Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 20 - 9 - 6 §20-9-6.

Penalties.

     (a) A boat dock or marina owner or operator who violates sections two or three of this article and the violation does not result in the injury or death of a person, shall, for the first offense, be issued a warning citation with no court appearance or penalty, and for a second or subsequent offense, be fined $100. After a boat dock or marina owner or operator is put on notice of a violation of sections two or three of this article and is directed to cure the violation within a certain amount of time, each and every day that the violation continues after the time given to cure shall constitute a separate offense.

     (b) A boat dock or marina owner or operator who violates sections two or three of this article, and the violation results in the injury of a person, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than $500, and for a second offense or subsequent offense shall be fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail for not more than six months, or both fined and confined.

     (c) A boat dock or marina owner who violates sections two or three of this article, and the violation results in the death of a person, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail for not more than one year, or both fined and confined. Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2013 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ***