Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home
WEST VIRGINIA CODE
‹ Back  |  print page Print
WVC 17 E- 1 - 25 §17E-1-25. Penalties.
(a) It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of this chapter unless the violation is by this chapter or other law of this state, declared to be a felony.

(b) Unless another penalty is provided in this chapter or by the laws of this state, every person convicted of a misdemeanor for the violation of any provisions of this chapter shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or confined for not more than six months in jail, or both fined and confined, except that for the second violation of section seven of this article and, upon conviction thereof, the offender shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $2,000 or confined for not less than six months nor more than nine months in jail, or both fined and confined. For the third or any subsequent conviction for violation of section seven of this article, upon conviction thereof, the offender shall be fined not less than one $1,000 nor more than $2,500, or confined for not less than nine months nor more than one year in the county jail, or both fined and confined.

(c) The division shall impose a civil penalty, in addition to any penalty required under the provisions of this section on any driver who is convicted of violating subsection (e), section thirteen of this article. The penalty shall be $2,500 for the first offense and $5,000 for each subsequent offense.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2014 1st Special Session
The WV Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ****