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The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources’ (DHHR) Bureau for Behavioral Health,
Division of Adult Services is responsible for the oversight of the West Virginia Driving Under the
Influence (DUI) Safety and Treatment Program. These efforts include in-state and out-of-state
components. Instate, DHHR is also responsible for the education of service providers regarding program
developments to include any legislative decisions that would impact the program.

West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law §17C-5A-3 establishes the development of a comprehensive Safety and
Treatment Program for persons whose licenses have been revoked for driving a motor vehicle under the
influence of alcohol, controlled substances and/or drugs.

Pursuant to: §17C-5A-3. Safety and treatment program; reissuance of license.

(f) On or before January 15 of each year, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human
Resources shall report to the Legislature on:

(1) The total number of offenders participating in the safety and treatment program
during the prior year;

(2) The total number of indigent offenders participating in the safety and treatment
program during the prior year;

(3) The total number of program providers during the prior year; and

(4) The total amount of reimbursements paid to program provider during the prior
year.

This report was created by an automated reporting system within DHHR’s Management Information
Services (MIS) for DHHR’s Bureau for Behavioral Health (BBH).

The out-of-state DUI section of this report refers to the number of cases closed during the year, which is
the count of the records marked 'closed' in the DUI data reporting system by the DUI data staff.

The fees collected for the out-of-state DUI section of this report is the sum of all amounts posted in the
DUI data system for the same period.

The in-state DUI section refers to the number of offenders. These data are a distinct count of persons
using the Master Consumer Index (MCI), which is a statewide ID for each person in the BBH Health
Reporting System.

The number of program providers referred to in the in-state DUI section is a distinct count of in-state
DUI service providers. This is calculated by the number of service providers that have reported data to
BBH over the last year.

The total amount of reimbursements paid to program providers during the reporting period is the sum
of the amounts paid to service providers for indigent persons enrolled in an in-state DUI program.



Out-of-State DUI Driver

During 2018, DHHR closed 1,344 cases for out-of-state offenders. The drivers’ rehabilitation fees
collected for out-of-state offenders totaled $172,328.

Note:

Because there are some drivers who started and paid their fees during the previous calendar year but
completed their training during the current calendar year, the number of people who completed the
out-of-state DUI program multiplied by the program fee amount may not reconcile.

In-State DUI Driver

(1) The total number of offenders participating in the safety and treatment program during the
reporting period: 4,046

(2) The total number of indigent offenders participating in the safety and treatment program during the
reporting period: 783

(3) The total number of program providers during the reporting period: 16

(4) The total amount of reimbursements paid to program providers for indigent drivers during the
reporting period: $216,975



