Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 18 C- 4 A- 3 §18C-4A-3. Amount and duration of loan assistance; limits.

     (a) Each award recipient is eligible to receive loan assistance of up to $2,000 annually subject to limits set forth in subsection (b) of this section:

     (1) If the recipient has taught math or science for a full school year under contract with a county board in a school or geographic area of critical need; and

     (2) If the recipient otherwise has complied with the terms of the agreement and with applicable provisions of this article and article four of this chapter, and any rules promulgated pursuant thereto.

     (b) The recipient is eligible for renewal of loan assistance only during the periods when the recipient is under contract with a county board to teach in a subject area of critical need in a school or geographic area of critical need, and complies with other criteria and conditions established by rule, except that a teacher who is teaching under a contract in a position that no longer meets the definition of critical need under rules established in accordance with section one, article four of this chapter is eligible for renewal of loan assistance until the teacher leaves his or her current position.

     (c) No recipient may receive loan assistance pursuant to this article which accumulates in excess of $15,000. Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2014 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature **