‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 29 - 22 B- 202 §29-22B-202. Legislative finding; state ownership of video lottery through outright ownership or possession of a proprietary interest in computer hardware and software.
The Legislature further finds and declares that:

(1) The state can control, own and operate a video lottery by possessing a proprietary interest in the main logic boards, all erasable, programmable read-only memory chips used in any video lottery equipment or games, and software consisting of computer programs, documentation and other related materials necessary for the video lottery system to be operated;

(2) The state may possess a proprietary interest in video lottery game software, for purposes of this article, through outright ownership or through an exclusive product license agreement with a manufacturer whereby (A) the manufacturer retains copyrighted ownership of the software, (B) the product license granted to the state is nontransferable, and (C) the agreement authorizes the state to run the software program, solely for its own use, on the state's central equipment unit and electronic video terminals networked to the central equipment unit; and

(3) The state can control and regulate a video lottery if the state (A) restricts licensure to a limited number of video lottery terminals at qualified locations, (B) extends strict and exclusive state regulation to all persons, locations, practices and associations related to the operation of licensed limited video lottery facilities, and (C) provides comprehensive law-enforcement supervision of limited video lottery activities.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2016 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ***