Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports


‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 53 - 8 - 11 §53-8-11. Penalties.

     (a) Fines or incarceration. -- An individual who fails to comply with the relief granted in a temporary personal safety order or a final personal safety order entered pursuant to this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall:

     (1) For a first offense, be fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail not more than ninety days, or both; and

     (2) For a second or subsequent offense, be fined not more than $2,500 or confined in jail not more than one year, or both.

     (b) Arrest. -- A law-enforcement officer shall arrest with or without a warrant and take into custody an individual who the officer has probable cause to believe is in violation of a temporary or final personal safety order in effect at the time of the violation.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ***