§5F-1-2. Executive departments created; offices of secretary created.
     (a) There are created, within the executive branch of the state government, the following departments:

     (1) Department of Administration;

     (2) Department of Education and the Arts;

     (3) Department of Environmental Protection;

     (4) Department of Health and Human Resources;

     (5) Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety;

     (6) Department of Revenue;

     (7) Department of Transportation;

     (8) Department of Commerce; and

     (9) Effective July 1, 2011, Department of Veterans' Assistance.

     (b) Each department will be headed by a secretary appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Each secretary serves at the will and pleasure of the Governor.