Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 29 - 5 A- 1 §29-5A-1. Creation of commission; members; officers; seal and rules.
The state boxing commission, heretofore created, is hereby continued and renamed the state athletic commission. The commission shall consist of five persons appointed by the governor, by and with the consent of the Senate, no more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party and no two of whom shall be residents of the same county at the same time. The members shall serve without pay. The present members and terms of the members of the state boxing commission shall continue as the state athletic commission. At the expiration of the term of each member, his or her successor shall be appointed by the governor for a term of four years. In the event of a vacancy in said board, said vacancy shall likewise be filled by appointment by the governor and the governor shall likewise have the power to remove any commissioner at his or her pleasure. Any three members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the exercise of the power or authority conferred upon it. The members of the commission shall at the first meeting after their appointment elect one of their number chairman of the commission, and another of their number secretary of the commission, shall adopt a seal for the commission, and shall make such rules for the administration of their office, not inconsistent herewith, as they may deem expedient; and they may hereafter amend or abrogate such rules. The concurrence of at least three commissioners shall be necessary to render a choice or decision of the commission.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2015 Regular Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2015 West Virginia Legislature **