Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 60A-4-411

§60A-4-411. Operating or attempting to operate clandestine drug laboratories; offenses; penalties.

(a) Any person who operates or attempts to operate a clandestine drug laboratory is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for not less than two years nor more than ten years or fined not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000, or both.

(b) Any person who operates or attempts to operate a clandestine drug laboratory and who as a result of, or in the course of doing so, causes to be burned any dwelling, outbuilding, building or structure of any class or character is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000, or imprisoned in a state correctional facility for not less than one nor more than five years, or both fined and imprisoned.

 (c) For purposes of this section, a “clandestine drug laboratory” means any property, real or personal, on or in which a person assembles any chemicals or equipment or combination thereof for the purpose of manufacturing methamphetamine, methylenedioxymethamphetamine or lysergic acid diethylamide in violation of the provisions of section four hundred one of this article.

(d) The offenses in subsections (a) and (b) of this section are separate and distinct offenses and subsection (a) of this section shall not be construed to be a lesser included offense of subsection (b) of this section.

(e) For purposes of section one, article two of this chapter, both subsection (a) and (b) of this section shall be deemed qualifying felony offenses of manufacturing and delivery of a controlled substance.

(f) Any person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section shall be responsible for all reasonable costs, if any, associated with remediation of the site of the clandestine drug laboratory.

WVC 60 A- 4 - 411 §60A-4-411. Operating or attempting to operate clandestine drug laboratories; offenses; penalties.

(a) Any person who operates or attempts to operate a clandestine drug laboratory is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for not less than two years nor more than ten years or fined not less than five thousand dollars nor more than twenty-five thousand dollars, or both.

(b) For purposes of this section, a "clandestine drug laboratory" means any property, real or personal, on or in which a person assembles any chemicals or equipment or combination thereof for the purpose of manufacturing methamphetamine, methylenedioxymethamphetamine or lysergic acid diethylamide in violation of the provisions of section four hundred one of this article.

(c) Any person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) of this section shall be responsible for all reasonable costs, if any, associated with remediation of the site of the clandestine drug laboratory.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2016 West Virginia Legislature ***