Senate
House
Joint
Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports
Educational
Contact
home
home

Frasure-Singleton Internship

Undergraduate students are selected to assist a specific senator or delegate for one week during the regular 60 day session.

Participants are assigned to a legislator who assists in explaining the legislative process. They attend committee meetings and public hearings where legislation and issues are extensively discussed. They sit on the floor during daily sessions surrounded by legislators determining the fate of legislation. They aid legislators with issue research, constituent requests and other legislative tasks.


DETAILS & ELIGIBILITY

Number of positions: 51
(25 per week of a two-week period during mid-session of the Legislature)

APPLICATION

Frasure-Singleton Internship Application


LEGISLATIVE CONTACT

Sara D. Jones
West Virginia House of Delegates
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 215-E
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 340-3386
Sara.Jones@wvhouse.gov


CAMPUS CONTACTS

Alderson-Broaddus College
Prof. John Hicks
hicksjd@ab.edu

Bethany College
Dr. Gary Kappelr
gkappel@bethanywv.edu

Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell
ccavell@bluefieldstate.edu

University of Charleston
Bradford Deel
braddeel@ucwv.edu

Concord College
Dr. Sally Campbell
scampbell@concord.edu

Davis and Elkins College
Dr. Martin DeNicolo
denicolom@dewv.edu

Fairmont State College
Dr. Diana Noone
dnoone@fairmontstate.edu

Glenville State College
Dr. Ida M. Mills
Ida.Mills@glenville.edu

Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
beller@marshall.edu

Ohio Valley College
Dr. Wes Harrison
wes.harrison@ovu.edu

Potomac State College
Prof. Cassandra Pritts, Prof. Nicklaus Goff
cassandra.Pritts@mail.wvu.edu, nicklaus.goff@mail.wvu.edu

Salem International University
Laurie McKowen
lmckowen@salemu.edu

Shepherd College
Dr. Slocum-Schaffer/ Dr. Jacob Stump
sslocums@shepherd.edu, jstump@shepherd.edu

WV Institute of Technology
Dr. Paul Rakes
paul.rakes@mail.wvu.edu

WV State University
Tom Bennett
tbennett3@wvstateu.edu

WV Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
rupp_r@wvwc.edu

West Virginia University
Dr. Scott Crichlow
scott.crichlow@wvu.edu

WVU-Parkersburg
Kim Korcsmaros
kim.korcsmaros@wvup.edu

Wheeling Jesuit College
Dr. Robert Phillips
phillips@wju.edu


LINKS

McManus Fellowship
Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction


 
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2014 West Virginia Legislature ***