(a) It is unlawful for any person to practice or offer to practice speech-language pathology or audiology in this state, or advertise or use any title or description tending to convey the impression that the person is a speech-language pathologist or audiologist unless the person has been licensed under the provisions of this article, and the license has not expired, been suspended or revoked.
(b) As of July 1, 2014, it is unlawful for any person to practice or represent that he or she is qualified to practice as a speech-language pathology assistant or an audiology assistant unless the person has registered with the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology under the provisions of this article, and the registration has not expired, been suspended or revoked.
(c) It is unlawful for any business entity, except through a licensee, to render any service or engage in any activity which if rendered or engaged in by an individual, would constitute the practices licensed under the provisions of this article.
(d) Any person violating any provision of subsections (a), (b) or (c) of this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or confined in jail not more than six months, or both.
Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.