Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports

Today in the Legislature

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 02:42 PM

House Elects Tim Miley as Speaker
Tim Miley (D-Harrison) was elected Speaker of the House of Delegates during a brief special session at the Capitol this afternoon. The Harrison County attorney and former House Judiciary chairman, becomes the 53rd speaker in state history after defeating Republican nominee Tim Armstead by a vote of 53-44.

Miley was elected to the House in 2004 and has served as chairman of the body's Judiciary Committee since 2009. During a brief speech following his election, Miley pledged to work for bipartisan support while focusing on education and improving the state’s highway and Internet infrastructure, both of which he linked to economic development.

Armstead offered to seek a good working relationship with Miley and the Democrats during a floor speech following the vote.

Miley succeeds Rick Thompson, who recently resigned to become Secretary of the Department of Veterans Assistance in Governor Earl Ray Tomblin's administration.

Today in the Legislature is a daily synopsis of legislative activities maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.


Add to My AOL

Add to My Yahoo!

Add to Google

Recent Entries
Tuesday, 03/28/17 - 06:59 PM
›› Oil and Gas Development, Medical Marijuana and Tax Reform Bills Addressed in Senate
Tuesday, 03/28/17 - 06:14 PM
›› WV Medical Cannabis Act Approved in Senate Judiciary
Tuesday, 03/28/17 - 05:37 PM
›› House Passes 17 Bills and Rejects Bill Increasing Teacher to Pupil Ratio
Tuesday, 03/28/17 - 04:40 PM
›› Senate Advances 44 Bills from Second Reading
Tuesday, 03/28/17 - 02:37 PM
›› Senate Completes Legislation on Water Pollution Control Act

Back to Main
2017 - 277
     March (169)
     February (98)
     January (10)
2016 - 140
2015 - 124
2014 - 119
2013 - 117
2012 - 113
2011 - 150
2010 - 178
2009 - 213
2008 - 174

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ****