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Introduction:

Quality child care can be achieved with consistent, basic health and safety practices in place.
West Virginia strives to maintain basic health and safety standards in programs that care for
children ages six weeks through 12 years, or through age 18 if the child has a special need.

The W. Va. Code requires that child care programs be either licensed or certified, depending on
size. During federal fiscal year (FFY)-2021, there were 1,378 child care providers throughout the
state with a potential to serve 41,972 children ages six weeks through 12 years ranging from small
family child care homes to large child care centers.

This document serves as the annual report regarding licensed child care centers to meet the
requirements of W. Va. Code §49-2-123 to be sent to the Governor and the Legislative Oversight
Commission on Health and Human Resources Accountability. The report covers FFY 2021 and
reflects information regarding all child care provider types opened or closed during this time
period as can best be determined by the Families and Children Tracking System (FACTS) Daycare
Provider Annual Report (DAY-5230) generated report, hand-tallied monthly reports, and the
FACTS system in general.

Provider Types:

A Family Child Care Home is home-based care provided for a portion of the day in a private family
home for compensation. The home must be inhabited by the family/individual that is providing
care, and the provider’s hours of operation may not exceed 18 hours in a 24-hour period. State
law requires that care provided in a family child care home for 4-6 children must be regulated.
The W. Va. Code allows for exemption from state regulatory requirements to Informal Family
Child Care providers and Relative Family Child Care providers, unless the family child care
provider chooses to receive subsidy payments through the child care certificate system. An
Informal Family Child Care provider cares for less than four children and a Relative Family Child
Care provider cares for related children only.

A Family Child Care Facility provides care for 7-12 children. The Family Child Care Facility may
care for a maximum of 12 children, including children residing in the home under the age of six,
with no more than four children under the age of 24 months.

Facility care may be in the operator’s home or in a facility not inhabited by the provider.

A Child Care Center serves 13 or more children, four or more hours per day, and is open for more
than 30 days per year per child. Exceptions to this requirement include programs offering
sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child such as kindergarten through grade 12
education programs, West Virginia Pre-K classrooms operated by a county board of education in



a public school setting, and any other kindergartens, preschools or school-age programs with
sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child. In addition, an individual or facility that offers
occasional care of children for brief periods such as the attendance of a religious service or
engaging in recreational activities is exempt from licensure. Hospitals do not meet the definition
of a child care center. Some Head Start programs require licensure because they meet the
definition of a child care center.

Out-of-School Time programs offer activities to school-age children before and/or after school,
on school holidays, when school is closed because of an emergency, and on school calendar days
set aside for teacher activities.

COVID-19 Pandemic:

The COVID-19 pandemic has greatly affected child care. The West Virginia requirement to register
operating child care programs as a Critical Care site remains in effect with the requisite to follow
the recommendations set forth by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for child care
providers.

Child care experienced a steady increase of program openings from October 1, 2020 through
September 30, 2021 with 105% of programs in operation September 30, 2021. On October 1,
2020, there were 1,162 open childcare providers compared to 1,219 on September 30, 2021.

Virtual learning did not have a significant impact on child care in West Virginia. Capacity
expansion adjustments assisted providers with accommodating virtual learning schedules for
school age children without a decrease in available slots for school-age children. School-age
providers were able to accommodate virtual learning on-site.

Annual Child Care Statistics:

e Total Number of Licensed and Certified Programs — 1,378
o Total Number of Licensed Programs — 649
= Child Care Centers — 325
= Qut-of-School Time Programs — 87
* Head Start—88
= Family Child Care Facilities — 149
o Total Number of Certified Programs — 729
=  Family Child Care Homes — 709
= |nformal Family Child Care Homes — 1
= Relative Family Child Care Homes — 19

e Total Enroliment Capacity for Children — 41,972



Total Number of Approved New Provider Licenses/Certificates — 206
o Licensed Child Care Programs - 72 (15 Centers/Head Starts/Out-of-School Time
Programs; 57 Facilities)
o Certified Child Care Programs — 134

Total Number of Denied Applications for Licensure/Certification to New Providers — 10
o Licensed Child Care Programs — 1
o Certified Child Care Programs —9

Total Number of Revoked Licenses/Certificates to Current Child Care Providers — 40
o Child Care Centers—1

Out-of-School Time Programs — 0

Head Start— 0

Family Child Care Facilities — 0

Family Child Care Homes — 38

Informal Family Child Care Homes and Relative Family Child Care Homes — 1
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PLEASE NOTE: A license or certificate may be revoked due to an unwillingness or inability to
comply with laws and regulations set forth in W. Va. Code §49-2-115. Family Child Care
Homes may see their certificate suspended due to an Institutional Investigative Unit (lIU)
investigation. If lIU finds no substantiation of abuse or neglect, the certificate is reinstated.

Total Number of Licensed Programs Receiving Negative Action that Affected the Status
of the License (moved the license from regular to provisional status) — 11 (10 Centers, 1
Facility)

Total Number of Negative Actions that Resulted in Court Injunctions — 0

Total Number of Serious Occurrences in Licensed/Certified Programs — 443 (78 injuries;
342 communicable disease (COVID-19); 7 serious violations; 13 reports of suspected
abuse/neglect; 2 legal actions; 1 medication error).

o Licensed Programs —426

o Certified Programs — 17

Total Number of Fatalities in Licensed/Certified Programs Statewide — 1
o Licensed Programs—0
o Certified Programs—1



