‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 31 D- 14 -1421 §31D-14-1421. Procedure for and effect of administrative dissolution.
(a) If the secretary of state determines that one or more grounds exist under section one thousand four hundred twenty of this article for dissolving a corporation, he or she shall serve the corporation with written notice of his or her determination pursuant to section five hundred four, article five of this chapter.

(b) If the corporation does not correct each ground for dissolution or demonstrate to the reasonable satisfaction of the secretary of state that each ground determined by the secretary of state does not exist within sixty days after service of the notice is perfected under section five hundred four, article five of this chapter, the secretary of state shall administratively dissolve the corporation by signing a certificate of dissolution that recites the ground or grounds for dissolution and its effective date. The secretary of state shall file the original of the certificate and serve a copy on the corporation pursuant to section five hundred four, article five of this chapter.

(c) A corporation administratively dissolved continues its corporate existence but may not carry on any business except that necessary to wind up and liquidate its business and affairs under section one thousand four hundred five of this article and notify claimants pursuant to sections one thousand four hundred six and one thousand four hundred seven of this article.

(d) The administrative dissolution of a corporation does not terminate the authority of its registered agent.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature **