§51-1-1. Justices.

     The Supreme Court of Appeals shall consist of five justices, elected and qualified according to the Constitution and the laws of this state, any three of whom shall constitute a quorum. Effective with the primary election of 2016, all elections for justices will be on a nonpartisan basis by division. Beginning in 2016, there will no longer be primary elections held for the office of justice and all elections for justice are to be held in the nonpartisan judicial election as set forth in article five, chapter three of this code. All indications of party identification on election ballots for that office shall be omitted.