Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 19 - 1 B- 12 A §19-1B-12a. Criminal penalties.
     (a) A person who knowingly or willingly commits one of the following violations is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $250 and not more than $500 for each violation:

     (1) Conducts timbering operations or purchases timber or buys logs for resale in this state without holding a valid license from the Director of the Division of Forestry, as required by section four of this article;

     (2) Conducts timbering operations or severs trees for sale at a location in this state, without providing the Director of the Division of Forestry with notice of the location where the timbering or harvesting operations are to be conducted, as required by section six of this article;

     (3) Conducts a timbering operation in this state that is not supervised by a certified logger who holds a valid certificate from the Director of the Division of Forestry, as required by section seven of this article; or

     (4) Continues to conduct timbering operations in violation of an existing suspension or revocation order that has been issued by the Director of the Division of Forestry or a conference panel under sections five, ten or eleven of this article.

     (b) For the purposes of this section, each day that a person conducts timbering operations in this state without a license as required by this article, without the supervision of a certified logger as required by this article, without providing notice of the location to the director as required by this article, or in violation of an outstanding suspension or revocation order shall constitute a separate offense.

     (c) In addition to any other law-enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction over criminal violations, any forester or forest technician employed by the Division of Forestry, who, as a part of his or her official duties is authorized by the Director of the Division of Forestry to inspect timbering operations, is authorized to issue citations for any of the listed violations in this article that he or she has witnessed. The limited authority granted to employees of the Division of Forestry to issue citations to enforce the provisions of this section does not include the power to place any individual or person under arrest. Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2013 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****