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ANNUAL CHILD CARE REPORT 

 

Introduction: 

Quality child care can be achieved with consistent, basic health and safety practices in place. As 

in years past, West Virginia strives to maintain basic health and safety standards in programs that 

care for children age six weeks through age 12, or through age 18 if the child has a special need.       

West Virginia Code requires that child care programs be either licensed or certified, depending on 

size.  During FFY-2019, there were 1,425 child care providers throughout the state with a potential 

to serve 41,845 children age six weeks through age 12.  Parents can choose from a small family 

child care home to a large child care center to meet the individual needs of their child(ren) and 

family.   

This document serves as the annual report regarding licensed child care centers to meet the 

requirements of W. Va. Code §49-2-123 to be sent to the Governor and the Legislative Oversight 

Commission on Health and Human Resources Accountability. The report covers the FFY-2020 

(October 1, 2019, through September 30, 2020).  The data reflects information regarding all child 

care provider types opened or closed during the FFY as can best be determined by the DAY 5230 

– Provider Annual Report, a report generated  by the Family and Child Tracking System (FACTS), 

hand tallied monthly reports, and the FACTS system in general. 

Provider Types: 

A Family Child Care Home is home-based care provided for a portion of the day in a private 

family home for compensation.  The home must be inhabited by the family/individual that is 

providing care, and the provider’s hours of operation may not exceed 18 hours in a 24-hour period.  

State law requires that care provided in a family child care home for 4-6 children must be regulated.  

West Virginia Code allows for exemption from state regulatory requirements to Informal Family 

Child Care providers and Relative Family Child Care providers, unless the family child care 

provider chooses to receive subsidy payments through the child care certificate system.  An 

Informal Family Child Care provider cares for fewer than four children and a Relative Family 

Child Care provider cares for children related to them only. 

A Family Child Care Facility provides care for 7-12 children.  The Family Child Care Facility 

may care for a maximum of 12 children, including children residing in the home under the age of 

six, with no more than four children under the age of 24 months. 

Facility care may be in the operator’s home or in a facility not inhabited by the provider.   
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A Child Care Center serves 13 or more children, four or more hours per day, and is open for 

more than 30 days per year per child.  Exceptions to this requirement include programs offering 

sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child such as:  kindergarten through grade 12 

education programs, West Virginia Pre-K classrooms operated by a county board of education in 

a public-school setting, and any other kindergartens, preschools or school-age programs with 

sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child.  In addition, an individual or facility that offers 

occasional care of children for brief periods such as the attendance of a religious service or 

engaging in recreational activities is exempt from licensure.  Hospitals do not meet the definition 

of a child care center.  Some Head Start programs require licensure because they meet the 

definition of a child care center.   

Out of School Time programs offer activities to school children before or after school, or both, 

on school holidays, when school is closed because of an emergency, and on school calendar days 

set aside for teacher activities.   

COVID-19 Pandemic: 

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, child care was greatly affected.  Beginning March 24, 

2020, and through the reporting period, any child care provider in West Virginia was required to 

register their program as a Critical Care site to serve only children of essential employees.  In 

addition, these Critical Care sites were required to implement specific requirements set forth by 

the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for child care providers.   

These registered Critical Care sites were able to begin enrolling children of essential workers on 

March 27, 2020.  Enrollment for children of nonessential workers commenced April 30, 2020, 

when West Virginia began re-opening through the “Safer at Home” Executive Order following the 

“Safe at Home” Executive Order.  Child care experienced a steady increase of program openings 

from March 1, 2020, through the end of the reporting period with 84 percent of programs in 

operation September 30, 2020.  On March 1, 2020, there were 1,379 open child care providers 

compared to 1,162 at the end of the reporting period.   

Virtual learning did not have a significant impact on child care in West Virginia.  Capacity 

expansion adjustments assisted providers with accommodating virtual learning schedules for 

school age children without effect.   

Annual Child Care Statistics: 

• Total Statewide # of Licensed and Certified Programs – 1,425 

o Total # of Licensed Programs – 648  

▪ Child Care Centers – 324  

▪ Out of School Time Programs – 94  

▪ Head Start – 90  

▪ Family Child Care Facilities – 140 
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o Total # of Certified Programs – 777 

▪ Family Child Care Homes – 753 

▪ Informal Family Child Care Homes – 3 

▪ Relative Family Child Care Homes – 21  

 

• Total Enrollment Capacity for Children Statewide – 41,845  

 

• Total # of Approved New Provider Licenses/Certificates Statewide – 127 

o Licensed Child Care Programs – 25  

o Certified Child Care Programs – 102 

 

• Total # of Denied Applications for Licensure/Certification to New Providers 

Statewide – 9 

o Licensed Child Care Programs – 5  

o Certified Child Care Programs – 4 

 

• Total # of Revoked Licenses/Certificates to Current Child Care Providers Statewide 

– 45 

o Child Care Centers – 0 

o Out of School Time Programs – 0 

o Head Start – 0 

o Family Child Care Facilities – 0 

o Family Child Care Homes – 39 

o Informal Family Child Care Homes and Relative Family Child Care Homes – 6 

PLEASE NOTE:  A license or certificate may be revoked due to an unwillingness or inability 

to comply with laws and regulations set forth in W. Va. Code §49-2-115.  Family Child Care 

Homes may see their certificate suspended due to an Institutional Investigative Unit (IIU) 

investigation.  If IIU finds no substantiation of abuse or neglect, the certificate is reinstated. 

• Total # of Licensed Programs Receiving Negative Action that Affected the Status of 

the License (moved the license from regular to provisional status) Statewide – 18  

 

• Total # of Negative Actions that Resulted in Court Injunctions Statewide – 0  

 

• Total # of Serious Occurrences in Licensed/Certified Programs Statewide – 129 

(42 injuries; 58 communicable disease of which, 54 were related to COVID-19; 9 serious 

violations; 20 reports of suspected abuse/neglect) 

o Licensed Programs – 118 

▪ Broken bone (foot, elbow, arm, shoulder), concussion/head injuries, 

seizure, stiches to face/mouth, burn, heat exhaustion, four substantiated 
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instances of abuse/neglect along with numerous other investigations of 

suspected abuse/neglect and 47 cases of communicable disease.  

o Certified Programs – 11  

▪ 11 cases of communicable disease related to COVID-19 

 

• Total # of Fatalities in Licensed/Certified Programs Statewide – 0 

o Licensed Programs – 0 

o Certified Programs – 0 


