Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 29 - 25 - 33 §29-25-33. License to be a provider of management services.
(a) License. -- The commission may issue a license to a person providing management services under a management services contract to a gaming facility when the commission determines that the person meets the requirements of this section and any applicable rules of the commission.

(b) License qualifications. -- Each applicant who is an individual and each individual who controls an applicant, as provided in subsection (f), section two of this article, shall be of good moral character, honesty and integrity and shall have the necessary experience and financial ability to successfully carry out the functions of a management services provider. The commission may adopt rules establishing additional requirements for an authorized management services provider. The commission may accept licensing by another jurisdiction, specifically determined by the commission to have similar licensing requirements, as evidence the applicant meets authorized management services provider licensing requirements.

(c) Management service provider specifications. -- An applicant for a license to provide management services to a gaming facility licensee shall demonstrate that the management services that the applicant plans to offer to the gaming facility licensee conform or will conform to standards established by rules of the commission and applicable state law.

(d) License application requirements. -- An applicant for a license to provide management services to a gaming facility licensee shall:

(1) Submit an application to the commission in the form required by the commission including adequate information to serve as a basis for a thorough background check;

(2) Submit fingerprints for a national criminal records check by the Criminal Identification Bureau of the West Virginia State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The fingerprints shall be furnished by all persons required to be named in the application and shall be accompanied by a signed authorization for the release of information by the Criminal Investigation Bureau and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The commission may require any applicant seeking the renewal of a license or permit to furnish fingerprints for a national criminal records check by the Criminal Identification Bureau of the West Virginia State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and

(3) Pay to the commission a nonrefundable application fee for deposit into the Historic Resort Hotel Fund in the amount of $100.

(e) Authorization. -- A license to provide management services to a gaming facility licensee authorizes the licensee to provide management service to a gaming facility while the license is active. The commission may by rule establish the conditions which constitute an emergency under which the commission may issue provisional licenses pending completion of final action on an application.

(f) Fees, expiration date and renewal. -- A licensed provider of management services shall pay to the commission an annual license fee of $100 for an initial term beginning prior to the date of the provider's first contract with a gaming facility licensee and continuing through the end of the twelfth month thereafter whenever the licensee has paid the renewal fee and has continued to comply with all applicable statutory and rule requirements. The commission shall renew a license to provide management services to a gaming facility annually thereafter. A gaming facility licensee may continue to use the management services provided by the management services provider while that provider was licensed, notwithstanding the expiration of the provider's license, unless the commission finds the services provided are not conforming to standards established by rule of the commission and applicable state law.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2014 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****