1, 1992 — June 30, 1992 9.00% 9.00%
July 1, 1992 — December 31, 1995 8.00% 8.00%
January 1, 1996 — December 31, 1996 9.00% 9.00%
January 1, 1997 — December 31, 1997 8.00% 8.00%
January 1, 1998 — December 31, 1998 9.00% 9.00%
January 1, 1999 — June 30, 2000 8.00% 8.00%
July 1, 2000 — December 31, 2001 9.00% 9.00%
January 1, 2002 — June 30, 2002 8.00% 8.00%
July 1, 2002 — December 31, 2016 9.50% 8.00%
January 1, 2017 — December 31, 2017 8.00% 6.50%
January 1, 2018 — December 31, 2019 9.75% 8.25%
January 1, 2020 — December 31, 2020 9.25% 7.85%
January 1, 2021—December 31, 2021 7.75% 6.25%

Penalties (Additions to Tax)

Penalties (Additions to tax) are imposed to encourage voluntary compliance with this State's tax
laws. The penalty is only imposed on those taxpayers whose action, inaction, or delayed action
warrants impositions of a penalty. Additions to tax penalties are imposed as a percentage of tax

as follows:

Penalty Rate Measure
Tax due (as shown on return
o 0,
fnﬁx?;zjm?nth e or as adjusted by the State
Tax Department)
Tax due (as shown on return
or as adjusted by the State

Failure to timely file a return

o 0]
Failure to timely pay tax due 0.5% per month (25%

maximum) Tax Department)
i 1 o (o)
Fal!u_re to timely pay 0.5 /o per month (25% Amount of deficiency
deficiency maximum)
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Additions to tax for failure to timely file and failure to timely pay tax due may be imposed
concurrently; however, the total penalty may not exceed 5 percent per month and the maximum
of both penalties may not exceed 50 percent. Additions to tax may be waived only if the taxpayer
can prove that its failure was due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect. The penalty
for failure to obtain a Business Registration Certificate, negligence, intentional disregard of rules
and fraud is nonwaivable. Also, the costs of the additions to tax are not deductible for either
Federal or State income tax purposes.

If any part of an additional tax or additional fee is due to negligence or intentional disregard of rule
(without intent to defraud), there is added to the amount of tax or fee due and addition to tax equal
to 5 percent per month or fraction thereof during which the underpayment continues. This addition
may not exceed 25 percent of the additional tax or fee due. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-18(c).

In the case of the filing of any false or fraudulent return with intent to evade tax or in the case of
willful failure to file a required return with intent to evade tax, there is added to the amount of tax
or fee due an addition to tax equal to 50 percent of the amount of tax or fee due. See W. Va. Code
§ 11-10-18(d).

West Virginia also imposes penalties for promoting abusive tax shelters and for failure to report
listed transactions. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-18(f).

Rules for Personal Income Tax Underpayments

For Personal Income Tax purposes, additions to tax are due if the individual did not have enough
West Virginia state income tax withheld from his or her income or pay enough estimated tax for
the taxable year. No additions to tax for underpayment of estimated tax if the total amount of all
tax withheld and estimated tax payments equals or exceeds the lesser of

1. 100 percent of the prior year's tax, or
2. 90 percent of the current year's liability.

No addition to tax will be imposed if the tax on the return, less the credit for withheld tax, is less
than $600. Also, no additions to tax are imposed if all the following conditions are met:

1. the preceding taxable year was twelve months,
the taxpayer had no West Virginia Personal Income Tax liability for the preceding
taxable year,

3. the taxpayer was a United States citizen or resident throughout the preceding taxable
year, and

4. the West Virginia Personal Income Tax liability for the current taxable year is less than
$5,000.

If at least two-thirds of the gross income was from farming, only one estimated payment is
required. The due date for this payment is January 15 of the following year. The amount of the
payment is 66 2/3 percent of the tax due. The required payment is treated as the fourth estimated
payment. No additions to tax for underpayment of estimated tax will be charged if the taxpayer
files his or her annual Personal Income Tax return and pays the amount due on or before March
1.
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Rules for Corporation Net Income Tax Underpayments

In the case of any underpayment of estimated tax, there is added to the corporation net income
tax due for the taxable year an addition to tax determined by multiplying the underpayment amount
by the rate of interest applicable to the taxable year for the period of the underpayment, except
as otherwise provided in W. Va. Code § 11-10-18a(d).

Addition to Tax for Failure to Pay any Other Estimated Tax

If a person required to make monthly or quarterly installment payments of any other annual tax
fails to timely remit any installment payment of the tax or remits less than the amount of the
required installment payment of tax, an addition to tax equal to the underpayment amount
multiplied by the rate of interest applicable to the taxable year is added to the underpayment
amount for the period of the underpayment. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-18b.

Other Penalties

Any person required to collect, account for, and pay over a tax or fee who willfully fails truthfully
account for and pay of such tax or fee, and any person who willfully attempts in any manner to
evade payment of any tax or fee is, in addition to other penalties provided by law, liable for
payment of a money penalty equal to the total amount evaded or not collected, or not accounted
for and paid over. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-19(a). This money penalty is in lieu of the additions
to tax imposed by W. Va. Code § 11-10-18.

Any person required to furnish an employer withholding tax statement to an employee who willfully
furnishes a false or fraudulent statement, or who willfully fails to furnish a statement in the manner,
at the time, showing the information required to be shown on the statement, is subject to payment
of a penalty equal to $50 for each failure. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-19(b).

In the case of the filing of a false or fraudulent claim for refund or credit with the intent to defraud

this State, there is added the amount erroneously refunded or credited a penalty equal to 50
percent of the amount erroneously refunded or credited. See W. Va. Code § 11-10-19(c).
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