SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

Frasure-Singleton Internship

Undergraduate students are selected to assist a specific senator or delegate for one week during the regular 60 day session.

Participants are assigned to a legislator who assists in explaining the legislative process. They attend committee meetings and public hearings where legislation and issues are extensively discussed. They sit on the floor during daily sessions surrounded by legislators determining the fate of legislation. They aid legislators with issue research, constituent requests and other legislative tasks.


DETAILS & ELIGIBILITY

Number of positions: 51
(25 per week of a two-week period during mid-session of the Legislature)

APPLICATION

Frasure-Singleton Internship Application


LEGISLATIVE CONTACT

Sara D. Jones
West Virginia House of Delegates
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 215-E
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 340-3386
Sara.Jones@wvhouse.gov


CAMPUS CONTACTS

Alderson Broaddus University
Dr. James Owston, Dean of Humanities & Social Sciences
owstonjm@ab.edu
(304)457-6240
101 College Hill Drive Philippi, WV 26416


Bethany College
Gary Kappel, Associate Professor of History & Chair of Department of History & Political Science
gkappel@bethanywv.edu
(304)829-7848
31 E Campus Dr Bethany, WV 26032


Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell, Associate Professor of Political Science
ccavell@bluefieldstate.edu
(304)327-4034
219 Rock St. Basic Science Building- B120 Bluefield, WV 24701


University of Charleston
Bradford Deel, Professor
braddeel@ucwv.edu
(304)357-4701
2300 MacCorkle Ave, SE Charleston, WV 25304

Hannah Kennedy. Director Career Development
hannahkennedy@ucwv.edu
(304)357-4977
2300 MacCorkle Ave, SE Charleston, WV 25304


Concord University
Dr. Sally Campbell
sjhoward@concord.edu
(304)384-5149
Marsh Hall, Room A116 Concord University Athens, WV 24712-1000


Davis & Elkins College
David Turner, Chair Division of Humanities
turnerd@dewv.edu
(304)637-1294
100 Campus Drive Elkins, WV 26241


Fairmont State University
Dr. Joshua Smallridge, Chair Dept of Social Science
jsmallridge@fairmontstate.edu
(304)367-4740
College of Liberal Arts, 115 Hardway Hall Fairmont, WV 26554


Glenville State College
Dr. Marisha Lecea, Assistant Professor of Political Science
Marisha.lecea@glenville.edu
(304)462-6288
235 Louis Bennett Hall Glenville, WV 26351


Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
beller@marshall.edu
(304)696-2763
Department of Political Science, Smith Hall
738 Marshall University One John Marshall Drive Huntington, WV 25755


Ohio Valley University
Christopher A. Shrock, Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
chris.shrock@ovu.edu
https://ovu.edu/academics/arts-sciences.html
304.865.6133
1 Campus View Drive Vienna, WV 26105


Potomac State College of WVU
Cassandra Pritts
Cassandra.pritts@mai.wvu.edu
(304)788-7082
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726

Nicklaus Goff
Nicklaus.goff@mail.wvu.edu
(304)788-6918
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726


Shepherd University
Dr. Max Guirguis
mguirgui@shepherd.edu
(304)876-5347
White Hall 333B 301 N. King St Shepherdstown, WV 25443


West Liberty University
Dr. Keith Bell, Interim Department Chair
Keith.bell@westliberty.edu
(304)336-8376
101 Faculty Dr Wheeling, WV 26003


West Virginia State University
Tom Bennett
Tbennett3@wvstate.edu
(304)766-3112
103 Ferrell Hall PO Box 399 Institute, WV 25112


West Virginia University
Dr. Jason MacDonald
Jason.macdonald@mail.wvu.edu
(304)293-9665
Room 315D, Woodburn Hall Morgantown, WV 26506


West Virginia University of Parkersburg
Dr. Robert Anderson
Rob.anderson@wvup.edu
(304)424-8270
300 Campus Drive Room 1025A Parkersburg, WV 26104


West Virginia Institute of Technology
Dr. Janis Rezek, Chair and Associate Professor
Janis.rezek@mail.wvu.edu
(304)929-1319
Social Science Programs WVU Institute of Technology 410 Neville St Beckley, WV 25801


West Virginia Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
Rupp_r@wvwc.edu
(304)473-8561
59 College Avenue Buckhannon, WV 26201


Wheeling Jesuit University
Laurie McCullough, Interim Vice President Academic Affairs
lmccullough@wju.edu
(304)243-2281
316 Washington Ave Wheeling, WV 26003





LINKS

Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction


 
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ***