CHARLESTON, W.V. – Senate President Jeff Kessler (D-Marshall) applauded Governor Tomblin this evening for signing House Bill 4238, the minimum wage bill, into law. The legislation raises the minimum wage in phases over the next two years.
“The Governor did the right thing to help the working men and women of this great state,” says Kessler. “This important piece of legislation puts more money in the pockets of hard working West Virginians and I am proud to stand with the Governor in supporting them.”
House Bill 4238 raises the state minimum wage from $7.25 an hour to $8.75 an hour by 2016. According to the West Virginia Center on Budget and Policy, more than 127,000 working West Virginians will benefit from raising the minimum wage. This increase will help raise wages by more than $156 million over the next two years. Senate President Kessler says this is a positive measure for our state.
“This important piece of legislation will help the working men and women of West Virginia,” says Kessler. “The people of this great state that go to work every day to support themselves and their families deserve to make a living wage.”
|Senate News Releases |||House News Releases|