Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 22 - 6 A- 19 §22-6A-19. Offenses; civil and criminal penalties.

        (a) Any person or persons, firm, partnership, partnership association or corporation who willfully violates any provision of this article or any rule or order promulgated under this article or any permit issued pursuant to this article is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding $5,000. Each day a violation continues after notice by the department constitutes a separate offense. The penalty shall be recovered by a civil action brought by the department, in the name of the state, before the circuit court of the county in which the subject well or facility is located. All the civil penalties collected shall be credited to the General Fund of the state.

        (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a)and (c) of this section, any person or persons, firm, partnership, partnership association or corporation who willfully disposes of waste fluids, drill cuttings or any other liquid substance generated in the development of a horizontal well in violation of this article or any rule or order promulgated under this article or in violation of any other state or federal statutes, rules or regulations, and which disposal was found to have had a significant adverse environmental impact on surface or groundwater by the secretary, is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding $100,000. The penalty shall be recovered by a civil action brought by the department, in the name of the state, before the circuit court of the county in which the subject well or facility is located. All the civil penalties collected shall be credited to the General Fund of the state.

        (c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this section, any person or persons, firm, partnership, partnership association or corporation willfully violating any of the provisions of this article which prescribe the manner of drilling and casing or plugging and filling any well or which prescribe the methods of conserving gas from waste, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars, or imprisonment in jail not exceeding twelve months, or both, in the discretion of the court, and prosecution under this section may be brought in the name of the State of West Virginia in the court exercising criminal jurisdiction in the county in which the violation of such provisions of the article or terms of such order was committed, and at the instance and upon the relation of any citizens of this state.

        (d) Any person who intentionally misrepresents any material fact in an application, record, report, plan or other document filed or required to be maintained under the provisions of this article or any rules promulgated by the secretary under this article shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000. Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2014 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****